We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel-Garni Brugger
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2011

After much review and several emails to accommodation in Lindau we chose Hotel Garni Brugger and booked on the three day Autumn Special. My girlfriend and I were returning to Lindau for more exploring after an all too brief visit over 30 years ago. We hoped it was still as lovely as we had remembered it and were not in any way disappointed. Erwin and Evelyn owners of this family run hotel made our stay even more special. Their warm welcome and impeccable service would be very hard to surpass. Wonderful buffet breakfast, coffee served to the table, and genuine friendliness from the owners made us thankful we had chosen their hotel. The breakfast room and our room were spotless and we were in awe of the beautiful needlework pictures on many of the walls which were done over time by Erwin's mother.
The location to the harbor or train station was well under 10 minutes walking but certainly depended on how many stops one made to take in the beauty of this lovely little island. Across from the hotel is a lovely park and if you love walking it is a very pleasant stroll from there around the island. The hotel does not serve lunch or supper but there are many restaurants close by. Don't believe there is internet or wifi but there is a shop across from the railway station.

The climate was definitely Mediterranean like and there is much to do in the area.
We spent a very pleasant day in the historical town of Meersburg going by train and bus and coming back by boat on Lake Constance arriving just at sunset. There are some lovely shops, little streets to explore, a walk off the island (bridges close to the hotel) to explore parks, quiet streets and walk into the nearby countryside. I rented a bicycle and cycled to Austria on a flat cycle path (only 10km each way) and loved cycling back onto and around the island after that adventure.

Would we return? Definitely and most certainly return to Hotel Garni Brugger.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto Bei der Heidenmauer Road may be noisy for light sleepers who like the window open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freeone2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

13 of us stayed here recently when we used Lindau as our base for a football match in Liechtenstein. We all thought the rooms were excellent and there was a very good buffet breakfast included in the room rate. The family that run the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

The location in Lindau is fantastic and allows easy access to the beautiful town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perthsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We have a lovely one night stay in a large room accommodating all five of us. We found the hotel comfortable and quiet with a really lovely ambience. The family owners were just lovely and accommodating and it was a pleasure to stay with them. Lindau is a beautiful spot and defintely deserves more than the overnight stay we had. We liked the position as it was away for the busy waterfront but close enough to reach through those gorgeous Lindau streets. There is no parking on site but we found parking very close by. We hope to return and would again stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolynsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The Hotel Garni Brugger is a wonderful place to stay in the beautiful town of Lindau. The location is near the road leading onto the island and about a 20min walk from the train station. If you don't feel like pulling your luggage there is a bus that stops near the hotel. Everything is close on this small island.
The Hotel is a family owned business. They are extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was included and was lovely European style - beautiful bread rolls and a lovely supply of meats and cheeses.
We stayed for 4 nights to explore the island and the surrounding lake towns. A great place to stay on Lake Constance.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gjlpfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Our stay here in Lindau was the beginning of a fabulous trip in celebration of retirement. And what a great start at this wonderful little family owned/run hotel. The location was ideal, the morning breakfast was so nice and enhanced by the cheerful greetings by Evelyn and her husband and staff. They were both so willing to help us with recommendations of restaurants and "must sees". We would love to go back someday and spend more time in the area. And, Evelyn, if you're reading this, I hope you made it to Oktoberfest.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2sing4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We didn't know going in whether Lindau would be the best town to headquarter in given that we wanted to see attractions all around Lake Constance, but we were so glad that's where we went. Lindau was centrally located, with many choices for dining and sightseeing and ferries running to wherever we wanted to go. While the room wasn't the fanciest we've ever been in, it was completely comfortable and good sized. It was very quiet and peaceful as well. The greatest part was the lovely couple that run the hotel. They were both completely friendly and anxious to please. Evelyn gave us great suggestions for places to visit and restaurants to try. She and her husband were so cheerful and friendly each morning at breakfast, they made you want to stay and chat with them all day. Would return to Lindau and the Hotel Garni Brugger in a heartbeat. We rode our bicycles to areas around the lake and would love to go back for another week and see some more.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TukosMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Everything a small hotel should be - friendly and family run, well located on Lindau island with easy parking, nice sized room, great shower, good breakfast, free wifi - it all just works. Lindau itself is very pretty, and there's a load of stuff to see and do within a short drive / cycle ride / train ride / boat ride.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindau hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 36 in Lindau
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adara Boutique  Hotel
Adara Boutique Hotel
#3 of 36 in Lindau
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seerose Lindau
Hotel Seerose Lindau
#32 of 36 in Lindau
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#4 of 36 in Lindau
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten
0.4 mi away
Hotel vis a vis
Hotel vis a vis
#13 of 36 in Lindau
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Garni Brugger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Garni Brugger

Address: Bei der Heidenmauer 11, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lindau
Price Range: £87 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Garni Brugger 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In order to give you an idea of the impression we wish to create, we guarantee that you will be personally greeted by the family Brugger. During your whole stay your time with us will be a memorable experience. Our hotel is part of the historical heart of the old town in Lindau. It has been lovingly restored and offers you a beautiful home during your stay with us. We have a pleasant breakfast room, bright conservatory and a Wellness area. ( Closed to the month June, July and August ) In addition to our relaxing, comfortable, cosy rooms; there is a possibility of a stroll around town, cycling and walking trips or a visit to the fairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel-Garni Brugger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garni Brugger
Garni Brugger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing