We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Auberge du Grand Paradis
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Suisse(Champery)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le White Hotel(Champery)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel des Alpes(Champery)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Lodge(Les Crosets)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
18
8
3
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
8
3
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble bedswiss chaletchuckpisterunsnowsummer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed as a family in feb last year- obviously there has been a change of ownership from earlier poor reviews. We had a lovely time. Cool, tasteful decor in boutique style environment. Great food. Chuck and Juliet were lovely. Chef was amazing. Our 3 boys loved the pasta dishes cooked especially for them because they mentioned they liked pasta. Evening meals were super. Breakfast is basic but pleasant. Cooked option would be nice start to day. Location at the end of a red run is good for intermediates And above. Not great resort for beginners due to absence of accessible nursery slopes or blues. Great for intermediate and advanced. Think poor reviews should be removed as they do not relate to current owners.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I spent 2 nights at this newly renovated Auberge (opened Dec 2011). Having read the terrible review by someone in 2010 I realised the property has changed ownership, and felt obliged to write in case somebody has read it recently!
The owners Juliette and Chuck have spent time and effort restoring it to a Swiss Chalet with open fire, wooden period features and updated with chic cow hide chairs mixed with leather. The best recommendation is the food - fab-u-lous. Lunch is typical Swiss norm - wild mushroom tagliatelle, croque monsieur etc, but come the evening their Al la Carte is to die for. Currently it has an Autumn menu of various game options - the pigeon salad and chèvre salad are to be recommended.
Definitely returning in the ski season with a lift almost at your door.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ketchupfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Had a superb mountain biking weekend. Arrived very late but owners made a super fondue at 11 pm and were very generous and accomodating. Great for summer and will definitely come in the winter as location at the bottom of piste is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clamcontrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Our group rent the WHOLE hotel during 2 nights.

All of us around 30 year old people, responsible, trusty and polite, from Switzerland, Spain and France.
Our friend the 30th birthday we were celebrating, had arranged half board + special conditions for drinks during the night (paying a fee per bottle, we could bring our bottles).

Food was ok. But staff very stressed and stressing also.
You have there most obligations than rights.
Owners were always discussing regarding the bills and suspecting us to drink more than paid (even when it was under the full control of their own waiver!!).

The owner (Paul?), couldn't stop talking about himself and money money and money, interfering in our private conversations. But worst, showing clear agressivity when the least thing was not going as per his wishes. He asked us how we could come to a hotel without cash, because we only had Credit Cards (that they supposely accept, by the way)...

Once more, we are very respectfull but we also are customers and the owners did not show, at any moment, ABILITIES to run a customer-oriented business.

In a restaurant we had the opportunity to talk about this hotel and the way we were being treated there, with the staff.
After a while, they told us that indeed, all the feedback they had received for this hotel was the same: unpleasant and complaints since this people from UK had taken the business over.

So: Avoid this hotel that seems to be a good deal.

At end they do not respect
- their committments (remember the "we accept your bottles against a fee? Well, not accepted the day of check-in...good, isn't it?),
- your privacy by always interfering in the group

and they care only about their personal interests Vs. those of the customers thinking that all we want is to steal them when our only objective is to spend good time and bring them business.

We even invited them to a cup of Champagne, but in return we got nothing.
We were only trying to relax and also get them more relax.
But nothing improved...

All of us agreed on the fact that the experience was nefast, even older people ... and all of us use to travel a lot...

Our Friend who was celebrating her 30th birthday even cried so stressed she was because of the organisation and the owners' behaviour.

At end, we decided to boycot the hotel's drinks.

They lost at least 60% of their potential benefits during those 2 days, and we were having our our drinks on the parking :-)

Regarding the rooms ... fine. I would rate 1*/2** out of 5.
Shared Bathrooms cleaniless 2/5.
Breakfast: 2.5/5 not so bad...but once more, at 09h35 you are charged for 1 cafe + 1 croissant cause at 09h30 sharp, the service stops, Other good point / customer focused when you are 30 people ....

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivier_MAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

The accommodation itself is quite nice, clean and spacious....but...it is too far from the village of Champery and if the Grand Paradis lift is closed ( which it is, if windy)you are reliant on the buses which are unpredictable.The hotel owners do not offer to help you get in and out of the village...even when buses arent running.Too quiet for families.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SkiierEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews