We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab family weekend”
Review of Orsett Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orsett Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orsett
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked 3 dbb(Mum & Dad,daughter & fiance,son and girlfriend) with Secret Escapes to celebrate birthday/promotion/new house.
Very smooth booking in and i was given a wet room option (even though i hadn't specified) which was much appreciated. Each room was different and very tastefully decorated, beds comfy and good quality products.
very pleasant sitting in garden with bubbly watching wedding party before dinner, which was served by lovely Kaye who was well informed and friendly making us feel at home.
Food was excellent and plentiful and very impressed with a beautiful 'chef's plate' with personal birthday wishes piped on and petit fours and candle which staff brought out, a very nice touch.
Lots going on at hotel and the inevitable music and people outside having fun, but didn't go on too late - or maybe we were just very tired so it didn't disturb our sleep!
Good breakfast (cooked and served to order - love it) and no pressure to rush when finished.
check out was very efficient and friendly staff gave us a potted history of hotel and lovely grounds. all together a great place for a celebration!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sopranoLCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea I, Public Relations Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - Customer Feedback is very important to us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
There are newer reviews for Orsett Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had Sunday lunch yesterday to celebrate our Pearl Wedding Anniversary. We had our Wedding reception at t he hall 30 years ago, so the venue holds very special memories for us and our parents. We can't complain about the roast dinner, the food was very good. Unfortunately the service was very poor. All young people serving at the tables nothing wrong with that but it was obvious to us (we had 10 on our table) the staff are not trained. No idea how to poor wine or what glasses to use. No water on the table. And as for liquires, my husband was told to pay for the meal first! How ridiculous. And he had had to pay for the meal on Tuesday having had a call from the hall. The liquires were served in glasses that soft drinks would have been poured into! A glass was also dropped on our daughter. Aso it is noisy in the restaurant . The Pavlova was horrid, rock hard. Come on Orsett Hall, you lack finesse to get 5 stars up your service!

Room Tip: A member of our party stayed recently and found noise from a wedding disturbed sleep. Just be prepa...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea I, Public Relations Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - Customer Feedback is very important to us. We have noted your comments and will be speaking to the teams involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My pro's and con's are as follow:

Pro's:

1. Beautiful quiet location.

2. Excellent parking.

3. Good check-in

4. Nice big room and big bed

5. Excellent Reception service for booking a return taxi

6. Superb bar staff service from local lady who knew everything about the hotel and the area

7. Good quick lifts

8. Very comfortable beds without too much bedding.

9. Windows that opened

Con's:

1. Just the one key card provided for the room.

2. If we wanted an extra teabag, we would have to pay 20p for it!

3. Plastic glasses in the room.

4. A complete racket from the plumbing (bathroom/shower/taps) in the room next door. Very noisy! Surprising for a building that opened in just 2009.

5. Breakfast room lovely and clean, lots of space but spoilt by ineffective waiter service. Having taken our order rather incompetently, he then took our breakfasts to the wrong table (a family of five; we were two). Fortunately we were positioned in time and place to intercept before they went back to the kitchen and the quality/heat was good. The black pudding that had been ordered wasn't there but when pointed out, it arrived quite quickly on a special plate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Concorde2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea I, Public Relations Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - Customer Feedback is very important to us. We have noted your good and bad points and are currently undertaking a review of our Restaurant to ensure that all guest expectations are met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I booked afternoon tea for my daughters birthday. We have not been there before, but we were extremely impressed, the tea room was gorgeous and a very relaxing atmosphere, the staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was excellent. We intend to go back there again and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 394Pebbles52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea I, Public Relations Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - Customer Feedback is very important to us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Me and boyfriend stayed at Orsett Hall on 7th June through a secret escapes deal.
On arrival we got checked in pretty quick and made out way to our room which was an executive double room. The room was lovely, really spacious, modern and clean. The shower was great and the bathroom was lovely.

As part of the deal we got dinner and breakfast included.
We went down to dinner around 8pm, and it was empty! We had to eat off of the garden menu and not the a la carte as we would of had to pay extra.
The food was, well the food wasn't great at all. It had no flavour and just needed a lot more love and effort put into it. We would have been really annoyed if we paid the prices on the menu for the food we were given!

We wouldn't stay again purely because of the food, as there isn't really anywhere else to go and eat dinner outside of the restaurant and wouldn't want to way there again.

But the hotel and rooms itself are really nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea I, Public Relations Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - Customer Feedback is very important to us. We are very sorry that the food was not up to the standard you would expect on your recent stay. We are currently reviewing our Restaurant and Menus to ensure that all guests expectations are met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This was our second time at Orsett Hall for afternoon tea. On this occasion we were in a separate room which we really enjoyed, as the main room was noisy with other celebrations. The staff were very attentive, good food and excellent value. We can't wait for an excuse to return! Thank you all.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank CCBLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea I, Public Relations Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - Customer Feedback is very important to us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Recently spent a very enjoyable 70th Birthday celebration in the Gold Room. Lovely decor light and airy. The lunch was excellent and the waiters on top form. Our host and hostess had booked a singer to entertain and we all enjoyed a long lazy and fun afternoon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea I, Public Relations Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - Customer Feedback is very important to us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orsett
6.4 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
739 reviews
10.8 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,602 reviews
7.9 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
999 reviews
14.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orsett Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orsett Hall

Address: Orsett Hall Prince Charles Avenue, Orsett RM16 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thurrock > Orsett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orsett
Price Range: £82 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orsett Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Essex countryside within easy access of the M25 and only 40 minutes from Central London, Orsett Hall is a stunning 4 star Hotel set in 12 acres of landscaped gardens with 56 luxurious bedrooms, 5 bridal suites, chapel, elegant function rooms, on site hair salon, state-of-the-art boutique Kukana spa and a gym. The Hotel has all the advantages and facilities of a new, purpose built hotel and friendly, polite staff to cater to our customer's every need, The Garden Brasserie at Orsett Hall is open to both residents and non-residents to enjoy British cuisine in a warm, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Café Sartoria at Orsett Hall offers relaxed dining whether you are looking for breakfast, coffee and cake with friends, a lunchtime bite or an evening meal or snack. Orsett Hall is conveniently situated within a short drive of the new London Gateway, Tilbury Cruise Terminal and Intu Lakeside Shopping Centre in Thurrock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Orsett Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsett Hall Hotel Orsett
Orsett Hall Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing