We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding little Hotel”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding little Hotel”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a fantastic family run hotel close to Brig Bahnhof. The rooms are of a five star standard and excellent value, I was in a suite and would highly recommend it to anyone.....comfortable beds, amazing shower & bathroom with excellent Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant is also very good but quite expensive (although this is normally the case in all Swiss hotels).

I travel a lot on business, and normally stay in built for purpose business hotel chains, however this is far superior to your standard business hotel, and it has all the extras one needs.

Room Tip: Look for one of their suites...............I was on floor 4 (top floor), and they do not cost a fort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_F_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    127
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
61
148
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed one night when in the area to see the Matterhorn. We were well cared for in a way that was very personable and attentive. The hotel was very clean, comfortable, and lovely. Our room was modern, with a comfy bed, sofa, coffee, tea, TV with plenty of English-speaking channels, and sparkling bathroom with built-in hair dryer. The meal in the dining room was excellent and we were provided with a special request above and beyond. Though restored, the hotel's public rooms maintain a wonderful Swiss character. This hotel is within easy walking distance of the train station and all of the town shops. The town of Brig is within easy train distance from many great sites, such as Zermatt, the Matterhorn, glaciers, and many ski destinations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ringwood hampshire uk
Level Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We came here on a Treyn tour via the glacier express. A family owned hotel with a high standard for food rooms and proximity to the train station. Stefan the owner gave us a super welcome. The meals are imaginative and tasty. Well furnished double room with tea and coffee maker. British tv channels and even an international adapter plug. They thought of everything. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it highly

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliwoollacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Very friendly staff, wonderful food would recommend this to everybody. Can't wait to go back again. Great location. Near railway station and shopping centre. Homely, friendly atmosphere. Nothing too much trouble for the staff and management.

Room Tip: One with lounge and en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel for five days. First floor room spacious and with two TVs plus coffee making machine. Evening meals of very high standard, food well presented. Convenient for station and town centre. Treyn Holidays award. Hotel has been refurbished and is very comfortable. Bar needs staffing better.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kingfisherpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,655 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Ambassador hotel, to our pleasant surprise, turned out to be rather better than we expected. Our accommodation was splendid with large main room, a small lounge with settee and workspace, and a spacious bathroom.
The main room had a King-size double bed, wardrobe and a large HD TV that was wall-mounted to view from the bed. We never watch TV in bed so we had to move two armchairs for conventional viewing. There were wonderful views of the mountains to the south and the Simplon Pass. There was a tea and coffee making machine that used capsules. Two capsules of each of four types of beverage were complementary. If you want more, they cost CHF 2 each at reception.
The small lounge area had a second TV, wifi access and even a ready-made power adaptor for foreign visitors with different kinds of plugs. It provided me with a very useful work area. The view from the window was of the mountains to the east and the Furka Pass.
The bathroom had a hair dryer, spare toothbrushes, throwaway razor and good shelves to put ones toilet paraphernalia on. Sadly the towels were pretty thin.
The room was serviced very well - even on Christmas Day.
The public areas of the hotel had a gemütlich quality with dark furnishings, rugs, solid rustic tables and upholstered chairs. Upstairs the corridors were bright sunshine yellow with attractive prints on the walls.
Breakfast was not too brilliant but adequate. The rustic loaves were superb.
While we had a superb room, those who were in single rooms complained that they were much too small.
The hotel has its own car park on a next-door lot. It is 6-minute walk to the station.
Separate review on the Cheminots restaurant.

Room Tip: 18, 28, 38, 48 are large rooms with southern aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Normanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metz, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I booked online for a quiet weekend for my wedding anniversary. As soon as I told them it was our anniversary they upgraded our room for no charge. We had a cheese plate delivered to the room which was DELIICIOUS. We also arrived early and there was not an uncomfortable feeling that I sometimes get when asking for an early check in....no problem at all. The woman at the front desk were so nice! My husband and I will stay here again when we travel to brig. As for the restaurant, it is a bit pricey, so we didn't eat there but I can say, after seeing the other restaurants around the town the menu was very nice. I think we'll try it next time when we have a little more € in our pocket;)

Room Tip: It's about 2-3 blocks from the downtown with free parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brig hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#2 of 16 in Brig
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Good Night Inn
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#1 of 5 in Naters
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#5 of 16 in Brig
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Pont
Hotel Du Pont
#4 of 16 in Brig
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#12 of 16 in Brig
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Saflischstrasse 3, Brig 3900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Brig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive and immediately feel at home. The rooms are individually designed, Spacious and Bright. Exclusive boxspringbeds provide you with restful sleep. The hotel Ambassador has a quiet central location 200 metres away from the train station in Brigue with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Brig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing