We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but overall service was sad”
Review of Hotel Simplon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Simplon
Ranked #6 of 11 Brig B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Sad to say this well positioned hotel seems to lack the atmosphere we saw in other Swiss Hotels. Staff seemed uninterested and only one had any idea of courteous service. The breakfasts were quite basic too.
However, the evening meals were excellent.
Nice little balcony in our room, but it overlooked a bar next door that was showing the world cup so it was noisy till late, but that may not be a regular problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 521JonathanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Now staying at the hotel Simplon in Brig (4 July). Found the staff to be very unfriendly, not like other hotels no "hello or had a good day". Staying with the Great Railway Journey and cannot believe we have to order our evening meal TWO days in advance, then to be told please try and remember what you ordered. The rooms are acceptable for a budget hotel and the location is good. Breakfast is just acceptable.

Not a hotel we would stay in again - sorry

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Convenient place in the centre of the town. Good food and helpful staff. My room was comfortable and the shower room very modern. As a solo traveller I had a room at the front, overlooking the square. Because of the acoustics of the tall buildngs voices carried and it was noisy, especially on the Saturday night. Rooms at the back had small balconies. I stayed as part of a tour group and was on the second floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back unless you are night birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJJ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Like many other reviewers, we stayed here during a Great Rail Journeys tour. It's a really well-run family hotel and we would recommend it to anyone. The food was good and our room (402) was spacious and comfortable - good bed, nice sitting area and balcony. One or two of our fellow-travellers who were on the top floor did comment on limited headroom and slight problems with water pressure, but on the whole everyone seemed very happy.
The hotel is well located and the staff were pleasant and helpful - all in all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VoyageurAnglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Visited on a Great Rail Holiday. At dinner on the first night, it started to snow and by the time we went to bed, it was laying quite well. Very early next morning we heard a rumbling noise, and discovered 2 small snowploughs zipping around the square. From our vantage point on the top floor we could see just how efficiently the snow was dealt with. The Room was comfortable and clean with plenty of cupboard space and a sitting area. The beds were comfortable with the usual deck chair rack system to lift the head. The Bathroom was also clean with a good shower once you got the hang of it. The food was of fair standard and the general facilities good. The Hotel isn't quite at the top of the town but in a semi-pedestrian area that is an easy walk up from the Station. All in all a decent place to stop for a few days.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Well-run family hotel in the heart of Brig. We visited as part of the Great Rail Journeys Glacier Express winter tour and very much enjoyed our stay here. Free wifi available in the reception area brought us together in groups each evening rather than logging-on in our rooms, which was nice. The room had a curious layout and the bedclothes hard to fathom but it worked and we had a great time. The meals were superb and the staff very friendly and efficient. Location in the town centre with an easy walk to and from the station was excellent. We were in the roof so the room will have been smaller than lower floors and the "balcony" was very small, but the view superb!

The décor and style of the interior was really good and modern and in excellent condition throughout.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 405markw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel as part of the GRJ trip on the Glacier Express in winter. This is a really good hotel and the rooms are neat and tidy, spacious and well presented. We stayed in room 402 and although this room has that floor's fire escape door through it this door cannot be accessed by anyone unless the fire alarm has been activated which only then unlocks the door so please do not be put off by other reviews which mentions this as a negative aspect as it is not a problem at all. The food is excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Thanks to Andrea and her son for running such a pleasant hotel and which is only a few minutes walk from the station.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeT150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brig hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#1 of 16 in Brig
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Art Furrer
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#2 of 16 in Brig
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Good Night Inn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Pont
Hotel Du Pont
#4 of 16 in Brig
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#5 of 16 in Brig
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simplon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simplon

Address: Sebastiansplatz 6, Brig 3900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Brig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brig
Price Range: £115 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Minotel Brig
Brig Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing