We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, kind personnel, eighties look”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arbon
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Hotel is situated near railway and bus station. On the other side is Bodensee. Hotel has nice parking for those who came with car. It is suitably for guests who are on their trip and also for bussines occasions.
Hotel stuff is very kind and they help guests alot.
Hotel is clean, but here comes a biggest disadvantage of Metropol -> all things in hotel (rooms, beds, tables, windows...) are old and looks like from Russia in eighties.
Prices are very high.

Room Tip: All rooms are on lake side, so don't worry about the view. Check if room is big enough. Some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iztok G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Metropol is situated right on the banks of beautiful Bodensee, which you can see from every room and from the dining room. Nice rooms, good food (in the veranda - during spring and summer).Free car park. A wonderful promenade along the lake.Train and bus stations just across the road.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6campo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Just had 3 nights here at Hotel Metropol and it was lovely. Nice big room with good bathroom and fantastic view over the lake. Breakfast was fine. We only ate dinner in the hotel the first night but the buffet was really good - lots of salad, vegetarian food, chicken and fish, and deserts. We would happily have eaten here every night but we were on a works do and were taken elsewhere the other two nights.

The staff are really nice and everywhere is well looked after. Couldn't see anything that was dated, it was all perfect.

Nice outdoor space looking over the lake to eat and relax, pity the weather was so bad when we were there that we couldn't make use of this.

The hotel does have a weird electricity supply. The normal adapter plugs don't work and you have to get a special adapter from the hotel to put into the other adapter! We spent ages trying to find a plug that would take our adapter until I looked in the hotel book and realised we had to get a special one from reception.

The view of the hotel from the lake at the back does it no justice at all - it looks a bit like a concrete car park. The front of the hotel is better but just rectangular and modern. Not particularly inspiring if you like more traditional buildings but inside it is well looked after, clean and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor with a wonderful view but I think all the rooms have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The hotel is well situated close to the city centre of Arbon. The parking next to the hotel is free. Don't forget to ask for a permit at the hotel lobby. People in the hotel are very nice. Good service. The rooms a a little bit out dated. 'Nice green bathroom'. However evrything is really clean. The balcony is huge with a beautifull view (Bodensee).

Room Tip: The rooms at the back, with a 'sea view' are nice, specially the one on the top floor with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooss164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were riding late (motorcycles) and just took the first place we found which was Hotel Metropol. This is a good hotel - very good rooms, food etc etc ... however, this is NOT what two traveling motorcyclists are looking for. This is a business-man's hotel - not a tourist place in my honest opinion.
So, I am not negative about this hotel - AT ALL. The people are kind (maybe a little understaffed) and the facilities and location is wonderful. But next time we'll go to a place downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_Zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The Metropol was closed for about 1 year and has now re-opened under new management. Unfortunately they have done absolutely nothing to the hotel, so all my earlier comments (31 Mar 2011) remain true - a good hotel that could be great. Such a missed opportunity.

The staff however are great!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyReview186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just returned from holiday at Arbon stayed at Metropol 19th to 21 st July 12 i was there for a surprise 40 th birthday party .luckily when i arrived i had the good fortune to have the only lady who spoke English who booked me in i was on 5th floor in room 511 this was massive room with great views of Lake Constance .The room was in need of a face lift bathroom and furniture was very stayed .Hotel instructions was in German so i went to reception to ask for English version i was told by the receptionist (waiter) he did,nt understand but no they did,nt have one ,luckily as i was leaving lady with good english arrived and was kind enough to print me off a copy
I ate in hotel dinner and breakfast and found food to be very high standard

Room Tip: rooms below 5th floor are smaller but better all have lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeymike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbon
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bad Horn
Hotel Bad Horn
#1 of 1 in Horn
193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Seegarten
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Charme Romerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Park-Hotel Inseli
Park-Hotel Inseli
#1 of 2 in Romanshorn
47 reviews
2.3 mi away
Landgasthof Seelust
Landgasthof Seelust
#1 of 1 in Egnach
56 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Mozart Rorschach
Hotel Mozart Rorschach
#1 of 3 in Rorschach
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 49, Arbon 9320, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Thurgau > Arbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arbon
Price Range: £108 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropol 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing