We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite retreat in Europe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant VILLINO
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This is our fourth visit to Villino and the second since it was significantly extended

The hotel service is efficient, highly organised, unobtrusive and very friendly. Our German is good but the staff speak English fluently so it's never a problem to communicate. Rooms are spacious and comfortable.

The restaurant serves simply wonderful food with an Italian-Asian influence. The set menus are well judged, well paced and absolutely delicious. The wine flights accompanied each course perfectly and were all explained in detail by the excellent sommelier.

Sonja and Reiner Fischer have created an oasis of calm in the fruit orchards just above Lindau. We can't wait to come back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Restaurant VILLINO
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a wonderful hotel that feels like it is in a vineyard in Italy; actually it is almost on Lake Constance with a view of the Swiss and Austrian alps. Everything is "bespoke," from the informal check-in to the fabulous meals. But you will pay for this. By far the priciest hotel on our trip. Worth it? I'm not sure as we only stayed one night. Maybe if we had stayed longer, we could have gotten to know the area and the manager better. As it was, I am not sure i would pay this price again. We did have a navigation system on our new Mercedes that took us "just about" to the hotel but the signage was very poor and it took a while to discover the actual entrance. Also, they had rocks near the front dor that posed a hazard to the car bumpers. Minor things, but the owners should pay attention to everything. While friendly and efficient, the staff did not offer any suggestions for the area. But this was partl our fault as we did not specifically ask.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We just spent a delightful 2 days at Villino. Our accommodations were wonderful, the owner Sonia was extremely friendly and cooperative and the dining room deserved its Michelin Star. The comments about "pricy" need to be seen from a different perspective. A meal of this quality in any major european city would cost considerably more. The breakfast was on a par with the evening meal.
If we were in the area again, I definitely would stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Much_to_see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here as part of the Mercedes Benz European Delivery program. It was winter, so cold and dreary, but I could imagine the grounds here are absolutely gorgeous in the spring. Inside, it was warm and inviting and made us forget we were in Germany and instead in Italy.

Tree - beautifully decorated for the holidays with many inviting touches throughout the hotel. Rooms - very large and beautiful with a small balcony overlooking the winter garden;
Bathroom - also large and clean.

Flooring is all tile, so I was a little worried about sleep quality with nothing to absorb footsteps above you, but it was mostly quiet. We may have just gotten lucky.

The woman who checked us in (and out) was very warm and charming (I assume the owner or manager?). She, as well as most of the staff, spoke excellent English. However, be aware that the restaurant (there's only 1) has ONLY a tasting menu and is very expensive. We've been there/done that with tasting menus and found it's not really for us. If we're going to pay those prices, I like to have options of what we eat and I don't want to spend 4 hours dining. When we checked in, the lovely woman noticed we didn't have restaurant reservations and asked if we wanted to make them. After a long day and journey to get there, we were tired and thought the hotel restaurant was a good option at that point. Although the food was delicious, it took an ungodly amount of time and was very expensive. Most importantly, it wasn't what we were looking for, but by the time we figured that out, it was too late to back out.

I was sorry to only spend 1 night here as we didn't really even get to see the area coming in at night. My only real complaint (should have known about the restaurant) is the shower in the bathroom - it was directly across from the toilet and sprayed directly in that area unless you held it. I know the handheld shower is European, but it would have been nice to have an options for hands-free showering. If you didn't hold it, it made for an incredibly wet bathroom (mostly the toilet). Also, very minor, but the perfumed smells that are pumped through the rooms are a little much. I can imagine it might be an issue for someone with sensitivities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fins823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was a very nice place. The staff was friendly and helpful. We prefer larger resorts with a few more amenities but it was a nice stop over. I thought it was going to have views of the alps but it does not. The 7 course meal was awesome, pricey but awesome!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

OK, it’s pricey, but $aving up for this splurge, wending your way up the winding, narrow streets and lanes is worth the quest. Villino is extraordinary in its setting, surroundings, amenities, cuisine…and staff totally focused on a guest’s well-being.

There is a certain atmosphere of efficiency, totally understated. You come to the mental conclusion that everything you could possibly request has been anticipated, yet you do not feel you are caught up in a programmed existence. Quite the contrary: You are enveloped in an other-worldly bubble of luxury sans stuffiness or snootiness. You are immersed in the VillinoZone.

In more down-to-earth terms the Lago Suite affords panoramic views east, south and west of Lindau, its environs and the mountains beyond. The public areas are classy and comfortable. The villa is surrounded by gardens, orchards, small farms and inviting pathways. The place is spotless.

Dinner at Villino is akin to being in the cast of a ballet-in-motion. Certainly the food is outstanding, but it is the manner of presentation of food and beverage that makes Villino a singular dining experience. Mr. Reiner Fischer and his team seem to have a sixth sense for anticipating each other’s moves in and out of the kitchen to and from the tables. And if you opt for the menu with a different wine tasting for each course, you get the added treat of watching Mr. Fischer transform into a swirling dervish of opening, pouring, talking about and serving the wines . Bravo, Reiner!

Be advised: Villino is much more “family friendly” than first thought. There were young ones ranging from about 3 months to 10 years staying and/or dining. If you are looking for a TOTALLY quiet, table-in-the-corner, away-from-it-all hideaway and getaway, do your homework. I asked to be seated away from the lovely (but oft vocally energetic) little ones and wherever possible this request was accommodated.

Also, the dining room is pet-friendly. Sounds crazy for a 4-5 star but you kind of get used to some zillionaire coming in with two of his or her prized canine companions, who then sit invisibly, quietly under the table. Quirky is OK!

One other anecdote about the dining room. The entire team have an unspoken fanaticism about the silverware being of proper lineup and array at all times. Go ahead and try borrowing your partner’s fork or knife. I will wager one of the silverware sentinels will be at your table in less than 60 seconds with a replacement fork or knife. This is not a knock on efficiency; it’s plain fun to see it in action.

One friendly suggestion – Bigger, softer bath towels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joe-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

On our trip to Bavaria in July 2013 we wanted to stay closer to Castle Neuschwanstein so we could also visit Lake Konstanz and the Mainau Flower Island. Lindau seemed to be the perfect in-between destination for this. When we researched our hotel options in Lindau we came upon the best in town - Hotel Villino. It was expensive but the photos online looked excellent. Upon our visit I have to say that they exceeded our expectations.

This boutique hotel is a creation of 21 years of hard word of Sonja and Reiner Fischer. Reiner runs his very well acclaimed restaurant within the hotel. The food is beyond fantastic, simple, elegant, international and filled with amazing flavors. He was able to create a special vegetarian breakfast and meal menu for us. My parents who are extremely picky enjoyed spending hours at breakfast enjoying freshly made rosti’s, fruit salads, toasts, Villino jams and smoothies. The hotel rooms were simple, rustic, warm, cozy and very spacious. While we loved staying in luxury resorts in Austria, our stay at Villino felt like home. My son enjoyed picking citrus fruits, strawberries and cherries from the gardens around the hotel. I and my father enjoyed our morning walks around Villino. There were several farms laden with apple trees around the Hotel. The staff at Villino was extremely courteous and helpful. Raoul - our breakfast host was hard working and accommodated our requests in nick of time. We got to glimpse into a 1000 sqft. or larger kitchen equipped with state of the art equipment and extremely clean. After our first two nights we were eager to stay an extra night. While the hotel was completely booked - we were informed of last minute cancellations and we were able to enjoy another great day at Hotel Villino. We took day trips to Lake Konstanz and Neuschwanstein castle from here. The manager at Hotel Villino helped us rent cars for our trips and order taxi’s when need be. If you want a break from everyday life come take a break at this hotel, you will feel like you were transported to serenity. Thank you Sonja and Reiner for your warm hospitality.

Room Tip: The hotel has several floors. If you are traveling with a child that needs a stroller or a parent wh...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TitterTot_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindau hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 36 in Lindau
354 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#4 of 36 in Lindau
356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bad Schachen
Hotel Bad Schachen
#9 of 36 in Lindau
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten
1.5 mi away
Adara Boutique  Hotel
Adara Boutique Hotel
#3 of 36 in Lindau
133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Seerose Lindau
Hotel Seerose Lindau
#32 of 36 in Lindau
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant VILLINO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant VILLINO

Address: Hoyerbergstr. 34, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Price Range: £148 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Restaurant VILLINO 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villino is an exquisite hotel with award-winning cuisine, located above Lindau, in the heart of fruit orchards, at the crossroads of Germany, Austria and Switzerland. Grand Chef Reiner Fischer has achieved extensive acclaim for the restaurant with his Italian-Asian cuisine, complimented by an international wine list with no less than 850 different selections. A charming garden, based on traditional English and Italian designs, surrounds the hotel. The diversity of the artistic, cultural and leisure activities on and around the lake ensures there is something for everyone here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Restaurant VILLINO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing