We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schlosshotel Art Furrer
Nearby Hotels
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Alex(Naters)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adhhoc Hotel(Naters)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
18
27
27
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
27
27
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsimposing castlewonderful viewtrain stationroom keyshort staythe ownerswitzerlandmountains
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We just had one night here but if we ever return to Brig we would stay again. Two twin rooms as they did not do family rooms. There was a lovely self swrvice bar based on an honesty policy with fantastic views of the town and mountains. The Stockalper palace gardens were right outside the front door so the kids could loose off some energy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawkesburyCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Have stayed here previously and again en route from France to Italy via Simplon Pass. Noticed a slight improvement in décor, colour co-ordination and fitout. Marked improvement in Continental Breakfast and quality of customer service by owner. This hotel is in a 1970s time warp but in a quirky way - we like it! The room was located on level 3 overlooking the adjoining gardens and castle. The location of this hotel is its best attribute - close to shops, restaurants, view of surrounding mountains and glacier. Also convenient to the Simplon Pass and northern Italy. An unusual aspect of our room was that it had a shower in the entrance corridor - it was like showering in a cupboard in open view! For all its faults we would continue to stay here for the convenience. We understand management is gradually refurbishing the rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a high level room, overlooking the castle, beautiful gardens, glacier, mountains and a view down the valley.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RplusS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This is a very clean, relatively traditional Swiss hotel which we booked online the day before. It is well signed, with ample parking. We stayed 1 night on our way for a day's skiing in Zermatt, which is about 40km away. Brig is a very pleasant small town with an imposing castle and a series of cobbled streets with smart shops and a wide range of bars and restaurants. The hotel is spotless and our superior double room was spacious, with two single beds pushed together. The highlight was the top-floor lounge and honesty bar, which we had to ourselves after a meal out. There is free wifi in this area, with an imposing view over the castle and gardens. The automatic light is on a short timer, and regular movement is required to keep the lights on! Breakfast is typical of smaller Swiss hotels, with good bread and coffee. All in all, a very pleasant short stay, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the castle
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I don't know who rated this hotel just a 3 Star, it is far better than that!! The new we were comming and had prepared reception. They were friendly and quick to assist and the room was spotless. This is a 4 star place. our room over looked a garden and lacked nothing. It was spacious and well layed out. WiFi was included, and was offered during check-in. Car parking was convint and breakfast was great.
A perfect base to day trip to Zermatt and surounds

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the park
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpy_Old_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights recently and thought it was great.The rooms were reasonably spacious,very clean,with good views,the staff friendly and helpful.It is less than 10 minutes walk from the station,also very close to the local pool if you like to swim(or enjoy the waterslide). The breakfast was okay, no hot food, but you can eat outside on the terrace if you wish.They do have a few things I found quite unique,like just hanging your room key up at the front desk as you leave the hotel(it is not always attended),also a help yourself minibar on the top foor which you just pay for at the end.There are some fantastic walking areas close to Brig. One example is to try Fiesheralp or Bettenalp for some outstanding day walks to the glacier,or Zermatt( for the Matterhorn) is about 1 hour away by train.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews