We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view - Fine Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brunnen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Lobby is somewhat small but a look into the Dining Room with its high 6m ceiling and Glass fronts promises class and old-fashioned luxury. Rooms are of modest size but comfortable, clean, and they give out to a spectacular mountain - and lake panorama. Beautiful new Spa and Sauna.
The best way to arrive is by Steamboat from Lucerne. Admittedly it takes a full 2h but this is well worth it. Plan excursions to the Devils bridge near Andermatt, learn about Suvarows battle against the Napoleonic army, take the gondola up to Urmiberg, Visit the 'Gruetli' (birthplace of Switzerland) and hike to Seelisberg and to Morschach.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view (Churchill stayed here)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

I've visited the Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen over one year ago and had a very good experience.
The staff was very nice and we felt welcome to the hotel, the hotel bar is small but adequate. The location is what makes this a very special place, with fabulous views all around the hotel.

All in all, a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apcampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a super stay at the Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen with 3 adults and a child. the service is extremely hospitable and the rooms spacious and very clean. The morning breakfast is a good spread and staff that is attentive to special requests. starting at 7-11 you dont feel rushed to get up and you dont have to wait too long if you wake up early.The view on the lake view is worth the extra money and the balcony although very tiny, a perfect treat for early risers. If you are planning a one time visit and dont mind the splurge Seehotel is worth every coin, for a memorable experience.

Room Tip: I really suggest the lake view because of the spectacular location. that said, the rooms are large a...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamConstantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We enjoyed every bit of our week-end in Brunnen and would like to thank and compliment the staff for their professionalism and kindness.

YES: room with a view....definitely upgrade for a lake view. You'll be mesmerized, no matter the weather - of course, waking up to a sunshiny day will be even more spectacular.
YES: the SPA.... with a view. Small but exquisite.
YES: the feel good feeling
YES: the brunch.... one can spend hours savouring the richest offer of breakfast, cold meats, cheeses, carvery, desserts. If needed, it's ok to go out for a walk and return for more.
YES: dinner in a rather tranquil setting with a very attentionate service, good food and a rather interesting wine list
YES: the treatments were delightfully relaxing.


So so: there is a smoking lounge opposite to the elevators that take you to the rooms and the main staircase. The public areas are a bit smelly (but it does not affect the rooms or the restaurants).
So so: it's an old building meaning that you can hear the footsteps of those who lodge above you.
So so: no plugs besides the bed... a problem if you want to charge your phone/iPad while surfing the news before going to sleep

Room Tip: Room with a view...you won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyberntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed there for one night only, but had a very nice stay. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet great and the location is superb. The only reason I don't award top points is that I still consider the room a bit pricey, but I would nonetheless recommend anyone to stay there. I was there a few months ago for two nights on a business trip, and it was equally good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We liked everything about this hotel except a few small things. Actually, they kind of added up enough for me to drop my rating from very good to average. The hotel just costs way too much for the 'little stuff' to happen.
First the good - beautiful rooms, well decorated, window in the shower to see the view too! It's right on the lake and practically at the boat dock. Unfortunately, our day of arrival was windy and the boat docked a few minutes walk away. Still, very convenient. The staff are professional and helpful. The hotel is beautifully maintained.

The internet can be a hassle, especially with multiple devices. Supposedly, you sign in with your phone and the texted code is good for all devices. We never got a text so had to have the front desk give us separate codes for the phone, IPad, computer etc. And then you have to enter it each time you wake the device up. A real pain. Not one device was able to remember the code on the device. Or the system didn't allow it.

Be aware there will be many many groups in and out for either overnights or conventions/meetings/seminars. The hotel really works at this and it can be disruptive, even in late October. The lobby will get crowded at check in/out time and the breakfast room is small and somewhat cramped. The food is excellent. The bar is really only for smokers - it really stinks in there. There is no bar (except outdoors!) for non smokers. The smoke wafts into the hallways. You have to use the hallway where the bar is to get to the lobby and front entrance.

We didn't leave on a great note - we had to arise at 4am, and the shower was cold. Not warm, cold. With 24 hours of travel ahead of us, not showering wasn't an option. It was brutal. The complimentary van wasn't available at 5:30am so we took a cab, very short 11 franc ride to the train station. Overall, we still loved this place, but for the extremely high price even in October, the 'little things' should be taken care of.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JH928S4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen enjoys a brillant location in the center of Switzerland and close to the historical place - the Rütli meadows. Unfortunately they do not deserve the 5 stars because they do not make any efforts to make you feel in a 5 stars.
The welcome: no welcome.
Nobody says "Welcome to our hotel". So after a long trip, you do not get a friendly face. Very few personal, all very young without experience.
The rooms are done in a very quick way so hygiene and organization is not 100% perfect.
Because of the tourist boats arriving daily to the location from the Waldstaettersee (Lake of Lucern), all the ground floor is invaded by hundreds of tourists using the toilets. I let you scent the smell of a heavy used toilets just near by the breakfast room. At the breakfast room, there is only one lady doing the tables cleaning (that does not tell you hello) and another running to bring you a coffee. Again lack of people.
My last night, the entire ground floor smelled cigar and tobacco as their fumoir does not have an appropriate ventilation.
Last but not least: I ordered room service. When the lady arrived to bring me my meal, she filled the air of my room with the bad cigar smell as she probably brought my diner from the ground floor. I needed to open the window of my room for several minutes in order to get the smell away. So please avoid this place as the owners are lazy and expect to get the customer's money without making any efforts at all.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the lake
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunnen
0.1 mi away
Schmid und Alfa
Schmid und Alfa
#2 of 4 in Brunnen
75 reviews
6.1 mi away
Park Hotel Vitznau
Park Hotel Vitznau
#1 of 6 in Vitznau
319 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Vitznauerhof
Hotel Vitznauerhof
#2 of 6 in Vitznau
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Swiss Holiday Park
Swiss Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Morschach
299 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seminar- und Wellnesshotel Stoos
8.9 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 16 in Weggis
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen

Address: Waldstaetterquai 6, Brunnen 6440, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Schwyz > Brunnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brunnen
Price Range: £186 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldstatterhof occupies a captivating and awe-inspiring location on the cusp between Lake Lucerne and Lake Uri, surrounded by a beautiful private park and with views of the Alps of Canton Uri. Situated within sight of the historic Rutli Meadow, this place awakens memories of the Swiss Confederation's Genesis back in the mists of time, interwoven with myths and legends. This is a place that's imbued with energy in the midst of an archaic, natural spectacle encompassing mountains, cliffs, water and wind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Waldstatterhof Brunnen Hotel Brunnen
Seehotel Waldstatterhof Hotel Brunnen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing