We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel Reasonably Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel-Garni Brugger
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews. And we weren't disappointed.

The hotel is really two buildings, separated by an outdoor courtyard. Since the hotel faces a very busy street, we chose to take a room that faced the courtyard in the rear building. It appeared to be very new and was in very good condition. It was very quiet, although I can imagine that a room in the front building that faces the street could be noisy.

The staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly (it appears to be run by a husband/wife team). They recommended an excellent affordable restaurant (remember that Lindau is a resort and restaurants can get very pricey) just around the corner where we had a great meal. See a separate review for the Alte Post restaurant.

While the hotel is toward the northeast end of the island, the island is small enough so that it can be easily walked.

Breakfast was very complete and excellent as well.

There is essentially no parking at the hotel, but there is a large public parking area across the street which is inexpensive overnight.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SabreSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

my son and his wife and their 2 boys (4.5,2.5) stayd in room 32 (2nd floor) me and my wife used room 12 (1st floor).the rooms are very clean and comfortable. (especially the beds).the hospitality is very warm, friendly and helpful.
the location of the hotel is not less than excellent, and the location of the parking place is less than one minute away.
breakfast is basic but satisfying.
we enjoyed staying there very much, and we found it a great location,comfortable pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yacov K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We (me, husband, and 2 teens) stayed here a few weeks ago and really enjoyed it. On this trip, we wanted to stay in smaller, family-owned hotels instead of the big chains we typically frequent, and this hotel fit the bill perfectly. The location is excellent, because it is easy to walk from the hotel to the harbor and many restaurants, yet parking is conveniently nearby and you can easily drive to the back of the hotel and drop off your luggage if needed. The young owners are very congenial, helpful people who do their best to make sure your stay is a good one. We had a reservation for a space in the parking garage across the street and Mrs. Brugger was willing to go with us if we had any trouble locating it. We didn't, but our rented Volkswagon Sharan van appeared too tall for the space. Do not attempt to park in this garage if your car has a high roof. The car must be lined up in a space on top of a metal frame of sorts that sits on top of the cement floor of the parking space. When a button is pressed, the metal frame rises up with the car on it, as if it were an elevator, to allow the car below to come up. If your car is too tall, it will be crushed when it is elevated and hits the cement parking garage roof. After we parked and realized this might happen to our van, we told Mrs. Brugger, and she was so nice that she walked with us to the parking garage to check if the car would fit. It wouldn't, so she got us a parking pass to the parking lot just over the little bridge, which was perfect. Our room was in the back section of the hotel, overlooking a quiet little street. We kept the window open and didn't notice much noise. The shower pressure was good, and the room layout was good since there was a divider between the children's beds and ours. Our room was up 2 flights of stairs and there is no elevator, but this was not an issue for us. Breakfast was typical, but nicely laid out . We did think their bread was better than most, and we appreciated that there was some fresh fruit in addition to the canned fruit that is often part of hotel breakfasts. The Bruggers know a lot about all the sights in the area and they work hard to please their guests. When we left, Mrs. Brugger sent us on our way with a nice bag of apple chips that we enjoyed snacking on.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waikikisun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The hotel is located on the Lindau Island on the edge of the historical center and seems to be family-run. We had a room for four under the roof facing the main street - with the windows shut there was no noise and we could sleep well. The room itself was very spacious, clean and seemed to be recently renovated. The breakfasts had a variety of things to choose from - one day even smoke salmon and trout...yum :-) All in all, it was a pleasant stay and I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whereismyumbrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed at Hotel-Garni Brugger for 10 nights and had a lovely family holiday. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious with plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 young teenagers and the buffet breakfast was excellent. Lindau is a lovely town with plenty of shops and restaurants and all parts of the island are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The car park on the mainland is just a couple of minutes walk across the bridge but there's room outside the hotel to load/unload luggage. We found plenty to do during our stay, our daughters particularly loved swimming in the lake and visiting the Strand Bad with it's heated pools and slide (5 mins drive 10 euros for a family of 4 all day) hiring pedalos, taking a boat trip on the lake and driving to Konstanz visiting pretty towns along the way. Thanks to Evelyn and Erwin for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This hotel appears to be made up of two separate units, one in front along the main road and one is back that is closer to the main town. Our room was in front, facing the main road. Because this is on an island, we thought that as the night wore on the traffic noise would go down, but it never did. I have no idea where all the cars and motorcycles were going. Without A/C, and during a very hot spell, we were stuck between noise and heat. Others have written about their great rooms, so it appears there is a big difference among options.

Certainly the best advantage was that the price was very good.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first as there seem to be many choices available. Beware of those facing the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Great location within walking distance from the harbor and major attractions. The staff is extremely nice and very helpful. The decor is simple but the room is very clean, and the beds are very comfortable. It is not air conditioned so I could anticipate that later in the summer could get very hot and stuffy.
All in all a real find especially if you travel on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank PaulM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindau hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 36 in Lindau
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adara Boutique  Hotel
Adara Boutique Hotel
#3 of 36 in Lindau
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seerose Lindau
Hotel Seerose Lindau
#32 of 36 in Lindau
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#4 of 36 in Lindau
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten
0.4 mi away
Hotel vis a vis
Hotel vis a vis
#13 of 36 in Lindau
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Garni Brugger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Garni Brugger

Address: Bei der Heidenmauer 11, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lindau
Price Range: £87 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Garni Brugger 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In order to give you an idea of the impression we wish to create, we guarantee that you will be personally greeted by the family Brugger. During your whole stay your time with us will be a memorable experience. Our hotel is part of the historical heart of the old town in Lindau. It has been lovingly restored and offers you a beautiful home during your stay with us. We have a pleasant breakfast room, bright conservatory and a Wellness area. ( Closed to the month June, July and August ) In addition to our relaxing, comfortable, cosy rooms; there is a possibility of a stroll around town, cycling and walking trips or a visit to the fairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel-Garni Brugger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garni Brugger
Garni Brugger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing