We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”
Review of Orsett Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orsett Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orsett
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Unfortunately, the hotel does not live up to expectations. The situation is good, in the countryside but close to major road network with attractive grounds. First impressions on entering the hotel were fine and the receptionist was efficient during check in. Note that the hotel charges extra if you use a credit card which we found unusual and a bit annoying. Our bedroom was perfectly adequate with a king size bed and the bathroom was modern and well appointed (although soap and shampoo was from dispensors on the wall - totally out of reach if you were in the bath!).
The major problem was the room's location overlooking the trash and food waste dumpster. It was extremely noisy with people talking loudly outside, wheeling trolleys, emptying waste into the dumpster and tipping bottles into another container.
Service at breakfast was very slow - 45 minutes from ordering the meal to receiving the food.
Overall, this hotel could be good if they improve the service levels in the dining room and also tidy up the area used for the trash.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12. this room overlooks the rubbish bins - see comments under review
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    150
    83
    38
    31
See reviews for
179
132
5
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I attended afternoon tea in the Garden Room, to celebrate a friend's baby shower. The Room itself is really lovely, bright and very nice decor. The sandwiches & cakes were a good standard, and enough to go around.
Only criticism was that the service wasn't as attentive as I would have liked, they were a bit slow taking drinks (tea/coffee) orders initially, we had to go up to the bar to order wine as they forgot to come and take the order after us asking for a wine list. We also weren't offered a second cup of tea which I would expect for a two hour slot.
I would say overall fair price at just under £19 but the service let it down!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenski83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have just had my wedding here and i can not fault the staff, the venue, the quality of food and service provided.
Everything was dealt with in a professional way and they were so accommodating.
we didn’t even know there was other weddings going on within the venue.
Truly amazing and felt very special.
Would highly recommend the photographer Peter Ives and Gary Stone as Videographer

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Hired Orsett Hall for a charity event . Scott , the events manager made it a easy and professionally run evening . Food was hot and tasty , pretty unusual at a big do !!! Waiting staff young but trained to a high standard. Bedrooms were beautifully decorated and very comfartable. Great event , thankyou.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Frenchfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Met up with four friends for afternoon tea on a beautiful sunny day. We arrived a little too early so sat in the beautiful garden with a glass of prosecco(not too bad at £6.00 a glass). We sat in the very gorgeous dining room, wonderfully decorated and pristine. The usual set tea (£24.00) included scones, sandwiches and lovely cakes and a great selection of tea or coffee. It was sufficient and didn't need any more even though we were asked. Lovely staff, beautiful house and location and would love to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed at Orsett Hall for a two night business trip. Pleasantly surprised to find out on check in that I had been allocated the Lavender Suite, with its own hot tub, for the reasonable business I was paying. A hot tub is not much fun when on your own but the accommodation, which is in the separate chapel building, was stylish and well equipped - 3 TVs. I did enjoy it. We had dinner in the Garden restaurant both nights and the quality of food was good and the service friendly and attentive. The ambience of the hotel buildings and the gardens was great too. Any improvement opportunities? Only breakfast where the arrangements for tea and coffee were poor resulting in a tepid drink and a slight obsession with taking room numbers which resulted in us being asked for this several times. Overall a really enjoyable stay and great value for the rate I paid. I would like to return with my wife although the enquiry I made at reception suggested the standand price for a suite, if no dels are available, would be very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briangfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for a wedding back in May. The location is out of the way but easy to get to.

The room was wonderful for my family of four. We had a double, a sofa bed for my eldest and a cot for the youngest and there was still plenty of room for all of us to move around. They even provide sheets/blankets for the cot which we had forgotten.

Service for the wedding was fabulous and service for breakfast was good too. Breakfast was a bit basic some continental and some cooked but not a lot for the youngest to chose from but we managed with toast!

Grounds were wonderful and the kids loved the wendy house/ climbing frame.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffyK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea I, Public Relations Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - Customer Feedback is very important to us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orsett
10.8 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
15.9 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,453 reviews
6.4 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
397 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
294 reviews
8.0 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orsett Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orsett Hall

Property: Orsett Hall
Address: Orsett Hall Prince Charles Avenue, Orsett RM16 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thurrock > Orsett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orsett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Orsett Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Essex countryside within easy access of the M25 and only 40 minutes from Central London, Orsett Hall is a stunning 4 star Hotel set in 12 acres of landscaped gardens with 56 luxurious bedrooms, 5 bridal suites, chapel, elegant function rooms, on site hair salon, state-of-the-art boutique Kukana spa and a gym. The Hotel has all the advantages and facilities of a new, purpose built hotel and friendly, polite staff to cater to our customer's every need, The Garden Brasserie at Orsett Hall is open to both residents and non-residents to enjoy British cuisine in a warm, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Café Sartoria at Orsett Hall offers relaxed dining whether you are looking for breakfast, coffee and cake with friends, a lunchtime bite or an evening meal or snack. Orsett Hall is conveniently situated within a short drive of the new London Gateway, Tilbury Cruise Terminal and Intu Lakeside Shopping Centre in Thurrock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orsett Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsett Hall Hotel Orsett
Orsett Hall Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing