We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming holidays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bad Schachen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bad Schachen
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
lugano
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“charming holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

This time I stop longer! And I did right as the hotel Bad Schachen is one of these glorious old lady full of charm, right on the lake Constance's embankment which gives you the safe feeling that time has taken an halt in a luxuriant vegetation mid of a splendid parc.The service gives you a thoughtful attention and care to each guest and the cuisine delivers great dishes with fresh produces from the country.
A most charming reception clerk brought me to a new and remarquable Spa & Wellness area where I got pampered whicch I very much enjoyed after a long trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maurice u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    108
    26
    13
    18
See reviews for
62
120
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Elegant style in beautiful park like surroundings. We spent 4 evenings in the middle of a busy European trip and found the change in pace and style very refreshing. The general decor is refined and relaxing.
We stayed in a basic park view room but wherever you went in the hotel there was always a pleasant aspect of the lake or trees.Lovely walks!
Reception staff were particularly helpful.Our room was very comfortable,well serviced and had wi-fi access. Breakfast selection was very good and we enjoyed coffee,drinks or a snack on the terrace or lounge areas. Piano player one evening set the general ambience.
We arrived as the outdoor pool was closing but the indoor facility is excellent.We hired bikes(at the hotel) for a day and cycled around the lake. The only drawback for us was that the without a car it was difficult to access some local places though we did use the train (restricted times however) from Einziswieller.
A stay is highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 23Flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We returned home yesterday from another lovely experience at the Bad Scachen hotel. It was our second time staying at the hotel, the first being 2 years ago.

The location of the hotel is fabulous, with stunning views across Lake Constance. The hotel is very tastefully furnished and has an elegant and peaceful atmosphere. We were readily welcomed by the efficient Reception staff and shown straight to our room which had a lovely view overlooking the lake. Our room was well furnished, well-equipped and well looked after throughout the week by the housekeeping staff.

Delicious and imaginative food was provided for dinner every night which was of a consistently excellent quality. The dinner menu is changed every night and there is a comprehensive wine list which comprises both local and worldwide choices to suit all budgets. The standard of service was excellent - all waiting and bar staff being totally professional throughout with no details being missed. Lunchtime service provided a menu ranging from bar snacks through to full lunches - again to suit all appetites.

The overriding impression we have of the Bad Schachen is one of impeccable service (of a standard which some "world-class" hotels would do well to remind themselves of) - this level of service had not changed since we visited 2 years ago. We took the 7-day, Half Board deal and felt that for the quality we had received from a hotel of this standing, the hotel is good value for money.

Thank you very much to Frau Schielin and her Director, Herr Gustav Karner, for a very enjoyable stay - we hope to be back soon !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

On August 17th, we visited this place, in jolly expectation of our boat trip to the Bregenzer Opera. We decided to use the hotel's outdoor restaurant. Firstly, guests on the terrace are separated. Only house guests will stay on the terrace, if this is booked, welcome to the grass area. We observed two kind of waiters - older, very well trained at being snobbish whenever they like, and young ones, which acted so strange and afraid, one wonders why. The heavy, prison like atmosphere inside and outside of the hotel was well complemented by the staffs actions, that being experienced from the clerks and servants at the door to everyone at the restaurant. Foods and drinks where very average and very overprized, a Club Sandwich for 15 € is not a bargain. When the bill arrived a worldwide accepted credit card was turned down with the words: "We only accept them when the bill is over 40 €", and well, that was truly the case. There are plenty of nice place around the Lake of Constance which offer a nice, jolly, light holiday atmosphere. This does not, so we recommend to avoid it, by all costs.

Room Tip: Just don't go there.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Ing147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

The customer is always wrong in this hotel!

I arrived at 23.00 at night after a 4 hour drive, and had to leave the next morning before 7. The reception at the hotel was dreadful and they made it clear that it was impossible to serve breakfast before 7. Nonetheless, I was charged full-price.

If you want to have a drink on the terrace as a hotel guest, you cannot since there are other events going on. You need to sit in a space where you have the smell of BBQ coming your way.

The rooms are clean, but you need to tuck yourself in to fit into the tiny bathroom. The room was extremely hot.

Overall extremely bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Florence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Yes a classic Hotel on the sea. If you want to be on the lake and swim,walk and relax this is the right place. Location location on Lake Constance.
Rooms all have a relatively a good view.
The park is well kept and with Dogs great to take them for a walk.
Cuisuine. Very good yet a little on the expensive side but sitting on the Terrace and looking out on the mountains is worth every euro cent.
Service. Very friendly and curtious even down to the Cleaning ladies for the rooms.
Wellness. The Sauna and Pool plus the ability to swim outdoors is very relaxing.
Highly recommended when the weather is nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olaf V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Very old fashioned Hotel in a beautiful surrounding . This our second visit. We came back as we wanted a place to rest from a a very hectic week. The sound of the water lapping, the walks in the adjacent woods and apple pear orchards was magical. Excellent indoor swimming pool and sauna and Spa. Swimming in the lake if 24 deg water temperature is your thing. Excellent buffet breakfast. Homely dispite the size. Rooms small but excellent beds . Direct exclusive boat service to the Bregens festival. Reception staff sometimes a bit cold. Recommended for those who look for a quite and relaxing break without unnecessary glitter.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Concordia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindau hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#5 of 36 in Lindau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boutique - Hotel Adara
Boutique - Hotel Adara
#2 of 36 in Lindau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#3 of 36 in Lindau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lindauer Hof
Lindauer Hof
#26 of 36 in Lindau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel-Garni Brugger
Hotel-Garni Brugger
#6 of 36 in Lindau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Seerose Lindau
Hotel Seerose Lindau
#25 of 36 in Lindau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bad Schachen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bad Schachen

Property: Hotel Bad Schachen
Address: Bad Schachen 1, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lindau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Bad Schachen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1752 and still owned and managed by the same family, the beautiful Hotel Bad Schachen was painstakingly rebuilt in 1906, faithfully embracing the Belle Epoque style. The hotel is idyllically situated in its own park, which leads directly to the shores of Lake Constance. Stunning views across the lake to the medieval island town of Lindau are afforded. An attractive outdoor pool on the lakefront and the new spa are the perfect places for recreation and wellbeeing. Indeed, the entire region's exceptional beauty and supreme tranquility make this a uniquely charming Bavarian summer retreat.125 guestrooms including 4 suites, in elegant and comfortable surroundings, mostly with balconies, thoughtful touches throughout, and every modern convenience. Most rooms face the lake, with glorious views across the water to the Swiss and Austrian Alps beyond.Spa and wellness center with beauty treatments, massage, fitness gym, saunas and steambath. 1920s-style outdoor pool, 2 clay tennis courts, a host of water sports on the lake (boat rentals, sailing and windsurfing), 2 beautiful nearby golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bad Schachen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bad Schachen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing