We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dream destination - Must Visit”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The 4Rooms

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Our restaurant, the 4tables cafe & gallery, is just down the road
Breakfast is included!
Starter!
Local fresh trout.
Sometimes, the wood-fire oven is turned on!
Dessert at 4tables.
The month-long ShopArt/ArtShop-1 was held in 2013.
The gallery of SA/AS-1
Gaddi wedding dance in Gunehar.
The valley.
Landing gently.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bir, Kangra District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rlnorton
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“unsafe, unreliable and unwelcoming”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

the place looks great from the outside. frank the owner has spent time in europe and made efforts to build the house with consideration for the traveler's needs. however there is no service and meal times are kept to with strict regularity which may not suit everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
It appears that this guest is not used to living in villages and doesn't understand the concept of a Home-Stay OR 'being a guest' and even less has any appreciation of what we do here or what it takes to run a place like this in a remote Indian village.
We welcome everybody who is ready to abide by certain rules and timings that we have to set if we are to serve our guests properly. But we do not appreciate when guests get rude and abusive to the staff-- and to me when I, as in this case, try to explain why we need to plan certain things in advance.
We are neither 'unreliable" (yes, you DO need to plan your meals in advance with us since it needs to be prepared), 'unsafe' (I know of very few villages safer than this) nor 'unwelcoming' (in fact I spend a whole evening with this guest, after having cooked him a meal myself, trying to help him with his travel plans). But if you are, as our guest, incapable of understanding that this is our home and our village and that you are a guest in this space, you are welcome to go somewhere else. We did not create this space 'for consumption' and believe in a guest-host relationship based on interaction, understanding and cooperation. You are not a client but our guest!
I could have denied that this guest had stayed with us and so prevented his review from appearing but I chose not to precisely to make this point (the lost "rating stars" are well worth getting this message across!): 4rooms is not a typical and average all-under-one-roof hotel where you can ring for room service or just walk in and demand ‘service’ at the press of a button. We are a very small and dedicated team with a wide range of responsibilities who will do anything for you, but this requires a certain amount of patience and a spirit of cooperation from our guests. This I have clearly stated on this portal, on our website and in the info-brochure put out in each room. All our guests apart from this one appreciate the amount of care and work we put in to make the 4rooms and all our other village projects possible and the visit of our guests memorable. But if you are not interested in our activities, our village and our way of doing things, there are plenty of other, regular hotels around to chose from.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishantSh...
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dream destination - Must Visit”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A group of 8 loud people, we pre-booked our stay at The 4rooms and I must say our stars were lucky when we made this call. placed on the edge of a village called gunehar the property was exceptionally well done & had serene surroundings. The moment you step in you can actually feel the passion and love with which the place is done, and nothing less than the same is reflected in Frank's Hospitality. He makes the most amazing food ever which can be had at the beautiful The 4Tables restaurant. Speak to frank before going and he shall arrange for some adventurous activities for you (including paragliding - its a must ! ).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: accommodation and food.
Liked least: there was nothing in specific that is to be not liked. as per our experience everything went fairly well and we are content with the same.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritugh
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Total comfort in a village property - a dream stay!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I landed at the 4Rooms hotel with a friend after a long and arduous bike ride from Chandigarh. Frank's hospitality was amazing, and it was after we saw the rooms, we fell in love. The rooms at this quaint village house (renovated after it burned down) are well appointed, lacking in no luxury we city dwellers are used to. Clean linen, a comfortable bed, and a western toilet were all we sought as we walked in tired from our backbreaking ride. But we also got a tea/coffee maker, adequate space to open up our luggage, and a little sit-out where we sat sipping tea looking at the rolling hills ahead of us or watching shepherds as they began their day! All in all, this is a great place to stay... No TV, no distractions and lots of solitude...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayatri M
1 review
“Recharge yourself”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The lack of obtrusive sounds, clear star filled skies, and healthy well balanced meals is what city dwellers will get at the 4Tables and 4Rooms ... So if you wish to unwind and recharge; this is the place to go to.

There is a well read and articulate guide in Frank, and a simple community of village dwellers, lack of the " idiot box" and many small, yet interesting places to explore on ones' feet.

For those who want service on finger tips and are used to the soft life , this is not. For those who want an experience and rejuvenation this is it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Loved the food, and the atmosphere
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuttingLo...
Chandigarh, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Hosted in a mud-walled, cheerfully furnished, quietly-located and thoughtfully restored Himalayan house, the cozy 4rooms 'hotel' is a refreshing change from assembly line resorts and cement blocks masquerading as traditional homestays. Would recommend for solitude seekers as much for families looking to keep their date with nature.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajesh N
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quaint, rustic but luxurious”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A perfect getaway for those who are looking for a completely different,refreshing and rejuvenating experience. A village house beautifully and painstaking restored. All the rooms are well appointed, clean and with all the amenities ( and without a TV - Thank Lord and Frank for that !!! )
A short walk through the village takes you to a stream , where you can sit and unwind for hours ( and even chill a bottle of wine clear cold water of the stream ).
Frank is a great host, very passionate about his work , environment and the society.
The village center has been transformed into a magnificent mini art hub.
The 4tables restaurant, which is a short walk away, serves absolutely delicious food...
A must visit place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The place, the food, the host, the people
Liked least: Leaving the place...
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing