We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS IS A REVIEW of Hotel Helvetia RESTAURANT”
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Certificate of Excellence
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
218 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
“THIS IS A REVIEW of Hotel Helvetia RESTAURANT”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Trip Advisor does not list separately restaurants here as part of a hotel, so I have to use the hotel review to review the restaurant. DISCLAIMER: we did NOT stay at the hotel. We ate at the outdoor restaurant. It is excellent. View is sensational. Service excellent. Food expensive but good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csundseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    102
    32
    8
    3
See reviews for
45
186
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed there in the Swiss Mountain Suite for two nights and rented an additional Wellroom for another night.
We arrived around 8pm and initially were kind of surprised to learn that there was nobody going to take our luggage to the room and or park the car for us. This was sort of a hickup and given that we had expected a full 5star experience, simply not acceptable; if you travel long and for many hours and are willing to pay premium, and arrive with a pregnant wife and a sleeping child, you don't want to be the one having to think about luggage and parking.
But after that initial irritation, it got better and better. The suite was just beautiful, with wooden floor, a separate toilet and a separate living area, plus a small terrace. From that living area, you also have a beautiful view over the Lindau harbor and towards the mountains.
In that separate living area, the bed for our 4-year old was prepared and there was also a small desk and a sofa. Prices of the minibar-items were low, if the owners gave it a little thought, they'd just invite you to the non-alcoholic beverages, though.
Pool closes at 9:30pm so we went for a quick swim. However, the pool is really small - small but beautiful. At least good enough so we had some fun there with our child. In the pool area there is also a steam room and a sauna as well as an infrared-seat. All is very clean.
Breakfast was plenty and the service simply great. On that second day, also the reception staff was helpful and super friendly. Special wishes at breakfast were quickly fulfilled and additional guests visiting us, hosted without problem.
The wellroom is almost as big as the suite and surprisingly had the bigger terrace.
Also this room very neat, clean and homy.
For checkout, we again weren't offered any help with the luggage, but this time also didn't ask for it.
Our cars were parked a 1min walk away in a park garage, to which they just gave us the keys and it was very convenient.
At checkout, we received two bags with self-baked bread and 2 vouchers of 25 Euro each for a next stay.
We will definitely come back, next time possibly in summer.

One thing, that might be weird for Americans: the pool and sauna-area are "naked areas" - meaning that people could be walking or lying around naked. Which happened for example on the 2nd evening when we came to the pool. When opening the door, a man was lying brazenly on the infrared seat, which should maybe located the other way round, so somebody entering the area isn't immediately presented with a persons's "jewels" when lying there spread fully on the seat. Though that's kind of a German thing.

Room Tip: if travelling with kids, the suites are worth it because of the separate sleeping/living area, where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sju86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

just to answer some of the critics, there is underground secure parking available for 13euros/night. It's just 20meters from the hotel - ask at reception. Also it's not expensive if you go for one just night :)

Breakfast is brilliant by german standards. and there is large sauna on the roof together with a small pool/hot tub which is 33degrees so even if it's snowing you'll be toasty.

The wellness area in the basement I didn't like so much. Much more fun on the roof!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halfdrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed here recently, with my husband, it's a beautiful setting, breakfast was amazing and the staff can't do enough for you. The swimming pool was very small and dissapointing, but spotlessly clean. It's an expensive place, but very beautiful.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 945siobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The loaction of this hotel is perfect, right in the middle of the marina with a nice view of the harbour. It is quite a small hotell, with not too many rooms which is nice because then the staff actually remembers you. The hotell and spa is some what expensive (but so is everything in lindau, and probably around the entire lake). Even though the high prices we felt we got our money worths (expect resturant, more on that later). The atmosphere of the hotel and spa is very relaxed and welcoming. Everythings seems clean and fresh, and most of the hotel and rooms are quite modern. The restaurant is another story.... the lack of service were simply non existing at times, which is truly a shame because the food is actually very good. To put it this way: waiters aren`t doing any favours for the chefs . But the food is actually worth the wait, just remember to order two glasses pr. person of whatever you are drinking or you`ll be sitting without for a long time. Oh, and be aware if the short, old and overweight waiter; Stay away from his serving section or you will day of thirst before anything happens. But the breakfast is amazing!
To sum it up,in spite of a few hickups here and there we will absolutely stay at the hotel again. No doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ubro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

the outstanding:
The Best Breakfast I have ever had in a Hotel.

the good: very nicely modern designed rooms

the ugly: no parking space available - now this is a problem since the Helvetia is on a half island which in the main season is without available parking spaces. Major inconvenience.

Lost & found:
We left our brand new top of the line electrish toothbrush in the room - It was lost to never be found again - something that happens very rairly in good Hotels these days

The pool.
The pool is tiny - we did think we are paying top Euro for the Spa & Wellness but we did not feel that we got what we paid for. The pool also is cold - colder then the lake Bodensee.

The chaos:
Restaurant staff were incable to tell us if we could upgrade to half board. It was advertised in the Hotel so we thought we would ask. Instead Restaurant staff asked me to check with Receiption and when I came back and told her Receiption said no problem the waiter consulted with the kitchen staff and said it was not possible.

All in all NOT recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CamAutSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalt, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This hotel is ina nice area.

It is clean and all people working there are really freindly. To use the SPA area is a great experience.

Specially the suana on top of the Hotel is a great to use here you ahve a nice view to the Bodensee.

Breakfeast ist super with fresh things and as well with a nice few to the Bodensee

The only thing i think is not ood is the parking space arround the hotel. If you use the Hotel parking space it will be a long way to walk

Will go next visit again into this Hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lindau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#5 of 36 in Lindau
331 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant VILLINO
0.2 mi away
Boutique - Hotel Adara
Boutique - Hotel Adara
#3 of 36 in Lindau
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bad Schachen
Hotel Bad Schachen
#7 of 36 in Lindau
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten
0.1 mi away
Hotel vis a vis
Hotel vis a vis
#13 of 36 in Lindau
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: Seepromenade 3, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lindau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helvetia 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Lindau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing