We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option in otherwise expensive town...”
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Schweizerhof
Ranked #8 of 10 Andermatt B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Schweizerhof is like most swiss budget hotels - slightly old, slightly run down, but with excellent service and friendly staff.

The prices are reasonable, the place is clean and everything is in working order. The location is spot in the middle of town close to cafe's and restaurants so if you can live with the slightly tacky interior and the lack of modern amenities such WiFi on the room etc. then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwestermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2010

This hotel was in a really good location for the train station and both ski lifts. The rooms are small but spotless as is the bathroom. Rooms were warm but had windows that opened so it was fine. Breakfast was ok...meat looked a bit Ropey but cereal, yoghurt and bread were nice. There is a shower that you can use after you check out if you manage to ski before leaving which is very handy. The only downside was the noisy guests! Walls are thin and Saturday night was very noisy!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zurich1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

A friend and I arrived in Andermatt by train; left our bags at the tourist office while we looked for a room - a helpful lady in the office gave us a list with all prices; very useful. A friend had recommended a place opposite the Gemsstockbahn, but when we checked it out it was not especially friendly, smelled of smoke and was overpriced. The next couple of places we tried were full, and we chanced on the Schweizerhof, a traditional painted building on the main street. How lucky we were! For SF60 each per night we had a pretty spacious room (7) on the first floor, own bathroom with powerful shower and decent-sized bath, not facing the street so especially quiet. Breakfast was great; fellow guests friendly and the supper we ate one night was tasty and reasonable. Some guests stay half-board - a good deal as well. The hotel is opposite a couple of popular bars but not noisy. Ski boots you leave outside rooms, which is warm enough for them to dry. This is not a fancy or very refurb-ed place, but a traditional hotel in a superb location at great value. The only minus? The wall between our bathroom to the next room was paper-thin ... we felt like we had to be extra-quiet when visiting it!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Check-in-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Urige Aussicht zur Straßenseite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dauphin-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
7317
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Froebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Andermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#6 of 11 in Andermatt
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chedi Andermatt
The Chedi Andermatt
#1 of 11 in Andermatt
972 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Crown
Hotel Crown
#2 of 11 in Andermatt
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The River House Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Drei Konige und Post
Hotel Drei Konige und Post
#3 of 11 in Andermatt
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Schlussel
Alpenhotel Schlussel
#5 of 11 in Andermatt
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof

Address: Gotthardstrasse 85, Andermatt 6490, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Uri > Andermatt
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Andermatt
Price Range: £123 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Schweizerhof 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing