We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality”
Review of Hotel vis a vis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel vis a vis
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Reception staff were extremely helpful and considerate to two non-German speakers and had arranged a room with a bath for us because they knew we were coming through the rain on bicycles. They also arranged an extra night in the same room for us, gave us advice about the city of Lindau, arranged an appointment with an apothecary to look at a knee-wound from a bicycle fall, and all the time were unfailingly pleasant, courteous and helpful. I couldn`t speak highly enough of them.
The hotel is well situated, close to train and bus stations, but our room was well sound-insulated so we had a great sleep despite the traffic outside.
Breakfast was excellent in the range of food and in its cheery atmosphere of the room. If I ever were to go back to Lindau I`d be very happy to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theluckyfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    46
    29
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
46
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Location & breakfast was very good, however we weren' t impressed that the reception desk. was supposed to be staffed from 7.45am-10pm so if you had a problem outside these times no-one was available. When we arrived there was no-one at reception. We got to our room & there was no balcony as advised, again no-one to complain to at reception. We went out & got back 9.30pm reception empty again. Reception staff asked why hadn't complained earlier & was nasty when we said no-one at reception, he then proceeded to speak to couple behind us then answered the phone whilst we stood there amazed at rudeness of him. Went back 9.30pm next night to no electricity, reception helpful & it was fixed, just aswell went back early. Breakfast staff very helpful & pleasant. Room was comfortable, but hot as no aircon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Be aware that this hotel has a very shady cancelation policy. We cancelled a reservation by phone 48 hours in advance. The person at the desk told us there would be no problem. They still charged us for the room and claimed we had not cancelled at all. When we called to complain the new person at the desk told us that cancelations must be made one week in advance. When we spoke to the manager, we were told that cancellation was impossible because of the huge crowds wanting a room. Seriously?

Bottom line, if you make a reservation and are foolish enough to give them a credit card # to hold it, you are not going to get your money back.

Room Tip: The Hotel Bayerischer Hof is a very nice hotel with excellent rooms and a lovely view. A much bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John6127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lindau hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Good value for money on the beautiful island of Lindau. Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast choice might be a bit limited for some tastes but plenty of healthy options. Stayed two nights on business but took the opportunity for a boat trip on the Lake. Just a very relaxing stay but I would imagine the crowds at the height of summer might be a little overbearing on such a small island.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank diana o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The top attractive of this hotel is the excellent location just in the centre of the island, ideal for a walk on the promenade. The hotel itself is nothing special and is rather expensive. Our room was nicely refurbished but small, with a very hot temperature as it was summer with no air conditioning and very noisy just on top of the train station. The breakfast was really nothing special, and the bill was rather high. The hotel has no restaurant, but this is no major problem as Lindau offers plenty of alternatives. Overall acceptable, but not great value and improvable comfort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppl229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We love Lindau, and this hotel is a short walk to the harbor, restaurants and shops. I think the value is great for being able to stay on the island, which is the best place to stay. We had a car, and we were able to reserve a parking place behind the hotel, which was greatly appreciated. If you are traveling by train, it is across the street from the train station. The rooms and bath were clean and roomy enough. Our rooms faced the street, and the couple traveling with us were disturbed by the street noise in their room, but it did not bother my husband or me. If you are a light sleeper, you might request a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TN_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stumble on this hotel late at night with no reservation. Staff was courteous, quick check in. Rooms need to be refurbished really, TV is old style and the bathroom is very little. Breakfast in the morning very nice and complete, very good. Overall a good stay, for a smaller price then the other hotels nearby. The location is in town and close to shops but also in front of the train station.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikey09Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindau hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seerose Lindau
Hotel Seerose Lindau
#26 of 36 in Lindau
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 36 in Lindau
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#5 of 36 in Lindau
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bad Schachen
Hotel Bad Schachen
#7 of 36 in Lindau
298 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant VILLINO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel vis a vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel vis a vis

Property: Hotel vis a vis
Address: Bahnhofplatz 4-6, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Lindau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel vis a vis 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel vis a vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vis a

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing