We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Upgrade”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Fantastic Upgrade”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Lovely hotel in a good location in Brig. We were fortunate enough to be given an upgrade to a suite which was beautifully decorated and very comfortable except for the pillows. My daughter had a single room which was small but comfortable. The hotel is very well priced with free wifi and free parking. Continental breakfast was quite good but I am missing my fried eggs on toast.
Reception staff were very proffesional and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    130
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
61
153
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here one night during our driving tour of North Switzerland arriving from Chur via awesome alpine passes and scenery! The Hotel is a great find, as other reviewers have already said. Our room 18 was impressively large and high ceilinged with a study area complete with second TV! It was well furnished contemporary style with a comfy bed. No airconditioning might be a problem in high summer. We ate dinner outside at a lovely Bar Restaurant Conti in Furkastrasse 14 (not on Tripadvisor's list)
Breakfast was excellent and the lovely receptionist was very helpful in advising us of train times for our trip to Zermatt.
Entry via steps could be difficult for "oldies" (like us!) with heavy cases. There is a lift and the free parking and WIFI was very welcome.

Room Tip: Room 18 had a bath and study area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisbj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

stayed 2 nights last week end as part of Treyn's Glacier Express Holiday. A compact clean and tidy hotel with hands on owner and very friendly staff. Probably most friendly staffed hotel in which I've stayed. Excellent food. Well located for proximity to Rail station from which there was minimal noise. I recommend it. Close to centre of town. Nice town as well..

Room Tip: nothing more to add what I've previously stated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our one night in this hotel was my best sleep in all of Switzerland. The rooms are very nice with contemporary style, comfy beds, nice big towels, and it is nice and quiet at night! After being in Wil, with church bells waking us up starting before dawn it was so nice to sleep all night and wake up with the sun up. The owner of the hotel is very nice and we stayed up talking to him for quite a while. Very interesting to speak to a local about Switzerland and the best conversation we had the entire trip. Thank you Stephan for the birthday glass of champagne! Next time we are in Brig we will definitely stay at your hotel again. The Ambassador is slightly away from the hub of the main part of Brig, but within easy walking distance of all the restaurants, shops, things to see and the train station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnnbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Ambassador Hotel in Brig was, by far, one of the best accommodations of our 10 day stay in Switzerland. It's an easy 5 minute walk from the train station and the town center. The owner was super friendly and helpful. We were traveling in mid May before the high season, so she upgraded us to a superior room. But I suspect the whole establishment is top notch. Our room had the most comfortable bed in Switzerland, sumptuous linens, a well-appointed bathroom, a flowered balcony with a lovely view of the town and mountains, AND an espresso machine with several complimentary coffee/tea pods! Don't know if all rooms have one, but we gave ours a workout.

The breakfast, which was included in the price of the room, was very good. Lots of choices for every taste from warm, fresh-baked breads, rolls, and croissants to eggs and bacon. There's also an espresso machine in the breakfast room, so go for it! Brig may not be a well known tourist destination, but it's a great place to stop on your way around the mountains. Walking through the town center and its residential streets is a feast for the eyes. The city seems made for living a good life.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a well run hotel with the manager on the ball and paying attention to detail.
Modern well equipped hotel with everything provided, including a plug adapter for our UK plugs.
Comfy beds. Very good food and super service.

Some traffic noise, inevitable given the location,, which is very convenient for the railway station and the centre of the very nice town of Brig.

we were booked as part of the package so cant comment on the price..

Room Tip: Rooms vary so worth enquiring about the rooms that are on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamishX9876Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed for two days in this small comfortable hotel with lift to 4th floor. It is located a short walk from the railway station in the centre of town. The owner and staff are outstandingly helpful and take a personal pleasure in fine dining - and a good breakfast if you have room for it! They are Treyn Silver Award winners for 2012 for food and dining and deserve a Mich Star.
Bathroom is a bit small for double occupation but all facilities are modern and stylish.

Room Tip: Front rooms might have some traffic noise - as trains run down the nearby street - but it didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brig hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#2 of 16 in Brig
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Good Night Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#4 of 16 in Brig
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#1 of 5 in Naters
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Art Furrer
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#8 of 16 in Brig
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Saflischstrasse 3, Brig 3900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Brig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive and immediately feel at home. The rooms are individually designed, Spacious and Bright. Exclusive boxspringbeds provide you with restful sleep. The hotel Ambassador has a quiet central location 200 metres away from the train station in Brigue with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Brig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing