We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orsett Hall
Nearby Hotels
The Bell Inn Hotel(Horndon-on-the-Hill)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stifford Hall Hotel(North Stifford)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Thurrock Lakeside(Grays Thurrock)(Great Value!)
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Thurrock M25(West Thurrock)(Great Value!)
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$48
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis London Thurrock(Grays Thurrock)
US$56
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granby Hotel(Northfleet)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveller rating
354
207
112
53
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
207
112
53
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teacakesgarden roomspecial occasionwedding venuefrom start to finishmy mumbirthday treatfood was lovelyrun smoothlysunday lunchbeautiful groundsstaff were attentivedance floorwaiting staffbeefwedding reception
Filter
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 771 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked a two night stay with Secret Escapes. We were upgraded to the William & Mary suite at check-in and we had already booked dinner directly with reception by email. The room was lovely and we overlook the garden and the new chapel. We came here 13 years ago for a friends wedding and we remembered the hotel being very tired....what a change now that they rebuilt it after the fire in 2007. The grounds are quite stunning. We can see why it is a very popular wedding venue and they have three other suites which are gorgeous. The staff, right from check-in to check-out were lovely and very efficient. The food in the restaurant was very nice and very well presented and the staff there too were lovely. Breakfast was very nice and freshly cooked and one of the nicest cooked breakfast we have had at a hotel for a long time. The buffet breakfast was missing the croissants and Danish pastries both mornings we were there...not sure why. We were having dinner with our friends on the second night of our stay and it was a surprise for my husband....a surprise which was well kept by all the staff who were aware. Thank you to all for a lovely lovely stay at Orsett Hall.

Room Tip: rooms facing the same side as reception and to the right hand side of the building from reception would be the quietest.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Unfortunately, the hotel does not live up to expectations. The situation is good, in the countryside but close to major road network with attractive grounds. First impressions on entering the hotel were fine and the receptionist was efficient during check in. Note that the hotel charges extra if you use a credit card which we found unusual and a bit annoying. Our bedroom was perfectly adequate with a king size bed and the bathroom was modern and well appointed (although soap and shampoo was from dispensors on the wall - totally out of reach if you were in the bath!).
The major problem was the room's location overlooking the trash and food waste dumpster. It was extremely noisy with people talking loudly outside, wheeling trolleys, emptying waste into the dumpster and tipping bottles into another container.
Service at breakfast was very slow - 45 minutes from ordering the meal to receiving the food.
Overall, this hotel could be good if they improve the service levels in the dining room and also tidy up the area used for the trash.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12. this room overlooks the rubbish bins - see comments under review
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I attended afternoon tea in the Garden Room, to celebrate a friend's baby shower. The Room itself is really lovely, bright and very nice decor. The sandwiches & cakes were a good standard, and enough to go around.
Only criticism was that the service wasn't as attentive as I would have liked, they were a bit slow taking drinks (tea/coffee) orders initially, we had to go up to the bar to order wine as they forgot to come and take the order after us asking for a wine list. We also weren't offered a second cup of tea which I would expect for a two hour slot.
I would say overall fair price at just under £19 but the service let it down!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jenski83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have just had my wedding here and i can not fault the staff, the venue, the quality of food and service provided.
Everything was dealt with in a professional way and they were so accommodating.
we didn’t even know there was other weddings going on within the venue.
Truly amazing and felt very special.
Would highly recommend the photographer Peter Ives and Gary Stone as Videographer

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Hired Orsett Hall for a charity event . Scott , the events manager made it a easy and professionally run evening . Food was hot and tasty , pretty unusual at a big do !!! Waiting staff young but trained to a high standard. Bedrooms were beautifully decorated and very comfartable. Great event , thankyou.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Frenchfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews