We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ALWAYS FRIENDLY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Foret

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de la Foret
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“ALWAYS FRIENDLY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have stayed here a few times.The staff are always friendly and one feels so at home. A few things let them down - Firstly , the breakfast is nothing to rave about , then they also have a hot water problem which needs attending to as there is only cold/luke warm water at 9am when the hotel is busy. The hotel shuts down its reception after the bar has closed and one needs to phone a numer for assistance from then on - too bad for one of our party when his access card did not allow him into his room , the number was not answered.
On the plus side , I have had some good evening meals here at a reasonable price and there is a cozy bar. I had speedy WiFi in my room .Views from the restaurant are stunning.
I will return again , I do like the place.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RENSHAWWELSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    30
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
16
33
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Htl Saint-Nicolas L - 5533 Remich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

It was a horrible journey from Luxembourg to Crans Montana ! Almost 7 hours nothing but rain.
So when we entered La Foret we felt fine immediately. ome things migth be dated but the most important, the hospitality is present and so we spent a good night to cope with the next day's rain, again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucienHoudremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

A slightly outdated hotel but still passable for a weekend in the Alps and with the most spectacular view over the mountains, which you can enjoy from the comfort of your terrace, you'll soon forget the cons.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kalle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culemborg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

As an American traveler, I wanted a relatively affordable
'Swiss ski chalet.' I was completely satisfied with the hotel, the accommodations, and staff. I was very comfortable and felt right at home. A little outdated but for the price, I couldn't complain. It was a clean property with excellent wifi, rooms were a good size, and a view that was breathtaking. My heat worked very well, the restaurant was fabulous. I wish I hadn't gone off property. My only complaint is cab/taxi rides are way over priced. Not the hotel's fault but I think travelers should beware.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get the view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

we stayed for one night.
the room was so cold, the heating was completely out.. so we put it on but it was not warmer.. like 10 degrees the hole night.
on the pillows and in the bed, were hairs and spots everywhere... toilet was dirty and the room on the first floor was noisy...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
254 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

The hotel is not rated propperly. Old fashioned with rooms just over one of the main roads accessing to Crans-Montana. No price for value. Kind of hotel that shouldn't be in Crans-Montana

Room Tip: Best rooms? Difficult to say as our was, according to the reception, one of the best BUT was noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed 1 night in April while attending the Caprices Festival. The hotel is a 5 -10 minute walk from the Funiculaire of Crans Montana. A bit far from the festival but the free bus service in Crans and Montana made up for this. The hotel reception were very welcoming. Our room and bathroom were very clean and big enough for 2. Would definitely recommend for a stay in Crans as was very affordable 70 chf per person per night including breakfast! Amazing.
Breakfast was typical swiss, museli, croissants, breads, cold meats and cheese, tea coffee or orange, with even table service. As good as some 4 star hotels without a doubt. View of the mountains from the breakfast table was absolutely stunning.
Excellent service from the hotel overall.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiss_voyager83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crans-Montana hotels
0.8 mi away
Helvetia Intergolf - Hotel & Apparthotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
#2 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Prairie
Hotel La Prairie
#12 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
#11 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crans Ambassador
Crans Ambassador
#3 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Etrier Hotel
Etrier Hotel
#15 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Foret

Property: Hotel de la Foret
Address: Combaz, route de la 19, Crans-Montana 3963, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Crans-Montana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Crans-Montana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de la Foret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Forêt is located in the heart of Wallis, in the internationally renowned village of Crans-Montana. The station (1500m-3000m altitude), with a casino, offers numerous sporting, recreational and cultural activities both winter and summer.Our Hotel-Restaurant, with its 59 new and comfortable bedrooms with Wifi connection, its piano bar, its sunny terrace et its brand new wellness area, will delight you with its proximity to the skislopes, hiking trails and its view on the Rhone valley and the Alps.A warm and impeccable service will make your trip to Switzerland unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de la Foret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Foret Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing