We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well run hotel worth visiting”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a well run hotel with the manager on the ball and paying attention to detail.
Modern well equipped hotel with everything provided, including a plug adapter for our UK plugs.
Comfy beds. Very good food and super service.

Some traffic noise, inevitable given the location,, which is very convenient for the railway station and the centre of the very nice town of Brig.

we were booked as part of the package so cant comment on the price..

Room Tip: Rooms vary so worth enquiring about the rooms that are on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamishX9876Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed for two days in this small comfortable hotel with lift to 4th floor. It is located a short walk from the railway station in the centre of town. The owner and staff are outstandingly helpful and take a personal pleasure in fine dining - and a good breakfast if you have room for it! They are Treyn Silver Award winners for 2012 for food and dining and deserve a Mich Star.
Bathroom is a bit small for double occupation but all facilities are modern and stylish.

Room Tip: Front rooms might have some traffic noise - as trains run down the nearby street - but it didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly place and staff. Eat there too for an unforgettable experience excellent food. Unusually big rooms of quality. Spent two days there while taking in the Matterhorn, which is a must. Usual high prices for wine, so buy your own from the Coop supermarket up the town.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DaleCallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderfully friendly staff and manager. Very accommodating when we needed to add a room last minute and leave our car overnight while we took a trip on the Glacier Express.
This hotel has a wonderful restaurant attached to it as well as fast and free wifi and breakfast buffet. Would easily recommend this hotel to friends

Stayed: March 2014
Thank acme20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Good location, clean hotel, spacious room, good breakfast, courteous staff.
The triple room which we had was excellent, with the third bed in a separate enclave with its own tv set so that all 3 persons could watch at the same time on even different channels.
The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood, yet near to the railway station. We also enjoyed taking a stroll around the surround areas. We enjoyed the breakfast which was simple but with good choices.

Room Tip: The hotel is close to the railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I travel 30 weeks a year, so I know good and bad hotels. this is a friendly spot you can bring the family. stayed in the jr suite rm 43 and it was quite nice, save a view on a side building that was not so good. bathroom nice marble, modern. staff are the way you expect them to be in a 4 or 5 start...but in a 3 star....food in dining room was excellent, event the children menu had an impressive schnitzel dish, aside from the traditional nuggets and pasta. highly reccomended !!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Un-prepossessing building from the outside, extends even to the small Reception but don't be deceived. This hotel is a true gem. My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in early March and had a truly memorable and enjoyable stay.

The hotel is well located for train travellers and just a 5 minute wolf from the main square in Brig. We had booked a deluxe room which was of an exceptional standard with every conceivable extra for a comfortable stay. Comfortable bed; huge LED tv with all UK terrestrial channels and several more English ones; tea and coffee machine; modern bathroom with a huge double walk-in shower; and free wifi.

The restaurant offer quite wonderful food only exceeded only by the attentive and friendly service. On both nights we ate there, the restaurant was full but we seemed to be the only residents. It's always a good sign when the locals eat there. It is quite expensive by British standards but truly excellent with a wide range of choices including many local and national dishes. The cheese fondue was particularly good and very good value. The owner and his staff are without fail, both courteous and helpful.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfscrimgour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brig
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#2 of 16 in Brig
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#4 of 16 in Brig
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#1 of 5 in Naters
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Good Night Inn
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Pont
Hotel Du Pont
#5 of 16 in Brig
55 reviews
3.9 mi away
Spa Hotel Salina Maris - Wellness & Vintage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Saflischstrasse 3, Brig 3900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Brig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Price Range: £97 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive and immediately feel at home. The rooms are individually designed, Spacious and Bright. Exclusive boxspringbeds provide you with restful sleep. The hotel Ambassador has a quiet central location 200 metres away from the train station in Brigue with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Brig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing