We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review of hotel”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“review of hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel is close to the station.
The room I had was a double for the price of a single room and had everything I wanted including quite nights.
The staff all spoke English and were very friendly and helpful, the owner even found time to talk to me on a night when the restaurant was very busy.
The restaurant was very good and the Chef was happy to modify the menu to suit my more plain English tasts despite being very busy.
Switzerland is an expensive country but The Ambassador was what I expected to pay in that country.
I can recommend this hotel with no reservations

Room Tip: My room was on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    129
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
61
151
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amenia, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We booked into another hotel in Brig and discovered on arrival that it backed onto the main road over the Simplon. We went to the tourist office, explained we wanted something quiet (at least); that we didn't expect a Swiss-themed hotel. There was a brochure for the Ambassador there and we asked about it. The called and the hotel had room and we went to look at it. The owner greeted us and showed us one of the rooms they had available––which turned out to be the model room for the renovation that will be undertaken this year (from November for two months). Clean, modern, well-equipped, and with sound-isolating windows and doors it was perfect for us. Although one is in town we had views of the mountains and geraniums on the balcony! The couple that run the hotel were terrific––she is Italian, he is Swiss. They seem to speak all languages (we speak Italian) and really make an effort to make one feel at home. He saw me reading a newspaper in the hall and encouraged me to take it wherever I wanted; she always greeted us warmly and answered questions easily, naturally, and frankly. As a courtesy (they had rescued us from a worse fate) we had dinner that night in the hotel and then did so again on the night before we left: it was really good. We particularly admired a dish called "La Pocheuse" made from local, fresh-water fish––but the French-style beef stew was also great. There is clearly a gifted chef in the kitchen. Be aware: this is a three-star hotel (not deluxe international) in a small border town but it is a rare pleasure to be in a place where the owners live upstairs and care about their hotel and its guests. This is not a chain. It has its limitations if you think you want something that looks like a chalet in the forest––but remember, Brig owes its place to being a transit center and this is the kind of travelers' hotel from another period: run efficiently and affectionately by its owners. If the rooms are restored to the level of the room we stayed in, we think it will be highly desirable. (It may even punch up a level?) Brig is an interesting town, too. It is not a tourist town like Zermatt or St. Moritz. It has a fascinating monument in the Stockalper Palace and it is a good base for visiting other parts of the Valais minutes by foot from the station.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor (36) with a balcony. When the hotel is renovated they will (or so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed one night in Brig before taking the Glacier Express to Chur.
The hotel is walking distance from the station in a quiet street. We got a very nicely done corner room on the second floor. It had wooden floors and the furniture looked very new and stylish.
While the bed was very comfortable the pillows were mushy. The bathroom was modern.
The breakfast room had character and the breakfast was good.
We felt that we got good value

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farmaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

A warm welcome from the proprietor followed by an excellent evening meal was a great start to our 2-day stay there. Breakfasts were simply superb, with a great selection of dishes available for you to chose from. The hotel is not centrally heated and the furniture in the bedroom was a little old, but the bed was very comfortable and i would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Yes it's a stroll from the station but on level ground and not too far. An old building but imposing and a warm welcome was had from the reception. Reflections of a German hunting lodge maybe? Then too our room, the second floor and frankly a big disappointment. No hunting lodge theme here, in fact no theme at all. A bleak bare room, there was a Tv and a lamp, one chair I think and an old table all items I would have consigned to the dump 20 years ago. There was wifi but acquiring it had been consigned to dealing direct with the suppliers. It is beyond me how hotels think they can get away with this level of comfort(?) and still charge like a wounded bull. It was clean and the beds were ok but how the Ambassador got to be the No1 hotel in Brig is a real mystery. Don't leave the upgrade any longer and be very careful with your hotel choices in Brig.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ozpromoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiavenna, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed one night in Brig before crossing the Sempione border with our car loaded on a train. it was quite late when we got there but we still found somebody welcoming us. The room and the bathroom were nice. The parking place is just in front of the hotel (outdoor)
Breakfast was international and pretty rich, just the dining room looks a little "old-fashioned".
Room very clean and pretty nice, matrasses comfortable.
Staff was really nice and helpful with directions as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel as we were so pleased first time round and loved the atmosphere. Its only a short distance from the railway station on a quiet street, so we got a good night's sleep (despite the carnival celebrations going on at the time!). We found it to be a friendly, family run hotel providing a very efficient service. The room was well priced, clean, comfortably furnished and was more than adequate for our needs. We stayed 3 nights half board which proved to be excellent value for money - the restaurant food and service was top quality, far exceeding our expectations. Breakfast was also very good with a wide variety of items to choose from. Will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brig hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#2 of 16 in Brig
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Good Night Inn
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#1 of 5 in Naters
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#5 of 16 in Brig
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Pont
Hotel Du Pont
#4 of 16 in Brig
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#9 of 16 in Brig
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Saflischstrasse 3, Brig 3900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Brig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive and immediately feel at home. The rooms are individually designed, Spacious and Bright. Exclusive boxspringbeds provide you with restful sleep. The hotel Ambassador has a quiet central location 200 metres away from the train station in Brigue with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Brig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing