We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great!!!!”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Champery
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just Great!!!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Lovely clean friendly good bar great breakfast, right bang in the middle of a lively Swiss town with lots of lovely restaurants not all of which are really expensive, some are quite reasonable (relatively speaking).
Staff helpful and welcoming, they organise our lift passes without a hitch and the boot room is great. The hotel is just across from the bus stop to the cable car.
Afternoon tea great.
I will be back.
If you don't like it here then go somewhere else to be an expert critic!
Some complain about there being no restaurant for evening meals in the hotel,.... well, if your legs are broken and you cant get across the road to one of the many recommended restaurants then you are in the wrong place anyway.

Room Tip: All rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    20
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
11
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in late February. Champery is a chocolate box Swiss village and the hotel is in keeping with this. Our room,facing onto the Main Street with a small balcony, was spotlessly clean and cosy. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and welcoming and seemed to genuinely care. Afternoon tea/ cakes are a real treat and breakfast was equally excellent. Overall an extremely relaxing and enjoyable break in a lovely part of Switzerland. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We booked the last 3 bed room , 2 adults on teenager for half term ski .
+ Staff very helpful. Rooms clean comfortable .Lounge , Central location . walk to station 10min
Good buffet breakfast . Ski Tea time , Ski and boot room adjacent to Berra Sport .
= Price , mid range . ( 3 of us £180 pn B&B )
- A bit dated , thin walls ,no restaurant , .

The evening dining is a drawback , the majority of Champery dining is quite high cost Swiss Meat n' Cheese stuff , although there is the reasonably priced "Pub" just along the street . ( £30 head evening meal) Nothing in Hotel .

Room Tip: In town ,,,,makes little difference Villiage or Mountain view 3rd bed was a put-me -up ....but co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, UK
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My brief stay here was fine. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful and my room was spacious, cosy and comfortable and had a balcony. The bathroom was also well equipped. Wifi worked well. The hotel does have very limited facilities, for example no restaurant for meals other than breakfast, but if you're happy in a simple place then it's a homely spot to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights off season during a business trip. The service from the hosts was excellent, and genuinely could not have been more helpful to me and my colleagues. Facilities were good. Hotel is a trad style Swiss chalet. It was very clean, spacious, bed was very comfortable and standard of room was good. Hotel is close to railway station and cable car into mountains. Breakfast was continental and more than adequate.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron28QC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a few days to do some skiing, and picked this hotel as we were struggling for availability.

Staff externally friendly and helpful, and could ask them anything.

Breakfast was very good for a ski resort, plenty of breads, jams and those sorts of thing, but also provided a hot breakfast too, generally entailed beans eggs and possibly some bacon. Best thing about this hotel.....when you've been skiing all day and you return to the hotel in the late afternoon, there's cakes and teas all out for you to enjoy at your leisure. Brilliant touch.

Rooms were nice and adequate, didn't feel like I was saying in the Savoy, but definitely wasn't a hostel either.

Location, I thought was mixed. It's bang in the middle of the town, which is great to get to bars restaurants etc, however it's a 10 minute walk to the ski lift as the lift seems to be on the outskirts of the town.

Price, I thought was quite expensive, we would normally pay this price If there were other hotels available.

Champery, is a nice little village, but there's very little going on. There's the bars sitting there for people to go into, but just didn't seem to have anyone to fill them. We found one random night club on the main street and it was packed, we couldn't understand where everyone had come from, but after that.....no where no be seen again. As far as skiing goes, it's a reasonable place, but if you really want top level skiing and parks then work your way over to Avoriaz, where I think it's unreal.

Overall, this was a lovely hotel, and didn't everything we needed, however not sure if I would stay here again at hat price.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyquattro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We recently returned from a four day skiing break with friends. Between us we have 4 teenagers. Hotel Suisse was a last minute booking and I am glad we opted for this one. Christophe and Elisabeth are friendly and knowledgable hosts who have a very good team working for them. Without exception the staff are all helpful and pleasant.
The rooms vary a great deal in size but ours were all fine, not very big but adequate for a stay where you are only using them to sleep. Friends who had a corner room on the first floor found the room chilly but all others were warm and cosy.
Whilst the hotel does not serve dinner the staff can easily recommend places to eat and have a book with all restaurant menus for you to browse. We enjoyed all the restaurants we visited.
Breakfast is good, plentiful and varied but best of all are the afternoon teas served between 4pm and 6pm. Delicious cakes for everyone to enjoy when they come off the slopes tired and hungry.
Being right in the centre of Champery it is easy to get around and even walk to the cable car, although there is a very short free bus service.
Walking in the area is excellent and my friend and I enjoyed a long walk from Champery, across the River and up onto the mountain ending in descending at Les Bain and the new thermal baths at Par Therme. That was fun!

Room Tip: Phone Christophe and ask him.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Champery hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel National Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Art.Boutique.Hotel Beau-Sejour
0.4 mi away
Le White Hotel
Le White Hotel
#3 of 9 in Champery
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Plein Ciel
Hotel Plein Ciel
#4 of 9 in Champery
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Petit Baroudeur
Le Petit Baroudeur
#1 of 7 in Champery
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Atelier Gourmand
L'Atelier Gourmand
#3 of 7 in Champery
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: rue du Village 55, Champery 1874, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Portes du Soleil > Champery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Champery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Suisse 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This "charming-hotel" has 40 rooms, fully equipped with bathroom, TV, telephone, wifi and balcony.The "Bar des Guides" is the meeting place for after sporting activities in a relaxed atmosphere.In the living room and the conservatory, you can enjoy the calm and peace, while tasting the sweetness of a tea and treat yourself to our delicious homemade cakes.Two rooms ensure the success of your seminars or conferences that we will organize as needed.The Hotel Suisse and it's team look forward to your future visit in Champéry! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Hotel Champéry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing