We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Planning to come back next year again”
Review of Chalet des Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalet des Alpes
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Planning to come back next year again”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

At the very last minute we decided to have some holidays to Switzerland. We wanted to stay at a small town with enough opportunites for walks in the mountains, for some sightseeing in cities and visiting the thermal baths. No hassling with having to arrange some shopping for breakfast and a comfortable bed. It is all there. Nice town, good and comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. The BnB is run by 2 friendly down to earth people who are always quite willing to explain the best walks nearby, interesting places to visit and so on. We like to thank Gary and Karen for their hospitality and are definitely planning a next stay in Chalet des Alpes. Good services/room/breakfast considering the price you have to pay. We didnor rate upon Room Service, Spa or Swimming pool, cause it is not relevant in this case. Room service : you can order drinks. "Just knock on the door and Gary and Karen will help out". Restaurant = diner in the evening arranged by Gary and Karen. 4 days during the week, you have the option to order a meal in the evening in the guest room.

Luba and Peter

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterandLuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bourguillon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2011

This is the second time that we have stayed with Gary and Karen, both times have been fantastically relaxing experiences .
The first time we went with my parents who used to run a hotel and have extremely high standards that Gary and Karen met and exceeded at every opportunity.
The sitting area where we all played cards as a family whilst having our afternoon homemade cake and coffee every day remains my highlight, though the excellent evening meals run it a close second.
Very friendly, spotlessly clean and full of local knowledge of the best places to ski and how to get to the hot baths, cant fault anything about the experience and have already booked again for next season.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissgrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We had a lovely stay - the breakfast was great, the rooms new and clean, and Gary and Karen are accomodating hosts. It is a few kms from Crans Montana, so as skiers means getting into the car each day. However, we would definitely recommend for a quiet alternative and good quality at a lower cost to central hotels and b&bs.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickHugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garyt123, Owner at Chalet des Alpes, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review; Karen and I are very grateful. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in our beautiful Chalet, away from the hustle & bustle Crans Montana. Hopefully, you will come back in the summer and enjoy some of the stunning walking and mountain bike paths that start from the Chalet door. Our village (Lens) looks very attractive in summer with all the window boxes and flowers in bloom.
You are correct that a car is useful here, but it is not vital. The nearest ski lift is just a 10-minute / 5 km drive from here. There is plenty of fairly cheap parking at all the ski lifts in Crans Montana. A car does give you more flexibility to come and go as you please. In the summer a car is advantageous to explore the many wonderful places within an hour or 2 of Lens.
Just one point to note: Lens is on a regular bus route from Sion railway station to Crans meaning a car is useful but not essential. The bus stop is only a 5-minute walk from our front door.
It was great to meet you both and we wish you all the best for the future. We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Gary & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Chalets des Alpes is a very nice place to stay; the rooms are comfortable and very clean.
Gary and Karen are very helpfull in advising nice trips in the neighbourhood. Their hospitality is very good! They make you feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmiel, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We enjoyed every minute we were there. Meal, atmosphere and cleanliness , generous brightly. We received offers hiking tracks - each track is adjusted to our request with a precise intention.
Highly recommend this pastoral place - far from the city bustle, but close enough for interesting site.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amit1055118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod USA
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We spent 2 days at Chalet de Alpes in early Oct. 2009, we had some family business in Sion to attent to. Our only regret is that we did not have more time to spend at Chalet de Alpes. Gary and Karen are wonderful hosts, the facility is new, spotlessly clean and exactly as depicted on their website. Outstanding mountain views and the village of Lens is very charming. When we return to the Valais, hopefully soon, we will make Chatet de Alpes our home base.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capeguy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Gary & Karen made us feel very welcome always on hand to offer advice. Plenty of good food on offer, Chalet spotless (keep up the good work you two!) Awsome scenery. We would definatly would book again and we will spread the work here in the UK. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crans-Montana hotels
2.4 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
#2 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
#10 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Crans Ambassador
Crans Ambassador
#3 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Prairie
Hotel La Prairie
#12 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel de la Foret
Hotel de la Foret
#19 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet des Alpes

Property: Chalet des Alpes
Address: Chemin de la Freha 33a | Lens, Crans-Montana 1978, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Crans-Montana
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Crans-Montana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing