We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it, perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crans Ambassador

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crans Ambassador
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
Certificate of Excellence
Châtel-St-Denis
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved it, perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We arrived with 4 kids for a long ski weekend in March. Highlights of the excellent service we received:
1. They unpacked the entire car for us, including full ski equipment for 6 people, while we enjoyed a welcome drink and welcome gifts for the kids.
2. The receptionist overheard me mention to my husband that I needed to find a bank to get some cash, and made the transaction for me there on the spot.
3. My husband forgot his ski pants and didn't want to spend the 600 CHF they were asking for a pair at the ski boutique, so they went into town for him and picked up a pair of pants at a local ski shop for 20 CHF!
4. We went out for dinner at a local italian restaurant, and they drove us down in the hotel van. We could have walked, but the kids really appreciated the ride.
5. On the day of our departure the car was out front, packed, and ready to go...so nice when you have 4 kids in tow.
6. Freshly made waffles and pancakes at breakfast.

As other reviewers mentioned, the hotel is a short 2 minute walk from the slopes The pool/spa area was ultra-modern and relaxing. The kids had great fun swimming each day we were there.
The only negative point I can think of is the room service menu...not very many basic items for hungry kids who were too tired from skiing to go out for dinner. We ended up eating minibar nuts!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    42
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
59
85
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Based upon experience, I always though that the legend of Swiss hospitality was a myth from past generations, but the Ambassador in Crans has proven me to be completely wrong.

Seven years in renovation this hotel is truly something special. From the thoughtful, attentive, youthful and enthusiastic (and beautifully trained) staff to the exquisite attention to detail in every part of the décor, this hotel sets the standard for all to follow. How many hotels do you know where the doorman takes time to talk to you dog!

The rooms are a comfortable size and beautifully designed with careful attention to just about every aspect. My partner and I spent the whole stay, saying ‘heh that’s a good idea’ or ‘that’s really thoughtful’…. E.g. An artfully concealed rubbish bin in the bathroom; a pull out tray to make tea/coffee making easier (note: espresso machine), masses of storage, a very comfort and extra wide arm chair, movement sensitive night lights (no more tripping over the laundry on the way to the loo in the middle of the night)…I could go on.

By way of example, even the clothes hangers had pretty little bows tied to the hook.

The décor is what I call ‘Ski Brown’ but done with such panache, that it looks great. I sense a few of the ideas will be making an appearance quite soon in a residence not to far from my normal abode. The huge television melted into the background.

The rooms are absolutely silent and the view from the balcony, equipped with great quality table and chairs, is spectacular.
I challenge you to use all the electric sockets on offer ~ no more crawling on the floor looking (hoping) for a free socket.
Intelligent lighting.
When was the last time that your hotel had a turndown service?

We were told that the owner was passionate about the renovation. He must be really proud of the final product.

We enjoyed the hotel bar and restaurants. The food was good, but the service was so exceptional that it almost did not matter. A good selection of regional wines. Breakfast not as comprehensive as some, but more than adequate.

Free Wifi ~ medium speed
I found the bed a little firm for my liking, but others slept well.
Dogs not only allowed, but also really welcomed (dog bed and bowls in room upon arrival). I don’t think I have seen so many dogs gathered in one hotel. Word must have already got around.
Nice spa facilities including heated swimming pool.
Great location for skiing (150x to lift) and locals walking.

Four or five nights at the Ambassador for skiing or a summer mountain break, is about as good as it gets and damn the expense.

Room Tip: Be sure to pay enough to get the mountain view. Floors 6 or 7 best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I went with a large group we had a brillant time in this top hotel, very close to slopes, view to die for in the morning as you over look the alps. Room was a little small so worth upgrading but that was only thing

other pluses - ski shop next to hotel door, ski lift 5 mins away so almost ski in ski out

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejbennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was one of the best hotel experiences while staying in a ski village. The staff was young, fresh and extremely attentive to all of our needs. The great services started while making the reservation all the way to the final drop off by the hotel shuttle. I worked with a women by the name of Anne to make the reservation and she went above and beyond to ensure everything was prepared for our special weekend. The entire staff was fantastic - from the reception team to the bar manager, waitstaff and room service team. Highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a high standard hotel without the stuffy feeling that sometimes surrounds 5-star hotels.
Thanks again Crans Ambassador for an incredible stay!
Jordan and Lisa

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JordanN2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The Crans Ambassador has a fabulous location. Terraces off each room give beautiful views. Bedrooms are comfortable with nespresso machines, luxurious baths and showers, plenty of storage space and loads of plugs for the plethora of electronic equipment we carry today. Room temperatures are controlled centrally so the room was too hot on the first night. We notified the front desk the next morning and is was fixed. Nice variety at breakfast and attentive staff. Room service came quickly and were responsive to special requests. A special feature is a fire pit on the main terrace with sheep skins and blankets. Many a after dinner drink was imbibed there. The on-site ski shop/rental is luxurious and offered superb service. The spa is beautiful with a large pool, sun loungers to chill on with a view of the mountains and wet and dry saunas. The spa rooms are beautifully equipped. I tried the hot candle wax massage and found the experience very relaxing. They also have a well equipped fitness room. Overall, this was a very special place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AskCatlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Service is excellent, as you would expect in Switzerland, especially in a town like Crans. Attentive staff, helpful with everything (dinner reservations, lift passes, suggestions, valet, preparing our ski equipment, etc..) We were lucky to get an upgrade to an amazing suite, so had tons of space, but what really makes this place special is the breathtaking views from all rooms and the common areas. The bar, restaurant, rooms - even the gym and swimming pool - are all designed to ensure you have a 180º view to the Alps towards the south. The location is very convenient (about 200m away from the pistes) - so within 5 mins of taking off your ski boots you can relax in the spa area or enjoy the view from the swimming pool. It is a bit on the expensive side, even for Switzerland, but my only regret is not having stayed longer than a weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DinhoGeneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife wanted to offer me (us) a treat...and what a treat it was ! The location is simply fantastic, with a breath-taking view over the Valais Rhone valley and the Alps ! A perfect welcome, valet parking, an excellent reception by charming hostesses, everything is made to make you feel comfortable ! The room was highly pleasant, wood and local stone decor, perfect taste, quiet, with a huge shared balcony ! And terrifically comfortable too ! An amazing swimming pool, large, warm, soooo cosy ! As for the spa, a great place for a great moment ! Perfect massage, great hammam, a truly wonderfull moment ! Not to talk about the restaurant : first class, we had a "menu degustation", marvellous food, perfectly cooked, and a sommelier lady at the top ! The service was also perfect ! Great breakfast buffet with more than you want or need...So you can understand that my talk with the charming director (he took 20 minutes of his precious time to chat with me !) was to tell him how pleased we were, and that we shall be back, no doubt !
When are YOU planning to go there...?

Room Tip: The higher the rooms, the more fantastic the view (although it is stunning from any part of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrH704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crans-Montana hotels
0.7 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Helvetia Intergolf - Hotel & Apparthotel
0.5 mi away
Guarda Golf Hotel & Residences
Guarda Golf Hotel & Residences
#4 of 41 in Crans-Montana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
#2 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours
Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours
#7 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Prairie
Hotel La Prairie
#12 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crans Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crans Ambassador

Property: Crans Ambassador
Address: Route du Petit Signal 3, Crans-Montana 3963, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Crans-Montana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crans Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crans Ambassador, Luxury Sport Resort, immerses you in the heart of the Swiss Alps. As soon as you step into the hotel, a 180° view of Europe’s highest, most stunning peaks takes your breath away. The Crans Ambassador is a privileged haven of serenity in a cosy, timeless setting. Combining luxury, friendliness, vibrancy and performance; the hotel welcomes guests in search of wellness year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Crans Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing