We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-visit paid off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Resort Bad Ragaz
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bad Ragaz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I believe that everyone should have a second chance and we decided to re-visit Bad Ragaz in May. We were there for just 2 nights and it was a vast improvement from before.
We stayed in the Quelenhof part of the hotel, we stayed in a junior suite with a beautiful view from the balcony of the village and mountains.
The staff were more than helpful on this occasion and we enjoyed breakfast on both mornings. On the Sunday the legendary brunch was taking place so we ate at the Bad Ragaz restaurant. The brunch looked fabulous and we will return again to experience that!
We arrived at around 8pm on the Friday and went to the spa, it was so wonderful to relax in the warm waters and we were there till gone 10pm.
We spent time around the pool on this Saturday and the whole experience was very pleasant.
So glad to post this review, as we will return!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and it was a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Once again I have spent a perfect weekend trip to this fantastic Resort and Spa.
From the welcome until the departure was top notch organised. The staff are just outstanding in all departments. The room was very spacious and had a balcony with a view to the park, result very quiet. Great.
The buffet breakfast has everything to offer what you like. The eggdishes are freshly prepared and served in a perfect way. I had the possibility to participate at there traditional BBQ and it was the best I have ever seen. Lobster, Sushi, Sashimi, different kinds of salmon to to mention a few. The Grill station had the most wonderful Roaastbeef, cooked to perfection.
I really hope to have the possibility to go back there very soon to enjoy another relaxing time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolandZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We just spent a weekend at Grand Resort Bad Ragaz. We found the website a bit confusing when we made the reservation because there are several properties under the same website. After we got there we understood that the place is a group of four hotels: the Grand Hotel Hof Ragaz, the Grand Hotel Quellenhof, the Spa Suites and the Hof Ragaz Palais. We thought we reserved the Grand Hotel Hof Ragaz but we were assigned a room in the Hof Ragaz Palais, which is the historic building with only 14 rooms. Our room # 102 and the Hof Ragaz Palais are so charming! We never wished we booked at another of the 4 properties, especially because they all share the same restaurants and spa facilities.

Our had 3 separate rooms, including 2 full bathrooms with thick towels and high quality amenities, a comfortable living room and king size bed in the bedroom (actually made of two twins put together), 2 flat screen TVs, plenty of storage space in the bedroom's closet, a Nespresso coffee machine, plenty of fruit and beautiful orchids in the room, lots of windows and light, etc. Breakfast was at par everything else: plenty of top quality and fresh products, nice atmosphere, attentive but discreet service.

The thermal baths facilities are beautiful: more than 5000 square meters of private use for the 4 properties, plus access to the Tamina Therme, also wonderful public facilities (about the same size as the private facilities at the Grand Resort Bad Ragaz, just a lot more crowded), connected to the four 5* hotels. There are mineral water, tea, fruit, lotion, shampoo, creams and towels easily available everywhere throughout the spa facilities, even warmed towels! We had dinner at the Asian restaurant Namun and enjoyed the great atmosphere. We also appreciated that they let us use the themal bath facilities after we checked out and the free and punctual pick up and drop off at / to the train station.

Luxury is all in the details and Grand Resort Bad Ragaz exceeded our expectations. We definitely recommend and plan to return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heiranig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with my teenage daughter in the Hof Ragaz. It could hardly have started better as the free hotel pick up from the station was a Porsche and the driver ran to the platform to collect our suitcases. The service throughout was impeccable but also very friendly (not something the Swiss Germans are noted for ;-) Our room was spacious and super clean, large TV and nespresso machine. Both the gym and pool spa were great. We booked treatments at the attached but "public" Tamina Spa as they were cheaper there, though this spa was quite busy and as such not as enjoyable. For restaurants we ate in the Thai restaurant Namun and the Mediterranean Olives d'or. I've no idea is Namun is authentic but we found the food absolutely delicious and the staff were lovely. The Swiss / American lady who worked in the cocktail lounge was just fabulous as was the concierge who advised us very well on the mountain activities and Sandra on reception. They even take you to the Pizol cable car and collect you free of charge (in the porsches…)
There is a "but" though and other reviewers have referred to "what is this hotel"? It does feel a bit like a rehab centre / hospital (which it is!) They have special stands for your crutches in the restaurants which took some getting used to! The clientele was mature with very few families and younger or middle aged clients (and we were there in half term). It wouldn't stop me going back but it felt a bit strange. My abiding memory though will be their friendliness and helpfulness.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liesl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Young travellers beware, this hotel feels more like a geriatric community than a five star hotel. Going to dinner with out your cane or crutches is a major faux pas. All the rooms have amenities that make it feel like a retirement community and there is even a hospital attached to this hotel...need I say more. So, unless you have just been injured in a sporting accident and are recovering or are immobile for other reasons, this may not be your place.

That being said, the hotel and resort offer your standard Swiss five star amenities and comforts.

The food is relatively good and at least there are lots of restaurants to choose from.

The treatment I had at the spa leaves a lot to be desired. I booked a lomi lomi massage (I know, my fault for booking a Hawaiian treatment in the heart of the Alps) which felt more like a Heidi Heidi massage.

The hotel boasts several different pools, though again most of them are filled with senior swimming groups.

Nice place, though maybe more appropriate for retirement.

Stayed: December 2013
4  Thank PCS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Wonderful hotel, with incredible plusses, however, we were really disappointed with the hautaine attitude and lack of genuine service mentality of the gentleman at the reception. You would expect better from such a high end establishment. Too bad!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziggy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed at Quellenhof at Grand resort Bad Ragaz this spring. I have to say without doubt this resort is exceptional. A true paradise whether you travel as a couple, single or with family. We had a well appointed and spacious room, very well designed bathroom and the amenities were outstanding.

The Thermal Spa which is private for the hotel guests is one of the best Spa facility in the world.The public water park which is attached to the resort is also great fun, though we spent most of out time at the hotel Spa.

The hotel has been renovated but still preserves its old world charm and grandeur in design. A lot of the staff has been there for long and service is confident and not overly intrusive.

We dined at the Abtestube by Roland Schmid. What a dining experience! The food was outstanding and the service was seamless.One of the highlights of our stay. The hotel offers many dining options to all tastes and you are bound to be spoilt to no end.

The serene resort surrounded by the calms of the Swiss Alps ,A professional golf course that adds to its beauty. Even if you aren't an avid golfer you could still try your hand the the little putt and chip course in the hotel grounds.

Overall, I would recommend This resort to all who love great Spas and innovative luxury in an old world setting!

Do make a visit and I assure you you will keep coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Ragaz
0.2 mi away
Sorell Hotel Tamina
Sorell Hotel Tamina
#1 of 11 in Bad Ragaz
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Ragaz
Hotel Schloss Ragaz
#3 of 11 in Bad Ragaz
199 reviews
1.1 mi away
Swiss Heidi Hotel
Swiss Heidi Hotel
#1 of 4 in Maienfeld
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 5 in Vaduz
376 reviews
17.3 mi away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
15.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Waldhaus Flims Alpine Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Resort Bad Ragaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Resort Bad Ragaz

Address: Bernhard Simon Strasse, Bad Ragaz 7310, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Bad Ragaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bad Ragaz
Price Range: £380 - £594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Resort Bad Ragaz 5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling amid mountain scenery, Grand Resort Bad Ragaz is situated in the Heidiland holiday region of Eastern Switzerland. Europe’s leading wellbeing and medical health resort, which dates back to 1242 when a body-temperature thermal source was discovered and which has been honoured as “Switzerland’s Best Wellness Hotel” (SonntagsZeitung, 2017), offers an extraordinary and authentic spa experience. The health resort is supplemented by the internationally renowned Medical Health Centre, as well as the Swiss Olympic Medical Center. In 2014, the outpatient medical were expanded to include an inpatient rehabilitation clinic. Two luxury grand hotels – Quellenhof & Spa Suites and Hof Ragaz – offer 267 luxurious rooms and suites for guests. Seven restaurants, a bistro, bars and a cafe provide a huge range of culinary diversity. The resort also boasts a new golf clubhouse, two golf courses, the Kursaal Business & Events Center, a broad range of cultural activities and its own casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Resort Bad Ragaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing