We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Chedi Andermatt
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Andermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Best hotel in the Alps.
A valuable gift for Andermatt and central Switzerland!
Great entrepreneurship and vision of Samih Sawiris.
Interior design is warm and following highest quality as well as design standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lutz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediAndermatt, Guest Relations Manager at The Chedi Andermatt, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Lutz M,

Herzlichen Dank für Ihr grosszügiges Feedback, welches uns sehr gefreut hat.

Wir danken Ihnen für Ihren Besuch bei uns im The Chedi Andermatt und hoffen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.

Freundliche Grüsse

Ann-Kristin Schäffler
Guest Relations Manager
The Chedi Andermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    93
    37
    16
    7
See reviews for
126
499
17
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

now this is a completely new category of hotels! Be ready for an extraordinary experience. In the rough of the Alps in the middle of Switzerland this hotel has been built. It stands like an island in the middle of this harsh environment and welcomes all guests with great friendliness, luxury and taste. Hospitality at highest level, but still relaxed. You are really stressed out to the edge? Then go here for a couple of days and I'm sure your spirits will come back. I can't say what I liked best, the modern elegant interior, the Spa and gym area, the pool, the fabulous restaurant, the best breakfast ever. I mean you are blessed when you can stay in this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicfromSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediAndermatt, Public Relations Manager at The Chedi Andermatt, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter NicfromSwitzerland

Herzlichen Dank für Ihr grosszügiges Feedback, das uns sehr gefreut hat. Wir danken Ihnen für Ihren Besuch bei uns im The Chedi Andermatt und hoffen, Sie bald wieder bei uns verwöhnen zu dürfen.

Freundliche Grüsse

Ann-Kristin Schäffler
Guest Relations Manager
The Chedi Andermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
218 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

we had booked in the chedi directly thru the hotel web site, the booking was fast and easy,
since this was our first visit to Switzerland we wanted to visit many must visit sites so i had emailed to head concierge and he immediately informed me with options so i was relived and welcomed even before we had arrived,

we arrived at 6.30 AM in Zurich airport and at the arrival gate we were welcomed by a driver with hotel name card and were driven by a Q7 from airport and it is beautiful drive all the way, our drives takes 90 minutes by car to reach the Andermatt, an isolated village in central Switzerland .

the hotel looks simple from outside we are welcomed and taken to our room ,

we had booked in grand deluxe room and we were simply blown away with the spacious of the room huge double bed and bathroom that had a heated stone floor, a well appointed black double basin unit and a wet room with a monsoon shower.the room feels cozy and warm done up with soothing colours in leather, stone and wood and a fireplace in the room.the lights ,blind,music all are controlled by mini iPad which is very cool and convenient .

the lobby has fireplaces, many public seating areas; a wine bar ,a cigar library, glass-shielded flames , indoor swimming pool,The restaurant has walk-in cheese room, serves global gourmet dishes, including excellent Chinese and Indian, and the Japanese.
we did not have time to check The spa,

the real stars of this hotel are the staffs especially the head concierge Stefan Guazzini & Riccardo Giusti who will arrange any trip/guide trains /restaurants booking and suggest you about the places to visit ,i must add without them our entire trip would not been so wonderful !!!.also not to forget all the polite and efficient drivers who drove us to ascon and , Zurich.

the Andermatt town is a beautiful tiny village,the streets make for a rewarding stroll, with plenty of small restaurants serving local food.

the andermatt railway station is next door to the hotel hence it will convenient stop if you next destination is zarmatt.

we will come back to this beautiful hotel with friends and kids.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vindav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediAndermatt, Guest Relations Manager at The Chedi Andermatt, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear vindav,

We feel flattered about your superlative review of The Chedi Andermatt. Thank you for your visit, it was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guests. We much appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Urseren Valley in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Ann-Kristin Schäffler
Guest Relations Manager
The Chedi Andermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

One of the most beautiful hotels ever. Very tastefully decorated rooms, great spa, very nice and comptent staff. Food was good, too. Unfortunately, the golf course had not opened yet which was not indicated on the website.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mirjam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediAndermatt, Guest Relations Manager at The Chedi Andermatt, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrte Mirjam S

Herzlichen Dank für Ihren Besuch im The Chedi Andermatt und dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns zu schreiben. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Ihnen der Aufenthalt in unserem Haus so gefallen hat.

Wir bedauern, dass der Golfplatz Andermatt während Ihres Aufenthaltes bei uns noch nicht eröffnet war.

Wir freuen uns, Sie bald wieder bei uns im Urserental begrüssen zu dürfen.

Freundliche Grüsse

Ann-Kristin Schäffler
Guest Relations Manager
The Chedi Andermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in March and were sceptical about Andermatt being the right resort for such an endeavour - we were proved wrong as cleverly Andermatt is only an hours drive out of Zurich making the new Hotel very accessible for a weekend of indulgence and with the development of the Town including the new golf course it will be a place to visit all year round. It is the first hotel of its kind to offer this mix of Asian and European luxury and such a refreshing change to the 'normal' Swiss style. The rooms are beautifully designed and finished to a very high standard, we could want for nothing, if I were being very picky I would say the choice of bathroom products would not be what I would expect from a Zen like environment - over perfumed. The Spa was a haven of tranquility and we loved the pools which were all different temperatures, perfect after a day of skiing. To have a choice of different temperature steam rooms was a brilliant idea. We ate in the Hotel for 3 nights and were disappointed to find the Sushi bar closed - apparently only open in high season. The food was very good but the service at times a little erratic, there were either waiters all over you or nowhere to be seen - it is early days and I am sure they are sorting out any teething problems. Breakfast was excellent but sometimes the timing was a little too quick with the cooked option. We were very impressed by the cigar lounge and the amazing books. We would certainly return to the Chedi and to have somewhere that is so easy to get to for a weekend makes it very appealing.

Room Tip: We had a larger room overlooking the mountains which had a lovely balcony for afternoon sun .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain-Bachmann, General Manager at The Chedi Andermatt, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind note and for staying with us. We appreciate your positive Feedback and are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Chedi Anderrmatt in the not to distant future.

Sincerely,
Alain Bachmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We've been there in April in a very nice and big room. Everything is great, the spa (two hammam, two sauna, three small pools, a bigger pool, unfortunately a little too cold for us). The restaurant and bars are in the same high decoration level, the only low point is the service, quite disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OneAdvisedTravaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain-Bachmann, General Manager at The Chedi Andermatt, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing to us. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, the lap pool (35meters) is ideal for swimmers, well tempered at 27°C. For a more cozy feel we recommend our three warm pools in the Hydrotherapy, at 33°C to 42°C. I do apologise that the service was not up to standards, I will certainly address this with my team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Chedi Andermatt very soon and thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards,
Alain Bachmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have visited the hotel last weekend with my husband and the hotel is amazing, the rooms are amazing....also the spa experience including the massage was excellent. The room had a fireplace and you could control everything , ie blinds, lighting through an ipad!!!....It is very easy to get to Andermatt from Zurich, about 120 km....

The only negative was the fact that the staff do not always understand if you are talking in English ...Also even though you are responding in English, the next day the receptionist replies to you in German.....I would expect "The Chedi" to be more of an international hotel and not a local Andermatt one. I got the feeling that some of the staff think that they work at the local boutique Andermatt hotel which is not the case......


Also I had preoredered our breakfast on our last day because we were departing at 7am and would liked to have brown bread....the response was "sorry we do not have brown bread , only white...".I did not expect such a response given what we paid for a night....


Lastly the club sandwich at the bar was ok but a bit small, I was considering to order a second one.....


I am writing the above because I want to return to the Chedi again but with these small burtimportant changes I believe,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 713nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain-Bachmann, General Manager at The Chedi Andermatt, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear 713nat,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted that overall you very much enjoyed your stay with us. We do indeed have many Swiss employees (over 40%) which we are very proud of. Most of them do speak English. However, being an international hotel it could happen that some of the team do not fluently speak English but there is always a member of the team on hand who could assist. I am sorry to learn that brown bred was not available which of course should not have happen. The food concept in the bar is small plates 'tapas style', little snacks to accompany your drinks, so you may share a few plates among friends. Again, we truly appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards,
Alain Bachmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Andermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
The River House Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crown
Hotel Crown
#3 of 11 in Andermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Drei Konige und Post
Hotel Drei Konige und Post
#4 of 11 in Andermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Schlussel
Alpenhotel Schlussel
#5 of 11 in Andermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#7 of 11 in Andermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#11 of 11 in Andermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Andermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Andermatt

Property: The Chedi Andermatt
Address: Gotthardstrasse 4 | 6490 Andermatt, Andermatt 6490, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Uri > Andermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Andermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Andermatt 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine chic meets Asian zen Surrounded by the natural beauty of the Swiss Alps, The Chedi Andermatt offers an extraordinary blend of traditional local hospitality and Asian grace and elegance and sets new standards in the international luxury-hotel market. Be enchanted and inspired by this unique atmosphere. The Chedi Andermatt is both captivating and striking in its otherness - in the unusual combination of Alpine chic and Asian elements. Glossy Alpine wood, smooth leather sofas, over 200 fireplaces and numerous panorama windows offer a warm and cosy spot to linger a while. This perfect harmony bears the signature of star architect Jean-Michel Gathy and was planned and designed by renowned architecture firm Denniston International Architects & Planners Ltd. Located 1,447 metres above sea level, this five-star deluxe hotel enchants guests with its 123 elegant rooms and suites, meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology, award-winning restaurants and bars, a modern Spa and Health Club and a spa area that is probably unique in Switzerland - an oasis of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chedi Andermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing