We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clever mix of Asian and European indulgence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Chedi Andermatt
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Andermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A clever mix of Asian and European indulgence”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in March and were sceptical about Andermatt being the right resort for such an endeavour - we were proved wrong as cleverly Andermatt is only an hours drive out of Zurich making the new Hotel very accessible for a weekend of indulgence and with the development of the Town including the new golf course it will be a place to visit all year round. It is the first hotel of its kind to offer this mix of Asian and European luxury and such a refreshing change to the 'normal' Swiss style. The rooms are beautifully designed and finished to a very high standard, we could want for nothing, if I were being very picky I would say the choice of bathroom products would not be what I would expect from a Zen like environment - over perfumed. The Spa was a haven of tranquility and we loved the pools which were all different temperatures, perfect after a day of skiing. To have a choice of different temperature steam rooms was a brilliant idea. We ate in the Hotel for 3 nights and were disappointed to find the Sushi bar closed - apparently only open in high season. The food was very good but the service at times a little erratic, there were either waiters all over you or nowhere to be seen - it is early days and I am sure they are sorting out any teething problems. Breakfast was excellent but sometimes the timing was a little too quick with the cooked option. We were very impressed by the cigar lounge and the amazing books. We would certainly return to the Chedi and to have somewhere that is so easy to get to for a weekend makes it very appealing.

Room Tip: We had a larger room overlooking the mountains which had a lovely balcony for afternoon sun .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain-Bachmann, General Manager at The Chedi Andermatt, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind note and for staying with us. We appreciate your positive Feedback and are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Chedi Anderrmatt in the not to distant future.

Sincerely,
Alain Bachmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    103
    39
    17
    7
See reviews for
134
537
20
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We've been there in April in a very nice and big room. Everything is great, the spa (two hammam, two sauna, three small pools, a bigger pool, unfortunately a little too cold for us). The restaurant and bars are in the same high decoration level, the only low point is the service, quite disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OneAdvisedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain-Bachmann, General Manager at The Chedi Andermatt, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing to us. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, the lap pool (35meters) is ideal for swimmers, well tempered at 27°C. For a more cozy feel we recommend our three warm pools in the Hydrotherapy, at 33°C to 42°C. I do apologise that the service was not up to standards, I will certainly address this with my team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Chedi Andermatt very soon and thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards,
Alain Bachmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have visited the hotel last weekend with my husband and the hotel is amazing, the rooms are amazing....also the spa experience including the massage was excellent. The room had a fireplace and you could control everything , ie blinds, lighting through an ipad!!!....It is very easy to get to Andermatt from Zurich, about 120 km....

The only negative was the fact that the staff do not always understand if you are talking in English ...Also even though you are responding in English, the next day the receptionist replies to you in German.....I would expect "The Chedi" to be more of an international hotel and not a local Andermatt one. I got the feeling that some of the staff think that they work at the local boutique Andermatt hotel which is not the case......


Also I had preoredered our breakfast on our last day because we were departing at 7am and would liked to have brown bread....the response was "sorry we do not have brown bread , only white...".I did not expect such a response given what we paid for a night....


Lastly the club sandwich at the bar was ok but a bit small, I was considering to order a second one.....


I am writing the above because I want to return to the Chedi again but with these small burtimportant changes I believe,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 713nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain-Bachmann, General Manager at The Chedi Andermatt, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear 713nat,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted that overall you very much enjoyed your stay with us. We do indeed have many Swiss employees (over 40%) which we are very proud of. Most of them do speak English. However, being an international hotel it could happen that some of the team do not fluently speak English but there is always a member of the team on hand who could assist. I am sorry to learn that brown bred was not available which of course should not have happen. The food concept in the bar is small plates 'tapas style', little snacks to accompany your drinks, so you may share a few plates among friends. Again, we truly appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards,
Alain Bachmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bildstein, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hipe about the Chedi is most understandable. A project like this is hard to find in the Alpes. So my expectation was high even more as a friend highly recomanned the hotel. The brand has a good reputation for me as I stayed in the Chedi in Oman and I was very happy there.

At the end of my stay I was disappointed.

What happend? The location where the Chedi is build has no ambience. So when you look out of the windows there is nothing to see.

The pool looks great but is very cold. I hurt mysehlf badly on the staires leading into the pool. The water made my eyes looking red for a whole day. The entrance to the pool is hard to find. Most people have to go to the reception as they need help.

The Chedi cordon bleu was the worst I have ever eaten. The manager of the restaurant responded well to my complain and did his best to make us happy.

I asked my friend what she payed for the room - she said 800 SFR. I payed 1.600 SFR. So I went to the reception to find out why I pay so much more. They told me it is the view. As there is little to see I said it is not fair to charge so much more. The supervisior had no understanding for my claim. Later in the room I have been informed by the reception that I am in a delux room and not in a suit. So they have send me in a wrong room ! That the fire place inside the room did not work was just an other piece in the pussle.

In general the Chedi is not strong in details. Pulpes are broken. Plastik bricks are in some locations. The decoration is more than poor. The furniture is already havely marked. Plastik fear is everywhere.......

I can say that I hardly ever found such a bad relation of price to value.

Daniel

Room Tip: The higer up the better. For a view to the mountain you pay 50% more - that is not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DanielAlbert2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain-Bachmann, General Manager at The Chedi Andermatt, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear DanielAlbert2014,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. We appreciate your comments. I was sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your visit to Andermatt. As you know the Andermatt Swiss Alps resort is a project in progress which sees further development over the next years. The Pool is heated to 27°C as it invites the swimmers to swim their laps. For guests seeking a warmer pool we offer three different pools in our Hydrotherapie, heated from 33°C to 42°C. The entrance to the Spa is indeed a bit hidden but there is a direct access elevator which arrives in front of the Spa reception. I apologise for the confusion with the room. The difference between a Deluxe Room and Grand Deluxe Room (52m2) is CHF 200 which we believe is an appropriate premium for a higher floor and a better view. The Suite (approx. 100m2) has a premium of CHF 200 (approx. 100m2) from the Grand Deluxe. I was happy to learn that the wrong rate was adjusted accordingly. I regret that the fire place did not work, it has since been fixed again. We would welcome the opportunity to have you back with us in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Alain Bachmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We loved this hotel, really loved it!

The design, the huge rooms, the great breakfast!Try eggs Benedict they are just great!
Of course they still have some issues to sort out but overall we just very much enjoyed it!
I would love to go back for the next ski holidays!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain-Bachmann, General Manager at The Chedi Andermatt, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear domenig2,
Thank you for your kind feedback. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write to us and were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Of course we are looking forward to welcoming you back for your ski vacation to The Chedi Andermatt.
Best wishes,
Alain Bachmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

You will have high expectations. And you do not expect it to be low-priced.
This said: This place is very nice, indeed. Design as it's best. Very spacious. Nice rooms. Comfortable beds. It's a new interpretation of a grand hotel.
Only the service is a bit slow, I have to admit. Well, it's still all new, but with the amount of staff which is working there, it should be better by now.
Anyway, go see the spa and you will be happy again. So happy.
Great location, top of the world.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain-Bachmann, General Manager at The Chedi Andermatt, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear TheKitchener,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback which we truly enjoyed reading. We will certainly work hard to also speed up the service to make the entire experience spotless. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards,
Alain Bachmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel design and interior is stunning. Modern, asian inspired, luxury and cozy at the same time. I loved the many fireplaces and and comfy sitting areas in the public areas. We had room 1111 on the first floor with beautiful view to the alps and a huge terrasse. The room was big and ultra luxurious, especially the bathroom. Everything was new, clean and top notch.
The spa, pool area and gym is big, luxurious and a dream. Wonderful. Breakfast is buffet style with several stations where food is prepared in front of your eyes, very fresh and perfect quality. We had a dinner snack at the bar. The snack menu is a bit limited and could be improved while the food as such was very good an nicely presented. We found the service in the bar and restaurant very good an friendly. The only small downsize is the time for check-in and check-out (thats why I give a 4 star rating). It took nearly half an hour for checkout until we got our car from the garage. Besides this, we loved every minute in this hotel and will stay here again for sure. Andermatt ist not as famous and upscale as St. Moritz oder Zermatt, but is still an nice place for skiing and hiking.

Room Tip: room 1111 deluxe room on the first floor had nice view to the mountain and huge terrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxuryvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain-Bachmann, General Manager at The Chedi Andermatt, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear luxury voyage,
Thank you so much for sharing your glowing feedback. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the delay in check-out which we will certainly try to improve.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards,
Alain Bachmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Andermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
The River House Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Drei Konige und Post
Hotel Drei Konige und Post
#3 of 11 in Andermatt
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crown
Hotel Crown
#2 of 11 in Andermatt
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#6 of 11 in Andermatt
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Schlussel
Alpenhotel Schlussel
#5 of 11 in Andermatt
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monopol-Metropol
Hotel Monopol-Metropol
#7 of 11 in Andermatt
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Andermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Andermatt

Property: The Chedi Andermatt
Address: Gotthardstrasse 4 | 6490 Andermatt, Andermatt 6490, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Uri > Andermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Andermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Andermatt 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine chic meets Asian zen Surrounded by the natural beauty of the Swiss Alps, The Chedi Andermatt offers an extraordinary blend of traditional local hospitality and Asian grace and elegance and sets new standards in the international luxury-hotel market. Be enchanted and inspired by this unique atmosphere. The Chedi Andermatt is both captivating and striking in its otherness - in the unusual combination of Alpine chic and Asian elements. Glossy Alpine wood, smooth leather sofas, over 200 fireplaces and numerous panorama windows offer a warm and cosy spot to linger a while. This perfect harmony bears the signature of star architect Jean-Michel Gathy and was planned and designed by renowned architecture firm Denniston International Architects & Planners Ltd. Located 1,447 metres above sea level, this five-star deluxe hotel enchants guests with its 123 elegant rooms and suites, meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology, award-winning restaurants and bars, a modern Spa and Health Club and a spa area that is probably unique in Switzerland - an oasis of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Chedi Andermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing