We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and a warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Auberge du Grand Paradis
Ranked #4 of 5 Champery B&B and Inns
Champery, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb food and a warm welcome”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Champery has several good restaurants, but the Auberge is still something special, with a varied menu that's uniformly excellent despite its variety. The tagine is particularly notable, and the dessert that gives you a selection of several different sweets is divine. The atmosphere is warm, lots of wood, and the hosts, Chuck and Juliet, are first class.

On a sunny day the outside terrace is great - and in the winter, you can ski down to it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Well that's what you would call it if it was in England. Absolutely loved it. Can appreciate why others have niggles about it but for us it was perfect. We had room 2 which had an ensuite bathroom. And the real plus was it was only 11 steps from the lovely heated boot room to the bedroom! Rooms are very warm and cosy. If you are looking for a hotel which has 5-star service and a soul-less atmosphere then this is not it. If you want something small, friendly with open fires and where you can feel at home then this is it. Chuck, Juliet and the staff are there whenever you need them and you just have to ask for anything you need. Some guests complained about the noise from other rooms but it is an old auberge with lovely wooden walls and floors so, really, what do you expect. Anyway, everyone tends to get up around the same time and go to bed around the same time so it really isn't an issue.

The restaurant deserves a special mention. I can honestly say it is the best food I have had anywhere in the world in a long, long time. If you are staying, make sure you let them know if you want dinner as it got full every night. It is about 1 mile from Champery town centre, we had a car so it wasn't a problem but you would need to get a taxi if you wanted to spend an evening there. During the day isn't a problem as you can get the ski bus. This is ski in/ski out with the slope coming right past the hotel which takes you down to the main lift which is great. As far as we could see this is the only ski-in/ski-out hotel in Champery. We spent New Year's Eve there and had a great time; superb meal followed by champagne and fireworks. It's not particularly cheap but when you consider everything it has and its position it's well worth it.

Chuck can recommend a ski hire shop in town which I have to say is the best I have come across in over 20 years of skiing. They will also deliver your equipment to the auberge and pick it up again at the end of your stay.

We drove from Kent and I think it took about the same time as a flight but much less stressful and meant we could just chuck everything into the car and go. Would I go back? Definitely!

Room Tip: Room 2 on ground floor has ensuite bathroom and is only 11 steps from the boot room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AR&RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The auberge is located close to the Grand Paradis lift in Champery and provides great ski in/ski out access to the portes du soleil ski area. Stayed for a long weekend in the top floor apartment with three other friends on a ski break in March. The Auberge is immaculately clean and the food as part of our half board package was excellent. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKtravelMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Our visit was 6th to 10th Feb 2013. Really easy to book. Chuck (proprietor) collected my business colleague/pal and me from the station (no charge) and returned us there for our return. Ignore the old reviews of this hotel - it has all changed - but people have not realised yet. Prices are sure to rise as the word spreads....

The new management are absolutely brilliant. They are from England and have entirely refurbished the building. They are really driven people, who will go to any lengths to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms are lovely - rustic, spacious and comfy.

Access to the ski area is very easy. If you are blessed with good snow, as we were, you ski 2 mins to the main lift and you are up high in the Portes du Soleil within a few minutes. If the snow is thin or if you are not a confident skier, the main lift is only a few minutes walk and you can get back down on that lift. Chuck and Juliette can sort out your ski hire too - no mucking about queuing up or trying to get to the shop and back. The hire shop proprietor collected us, fitted us and then returned us to the hotel - really easy.

The free wifi was extremely useful. We were able to run our business with ease after we had finished skiing each day.

But then the best bit - the food. Really spectacular. A fantastic chef and all very reasonably priced.

To summarise: imagine an atmospheric mountainside gourmet restaurant, with amazing food, excellent service and nice bedrooms, positioned near a ski lift run by people who want you to have a great time - then you've got it! - Simon Pitchers

Room Tip: Room 5 is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon-Pitchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The auberge is located just above the Grand Paradis lift at the end of a long red run down the mountain. It attracts a very busy apres-ski clientèle with many Brits and friends of the house. The chalet has a stylish and quite funky decor, with a large restaurant/bar and a cosy snug with open fire and leather sofas. One of the sofas is regularly occupied by a huge and very calm natured St Bernard and there is another elderly Labrador wandering around to add to the homely feel.

The food and service in the restaurant are great with a nice seasonal menu including local dishes and more varied dishes. The lamb tagine was a particular favourite. The wine list had quite a few Swiss options of which the local whites were the best choice available

The accommodation consists of about eight rooms on two floors. These all have private bathrooms, but only some are en-suite. We did not know this in advance so were unprepared to have to dash across the corridor to reach the bathroom. One easy improvement could be to provide bathrobes for guests. The rooms themselves were nicely decorated in a simple style and the beds were comfortable. However the traditional wooden chalet construction with thin panel walls meant that there was a lot of noise heard from neighbouring rooms, the staircase and other guests returning late at night. So it was not the most peaceful night's sleep.

Breakfast was quite basic (just orange juice, cereal, yoghurt, uninspiring bread and croissants) and thus disappointing compared to the high standard of the dinner.

Generally we enjoyed the lively atmosphere, but at times it felt that things on the accommodation side were less well organised than they should be for the rates being charged.

Room Tip: Check if your room is en-suite or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmsc_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Located at the end of the road in Grand Paradis, the Auberge has a great location for "apres-ski" at the bottom of the run. Fun sunny terrace great for apero after the last run or divine for lunch. With new owners Juliet and Chuck the buzz is here not only for the cuisine which is tops now, but also for the warm welcome by all the staff, top wine selection, and fun events from wine tastings to New Years Eve. Summer dining delightful under the stars... Only eight rooms so book ahead. The two rooms on the top with ensuite bath are my pick. Easy for skiing the Portes du Soleil's many lifts by using the chair to get up- two minutes walk. Summer hiking, mountain biking, tennis and more.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with baths great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barefootsusyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed as a family in feb last year- obviously there has been a change of ownership from earlier poor reviews. We had a lovely time. Cool, tasteful decor in boutique style environment. Great food. Chuck and Juliet were lovely. Chef was amazing. Our 3 boys loved the pasta dishes cooked especially for them because they mentioned they liked pasta. Evening meals were super. Breakfast is basic but pleasant. Cooked option would be nice start to day. Location at the end of a red run is good for intermediates And above. Not great resort for beginners due to absence of accessible nursery slopes or blues. Great for intermediate and advanced. Think poor reviews should be removed as they do not relate to current owners.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Champery hotels
1.0 mi away
Art.Boutique.Hotel Beau-Sejour
1.6 mi away
Le White Hotel
Le White Hotel
#3 of 9 in Champery
44 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel National Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#6 of 9 in Champery
50 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Atelier Gourmand
L'Atelier Gourmand
#3 of 7 in Champery
14 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palladium de Champery
Palladium de Champery
#3 of 5 in Champery
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Auberge du Grand Paradis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Auberge du Grand Paradis

Property: The Auberge du Grand Paradis
Address: Grand-Paradis, route du 33, Champery 1874, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Portes du Soleil > Champery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Champery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a fantastic venue summer or winter, we are situated on the only ski run back to the beautiful village of Champery a ski-in ski-out hotel with a large restaurant/bar area as well a sunny terrace. During the summer Champery is a charming biking and walking haven. In the winter we are ideal for large groups for three, four or seven days we can arrange for pick-ups from Geneva airport. We have ten cosy rooms with five bathrooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing