We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worthy of 3*”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Weymouth, Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not worthy of 3*”
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We stayed here as part of a tour group. It has a great location, and we were not bothered byt the noise, even though our room overlooked the station (my husband was very pleased as he could watch the trains from the balcony!) The bed squeaked, and the hot water took ages to come through. Also the walls were thin and you could hear
your neighbours in the shower or snoring!. The shower has a pathetic spray, and the breakfast was limited in choice, though the rolls were good. The evening meals were good. Ideal stopover hotel or use as a base if you're out all day.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catsmother19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    20
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
3
39
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

The location of the hotel is excellent. Noise from outside did drift in. The 1930's interior has seen better days unfortunately. The once rich decadence is as faded as the plastic flowers. The room was very cold and the heating did not work. The bed had an annoying squeaking which woke me up several times. The breakfast was limited in choice but what was there, was fresh and tasty. At best the hotel was clean. The rest, in all fairness, was past its prime.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tievie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

We booked the Hotel Victoria based on the great reviews in tripadvisor and they were all confirmed. This family run hotel is directly opposite the main train station which is very convenient, the only down side is that you do hear all of the announcements through the day, but most of the noise ceases around 7pm. The staff provide excellent service and can not help enough. The town is full of bars, restaurants and cafes so you won't go hungry. The hotel has a restaurant and bar but we only had coffee and a drink in the bar so can't comment on the food in either. What we can comment on is the truely wonderful breakfast, freshly baked bread, cheeses, cereals and fruit. Best coffee on our trip. There was a market held mid week that was magic - clothing, food, wine, cooking demonstrations. We were visiting in the pre ski season so the town was pretty quiet but I'm sure it fills to capacity later in the year.

  • Liked — Service & location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

I have been staying at the Hotel Victoria every year for the past 10+ years. For me, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Valais if I had a choice. If you are looking for a clean, cozy, inexpensive place to stay, I highly recommend it. The owner, Reto Steiner, and his staff have always made me feel welcome and one of the family, and are always ready to help with any questions about tourism in the surrounding area. And I only wish I could get those delicious rolls and butter that they serve for breakfast back home in NYC! It's also one of the best hotels in Switzerland for the railway enthusiast, as it sits directly across the street from the Swiss Federal Railway station, as well as the meter gauge station of the Matterhorn Gotthard Bahn. This makes for easy travel to Zermatt, the Rhone Valley, the Goms, the Centovalli, the Bernese Alps - practically anywhere you want to go in Switzerland. They also have wonderful rooms with terraces overlooking the MGB tracks so you can sit and watch the action. Non-railfans need not worry - their trains don't run at night, so you will rest soundly! To me, this lovely hotel is truly my home away from home, and nothing makes me happier than walking into the lobby on another vacation!

  • Liked — cleanliness, friendly staff, proximity to railway station
  • Disliked — front door is locked overnight
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank swissrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England, U.K.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2007

Very Shabby and needs refurbishment and upgrade, the hotel is not worthy of 3 stars.

Room was dingy, smelt of cigarrete smoke, shower leaked,
staff were not friendly.

A very poor breakfast, dinner passable, but staff did not appear smartly dressed or professional.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank pixted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brig hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
peterborough cambs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2006

Shabby and Tatty needs complete renovation, bedrooms small, stained carpets and furniture, no lounge or area to sit within hotel. Shame as an ideal location for the station.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank sch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brig hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#1 of 16 in Brig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#5 of 16 in Brig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#1 of 5 in Naters
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#2 of 16 in Brig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Pont
Hotel Du Pont
#4 of 16 in Brig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Art Furrer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 2 | 3900 Brig, Brig 3900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Brig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in the heart of the Swiss Alps. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing