We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel deserves more stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guarda Golf Hotel & Residences
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My stay at this hotel has been spectacular. Guarda Golf is easily one of the top 3 hotels I have stayed at around the globe in the last 5 years.

We traveled with a two year old, in search of a well-balanced resort where we could enjoy a few days of skiing but also find things to do with a toddler. Our expectations were more than exceeded by the Guarda Golf.

The hotel's location is good. It backs onto a golf course, which during the winter is covered with snow and used as a cross-country ski and hiking trail. There are big expanses where you can build snowmen and go sledding (the hotel lends you sleds) with the kids. It is also easy (~100m) walking distance to shopping areas that have a supermarket, COOP, Post, drugstore, regular shopping, and high end shopping. The hotel was happy to drive us to more shopping areas closer to Montana. If the snowy backyard with the Alps views is not enough to wipe out the kids, there is a playroom in the hotel stocked with drawing supplies, books, games, toys, and a DVD player.

For the days we skiied, the hotel arranged a baby sitter who was kind, professional, and most important -- our child liked a lot. The hotel drove the 5min to the rental place to arrange our ski and boot rentals, stored everything in the staffed ski equipment room, drove us to the gondolas, picked us up from the gondolas, and returned us to the hotel.

We used the restaurant several times during our stay -- breakfast, dinner, room service, and snacks/drinks at the lounge. The food was exceptionally good for all instances. Steak was as good as New York City's best steakhouses (up there with Del Frisco's and Sparks), and breakfast croissants just as good as Paris' best.

We also used the spa and received massage treatments -- again, excellent and befitting a 5 star resort. We were amazed at how efficiently they had packed multiple treatment rooms, a heated lap pool, a hot tub, lounge area, dry sauna, and hamamm into a space that did not feel small or cramped. There is even a golf practice swing net in the gym, with good quality clubs from Cobra.

The staff is very attentive without being over the top. It was very easy to arrange a car pickup from the CFF station at Sierres (the driver came to our platform to help with luggage). The hotel manager introduced herself to us, and over our stay we saw her repeatedly walking around all parts of the hotel checking in with staff and guests.

Without any planning for it, we threw quite a few challenges at the hotel staff. First, my mobile phone died, and I had to procure a USB cable to revive it. The hotel had a wide variety of mobile-phone IT cables and chargers, and immediately provided me with one.

Second, our child became ill right in the middle of dinner one night at the hotel's restaurant, from a stomach bug picked up earlier in town. After we returned to our room in a hurry, the staff packed up our food onto a room-service tray and brought it up to our room; any portion that was ordered but not yet received was left off the bill. Housekeeping was very accomodating and helpful in working around us.

The next morning, the staff drove me to the pharmacy so I could pick up everything I needed, and helped with translation. The hotel manager went out and purchased easy-to-digest toast for our child to eat while she recovered.

All in all, I cannot say enough good things about the Guarda Golf and its staff. I have skiied Zermatt and Chamonix -- though not as huge as Zermatt, and not as much of a "party nightlife scene" as Chamonix, Crans-Montana is much more family friendly while still delivering a quality experience. (For example, there is even a small children's ride area in town.) I felt that the Guarda Golf not only tolerated small children, but actively welcomed them, providing our two year old with her own bathrobe, slippers, and a plush toy.

We will definitely be returning here soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here for one week for a family skiing holiday. These people know how to run a Hotel. The staff are well trained. The Hotel is beautiful. The rooms are well appointed, warm and immaculately clean.
The Hotel provide a shuttle service to any of the ski stations in the area. Ski hire and lift passes were all organised by the staff making for an easy start to the holiday.
My only suggestion would be for the pianist to turn down his speaker a little! The piano playing is a bit too loud for comfort in the bar.
Highly recommend this Hotel. Have already booked a return trip.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank RIB999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Excellent service that I have yet to experience anywhere else. The owner/manager went out of her way to assist us. It felt as if we were honoured guests! Your stay is made as effortless as possible. They anticipate your requests which allows you to enjoy the hotel, skiing and the beautiful atmosphere. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend this 5 star hotel to others. You will most certainly feel pampered.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewtoGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Fantastic rooms where every detail is well thought. Great amenities. Great vues of the Alps as promised. Excellent food and service. All in all a class act. Very good location. Would come back every time we are in the area. The negative comment on trip advisor is incomprehensible.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank letoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Everything was a delight. The design, the spa, the breakfast...and the smiles. Great team! It is a small hotel with the service worthy of a palace.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbaracatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My family and I returned here in January. While I enjoyed our last stay, I think the hotel has stepped things up a notch; everything was spot on, service-wise, and the rooms and facilities as perfectly suited to my taste as last time. It feels like the operation has matured perfectly. Since moving to Switzerland, we're skiing somewhere new every weekend, more or less; Guarda Golf stands out so far as our favorite. BRAVO!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahaguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

A better location than the Crans, an equisite spa, and a great view on the golf. Those are the 3 criterias where the Guarda beats the Crans.
In terms of service, they are both exceptionnal, with great teams.
The rooms have a contemporary design at the Guarda, which works great, even if I prefer the Chalet style of the Crans.
The Bar and the restaurant are the weak points. They ought to become Crans's meeting place for happy fews, a bit like the Lobby of the Gstaad Palace, instead of that, they are killing it by charging simply crazy rates. The wine list is clearly too expensive, 30% more expensive than the Palace for the same bottle. The Food is very good but also expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mowbray_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crans-Montana hotels
0.7 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crans Ambassador
Crans Ambassador
#6 of 41 in Crans-Montana
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Prairie
Hotel La Prairie
#4 of 41 in Crans-Montana
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Helvetia Intergolf - Hotel & Apparthotel
0.5 mi away
Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours
Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours
#8 of 41 in Crans-Montana
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Golf & Palace
Grand Hotel du Golf & Palace
#27 of 41 in Crans-Montana
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guarda Golf Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guarda Golf Hotel & Residences

Address: route des Zires 14, Crans-Montana 3963, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Crans-Montana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
Price Range: £321 - £3,057 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Guarda Golf Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guarda Golf Hotel and Residences is a five star superior resort. Open in summer and winter, it is set in the beautiful mountain landscape of the Valais Alps. With just 25 rooms and suites, as well as 8 private residences, it offers a warm, intimate ambiance. 2 restaurants and an ultra-modern Wellness & SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Guarda Golf Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing