We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treyn rail trip”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Certificate of Excellence
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Treyn rail trip”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly place and staff. Eat there too for an unforgettable experience excellent food. Unusually big rooms of quality. Spent two days there while taking in the Matterhorn, which is a must. Usual high prices for wine, so buy your own from the Coop supermarket up the town.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DaleCallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    125
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
60
145
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderfully friendly staff and manager. Very accommodating when we needed to add a room last minute and leave our car overnight while we took a trip on the Glacier Express.
This hotel has a wonderful restaurant attached to it as well as fast and free wifi and breakfast buffet. Would easily recommend this hotel to friends

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank acme20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Good location, clean hotel, spacious room, good breakfast, courteous staff.
The triple room which we had was excellent, with the third bed in a separate enclave with its own tv set so that all 3 persons could watch at the same time on even different channels.
The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood, yet near to the railway station. We also enjoyed taking a stroll around the surround areas. We enjoyed the breakfast which was simple but with good choices.

Room Tip: The hotel is close to the railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I travel 30 weeks a year, so I know good and bad hotels. this is a friendly spot you can bring the family. stayed in the jr suite rm 43 and it was quite nice, save a view on a side building that was not so good. bathroom nice marble, modern. staff are the way you expect them to be in a 4 or 5 start...but in a 3 star....food in dining room was excellent, event the children menu had an impressive schnitzel dish, aside from the traditional nuggets and pasta. highly reccomended !!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Un-prepossessing building from the outside, extends even to the small Reception but don't be deceived. This hotel is a true gem. My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in early March and had a truly memorable and enjoyable stay.

The hotel is well located for train travellers and just a 5 minute wolf from the main square in Brig. We had booked a deluxe room which was of an exceptional standard with every conceivable extra for a comfortable stay. Comfortable bed; huge LED tv with all UK terrestrial channels and several more English ones; tea and coffee machine; modern bathroom with a huge double walk-in shower; and free wifi.

The restaurant offer quite wonderful food only exceeded only by the attentive and friendly service. On both nights we ate there, the restaurant was full but we seemed to be the only residents. It's always a good sign when the locals eat there. It is quite expensive by British standards but truly excellent with a wide range of choices including many local and national dishes. The cheese fondue was particularly good and very good value. The owner and his staff are without fail, both courteous and helpful.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfscrimgour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a fantastic family run hotel close to Brig Bahnhof. The rooms are of a five star standard and excellent value, I was in a suite and would highly recommend it to anyone.....comfortable beds, amazing shower & bathroom with excellent Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant is also very good but quite expensive (although this is normally the case in all Swiss hotels).

I travel a lot on business, and normally stay in built for purpose business hotel chains, however this is far superior to your standard business hotel, and it has all the extras one needs.

Room Tip: Look for one of their suites...............I was on floor 4 (top floor), and they do not cost a fort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_F_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed one night when in the area to see the Matterhorn. We were well cared for in a way that was very personable and attentive. The hotel was very clean, comfortable, and lovely. Our room was modern, with a comfy bed, sofa, coffee, tea, TV with plenty of English-speaking channels, and sparkling bathroom with built-in hair dryer. The meal in the dining room was excellent and we were provided with a special request above and beyond. Though restored, the hotel's public rooms maintain a wonderful Swiss character. This hotel is within easy walking distance of the train station and all of the town shops. The town of Brig is within easy train distance from many great sites, such as Zermatt, the Matterhorn, glaciers, and many ski destinations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brig hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#2 of 16 in Brig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#5 of 16 in Brig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#1 of 5 in Naters
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Pont
Hotel Du Pont
#4 of 16 in Brig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Good Night Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#12 of 16 in Brig
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Saflischstrasse 3, Brig 3900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Brig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive and immediately feel at home. The rooms are individually designed, Spacious and Bright. Exclusive boxspringbeds provide you with restful sleep. The hotel Ambassador has a quiet central location 200 metres away from the train station in Brigue with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Brig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing