We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Experience”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2011

What a pleasure to feel so welcomed the minute you pass the threshold of a hotel. The staff were all kind and willing to help, simple things as a smile and "have a good a day" are common currency there and sound sincere. Saying that rooms are very spacious would be a euphemism, but they are cosy and incredibly comfortable. The full was delightful as well and we've had the time to enjoy a most relaxing massage at the spa.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2011

I visited the Hotel Royal for 3 days to attend a conference in 2011.

The work meetings and the dinner took place in the Hotel Royal itself, while all participants had free choice of accomodation. Due to the travel budget of my employer I chose a different accomodation than the Royal, and quite some other delegates did so as well.
So this review is NOT about the rooms, but about the use as a conference site.

The conference room had a projector of awful color fidelity, which was additionaly setup to project on a screen reaching from the ceiling to the floor. Obviously no one but the first row could see the lower part of the presentations.
That there was no place to hang my coat seems secondary to that.

Dinner was served in an extra room for the conference attendees. The food could obviously not be the normal standard for this house, since quality was anything but 5-star.
Maybe the conference organisation made a deal here to save their budget, but anyhow one thing was unacceptable:
As a vegetarian I did not got different food than the others, but for example I just got the same course without the meat, namely flavored rice with sauce. Also the vegetarian 3-course-menu of "soup - caprese - dessert" is an offence to vegetarians while the "normal" menu had something substantial as a main dish.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark_Sonnenschein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The management was absolutely not flexible during booking process. We planned to go with 3 children and the room rate was 1050 chf/night. At the beginning :) Plus 70 francs/night for a rollaway bed X 3 and compulsory halfboard. Makes sence. So no reductions and fexability at all. We decided not to come to Royal and spent holidays in Alpina and Savoy that is absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Farenkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

the hotel le royal crans montana is set in a calm area though it is in the middle of the village of crans. it is a beautiful hotel with spacious rooms and suites, each one with a personal charming touch. as soon as you enter this hotel you really feel the love that the stuff puts into this house. i have travelled many many hotels all over the world and seen many 5 star houses with much more luxurious facilities and designy details than le royal crans montana but i've not seen a second hotel which was as friendly, helpful and lovely as this one. doesnt matter what kind of problem you have - you can always count on the royal stuff! especially the night receptionist and the barista are incomparably nice, simpaticos and funny. whatever you desire, they will get it for you without exception! crans montana is a marvellous place in summer and winter - for golf and tennis or ski and snowboarding. no matter when you go there, one thing doesnt ever change: crans is stylish, fashionable, hot and exciting! go to hotel le royal and have the time of your life!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asconetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2008

The Hotel Royal is located in central Crans, convenient to the shopping district and an easy walk to the gondola. The rooms are spacious and clean, and passably well decorated. My husband and I stayed there with our eight year old daughter. We had a couble room and she had an adjoining twin. There was a main door to the hallway that we could lock at night, so that she could sleep with her door open.
I must say the beds were very hard and uncomfortable, but we were so tired at the end of the day that it didn't matter.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast consisted of your standard breakfast buffet fare; yoghurt, cereals, pastries, bacon, sausages and eggs.
We didn't have lunch at the hotel, but had dinner there most nights. The food was absolutely splendid. I had fish three nights during our stay, and it was very fresh and beautifully prepared.
There is a decent-sized indoor pool, but it is unheated and heavily chlorinated. There is a tiny fitness area with a treadmill, a cybex machine and a couple of stationary bikes.
The downstairs lounge is a nice place to relax with a drink. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Alper Gökhan Ü
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crans-Montana hotels
0.5 mi away
Crans Ambassador
Crans Ambassador
#6 of 41 in Crans-Montana
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Helvetia Intergolf - Hotel & Apparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours
Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours
#8 of 41 in Crans-Montana
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Prairie
Hotel La Prairie
#4 of 41 in Crans-Montana
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Etrier Hotel
Etrier Hotel
#15 of 41 in Crans-Montana
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Ehanoun, rue de l' 10 | Promenade du Royal, Crans-Montana 3963, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Crans-Montana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
Price Range: £217 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The full refurbishment program being completed, Hotel Royal and its team are delighted to welcome you in a totally new atmosphere since this december 2012.Come and experience your new Royal atmosphere, come and discover your new Bar&Restaurant concept, ideally located down town Crans, come and enjoy your free ice rink with friends and family, amongst many more activities! ROOMS ​- ​47 Rooms, 3 suites & a Royal Suite​- A cosy atmosphere, a casual chic ambiance for a perfect swiss experience​​- A Chalet style design, wide view over the Alps for a pure mountain experienceBAR & RESTAURANT​Ideally located in the very heart of Crans-Montana, B&R is the perfect place for enjoying the mountain's life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing