We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”
Review of Orsett Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orsett Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orsett
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Met up with four friends for afternoon tea on a beautiful sunny day. We arrived a little too early so sat in the beautiful garden with a glass of prosecco(not too bad at £6.00 a glass). We sat in the very gorgeous dining room, wonderfully decorated and pristine. The usual set tea (£24.00) included scones, sandwiches and lovely cakes and a great selection of tea or coffee. It was sufficient and didn't need any more even though we were asked. Lovely staff, beautiful house and location and would love to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Breida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed at Orsett Hall for a two night business trip. Pleasantly surprised to find out on check in that I had been allocated the Lavender Suite, with its own hot tub, for the reasonable business I was paying. A hot tub is not much fun when on your own but the accommodation, which is in the separate chapel building, was stylish and well equipped - 3 TVs. I did enjoy it. We had dinner in the Garden restaurant both nights and the quality of food was good and the service friendly and attentive. The ambience of the hotel buildings and the gardens was great too. Any improvement opportunities? Only breakfast where the arrangements for tea and coffee were poor resulting in a tepid drink and a slight obsession with taking room numbers which resulted in us being asked for this several times. Overall a really enjoyable stay and great value for the rate I paid. I would like to return with my wife although the enquiry I made at reception suggested the standand price for a suite, if no dels are available, would be very expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briangfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for a wedding back in May. The location is out of the way but easy to get to.

The room was wonderful for my family of four. We had a double, a sofa bed for my eldest and a cot for the youngest and there was still plenty of room for all of us to move around. They even provide sheets/blankets for the cot which we had forgotten.

Service for the wedding was fabulous and service for breakfast was good too. Breakfast was a bit basic some continental and some cooked but not a lot for the youngest to chose from but we managed with toast!

Grounds were wonderful and the kids loved the wendy house/ climbing frame.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FluffyK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea I, Public Relations Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - Customer Feedback is very important to us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My Nephew had his wedding there yesterday . It was an amazing place so beautiful and stylish . The staff and service were first class and the rooms were stunning clean everything you wish for .. like to say a big thank you to Orsett Hall for making our stay one to remember ..

Room Tip: Room 4 was where we stayed was out of this world and the view from our windows were the gardens whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea I, Public Relations Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - Customer Feedback is very important to us. We are pleased that we were able to help make your Nephew's Wedding a special day for the family and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel is absolutely fantastic. We have just had a great stay at this well situated hotel, close to lakeside shopping centre but with the feel that you are in the middle of the country side. We were shown to the lavender suite by the lovely lady on the reception, when she opened the door we could not believe our eyes, it was beautiful. The grounds were outstanding, best of all was the service. We had afternoon tea in the garden room and was served by a lovely young lady called Kaye, she recommend the restaurant for dinner and went through the whole menu with us. She was our waitress at night, so helpful and good fun. One thing I forgot to mention, our room had a hot tub

Room Tip: Lavender suite, has hot tub and is just across the lawn from the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alancarole1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea I, Public Relations Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - Customer Feedback is very important to us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit and hope to see you again very soon. I will also pass on your kind comments to Kaye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked 3 dbb(Mum & Dad,daughter & fiance,son and girlfriend) with Secret Escapes to celebrate birthday/promotion/new house.
Very smooth booking in and i was given a wet room option (even though i hadn't specified) which was much appreciated. Each room was different and very tastefully decorated, beds comfy and good quality products.
very pleasant sitting in garden with bubbly watching wedding party before dinner, which was served by lovely Kaye who was well informed and friendly making us feel at home.
Food was excellent and plentiful and very impressed with a beautiful 'chef's plate' with personal birthday wishes piped on and petit fours and candle which staff brought out, a very nice touch.
Lots going on at hotel and the inevitable music and people outside having fun, but didn't go on too late - or maybe we were just very tired so it didn't disturb our sleep!
Good breakfast (cooked and served to order - love it) and no pressure to rush when finished.
check out was very efficient and friendly staff gave us a potted history of hotel and lovely grounds. all together a great place for a celebration!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sopranoLCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea I, Public Relations Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - Customer Feedback is very important to us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had Sunday lunch yesterday to celebrate our Pearl Wedding Anniversary. We had our Wedding reception at t he hall 30 years ago, so the venue holds very special memories for us and our parents. We can't complain about the roast dinner, the food was very good. Unfortunately the service was very poor. All young people serving at the tables nothing wrong with that but it was obvious to us (we had 10 on our table) the staff are not trained. No idea how to poor wine or what glasses to use. No water on the table. And as for liquires, my husband was told to pay for the meal first! How ridiculous. And he had had to pay for the meal on Tuesday having had a call from the hall. The liquires were served in glasses that soft drinks would have been poured into! A glass was also dropped on our daughter. Aso it is noisy in the restaurant . The Pavlova was horrid, rock hard. Come on Orsett Hall, you lack finesse to get 5 stars up your service!

Room Tip: A member of our party stayed recently and found noise from a wedding disturbed sleep. Just be prepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea I, Public Relations Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - Customer Feedback is very important to us. We have noted your comments and will be speaking to the teams involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orsett
6.4 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
764 reviews
10.8 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
15.9 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
313 reviews
8 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
1,034 reviews
3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orsett Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orsett Hall

Address: Orsett Hall Prince Charles Avenue, Orsett, Thurrock RM16 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thurrock > Orsett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orsett
Price Range: £77 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orsett Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Essex countryside within easy access of the M25 and only 40 minutes from Central London, Orsett Hall is a stunning 4 star Hotel set in 12 acres of landscaped gardens with 56 luxurious bedrooms, 5 bridal suites, chapel, elegant function rooms, on site hair salon, state-of-the-art boutique Kukana spa and a gym. The Hotel has all the advantages and facilities of a new, purpose built hotel and friendly, polite staff to cater to our customer's every need, The Garden Brasserie at Orsett Hall is open to both residents and non-residents to enjoy British cuisine in a warm, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Café Sartoria at Orsett Hall offers relaxed dining whether you are looking for breakfast, coffee and cake with friends, a lunchtime bite or an evening meal or snack. Orsett Hall is conveniently situated within a short drive of the new London Gateway, Tilbury Cruise Terminal and Intu Lakeside Shopping Centre in Thurrock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Orsett Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsett Hall Hotel Orsett
Orsett Hall Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing