We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely expensive compared with the level of service offered. Pretend to be a 4 STARS hotel but the service it is not even a ”
Review of Etrier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Etrier Hotel
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Rooms and restaurant very poor. Some are refurbished but most of them are OLD and NOT at standard. Heating is out of control (sometime too much sometime too cold). Food is poor and repetitive with low offer. The restaurant is often not open lunch and provide just sandwiches. Pool water is cold and the overall SPA area is poor. For nearly 500 euro per room per night even at Christmas time I was expecting e completely different service and quality.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rumiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Sorry for my english as it is nt my mother Tongue.
I have been staying at this Hotel every summer in August for the last 10 years .
My room was renovated with a brand new bathroom.
They installed for me a DVD machine as courtousy.
Breakfast is really good with a large choice of food.Staff is friendly.The pool located half indoors and half outdoors is very well exposed in the sun with excellent view on the Mountains.
As an old client they gave me a very good rate for a single room with North view .
One point which i find ridiculours for a 4 stars Hotel.The orange juice at breakfast comes from a machine and is very chemical.if you want a freshly squeezed orange juice ,you have to pay extra. .That is tottaly ridiculous and needs to be changed .
Thierry F

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thierry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Lovely friendly hotel with all staff very helpful and cheerful (and we were there at the end of the season too). We stayed mid April and will be back again next year. The pool and spa area are a bonus and I imagine are really nice in the summer too when you can get outside. We were able to get our ski passes from reception too and the restaurant joined to the hotel was excellent (L'Ours). Our bathroom was nice a spacious and the dinner plate size shower head was fantastic after skiing. Over all a tired couple (who also work in the hotel industry) needed a chilled out mini break and that was exactly what we got, Thank you hotel Etrier we will be back to see you.

Room Tip: Request sauna and steam room on in the morning, they will put it on for you if it's off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tori29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel in March 2013. I got a room on the 4th floor, which was just 2 above the kitchen. The soundproofing was horrible, as I got woken up by the incessant sound of doors opening and closing in the kitchen. In the evening, the music from downstairs was also very loud: be sure to take your earplugs with you!

The location was OK, although you need to walk about 15 minutes with your ski equipment to get to the slopes. But this seems "normal" in Crans-Montana, as everyone takes his car for everything...

The room was nicely decorated, "chalet" style with lots of wood. The mattress was bit too hard for my taste, and the towels were horribly rough (might be good for those wanting a natural peeling). Kind of poor attention to details for a 4* hotel.

As for the WiFi, it's very slow and not free.

Luckily the breakfast buffet was excellent and tipped the balance to a 4 overall rating.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Spent the weekend here a few weeks ago as our "usual" wasn't available. We got the last room with enough provisos re no balcony, no bathtub to make me expect a closet-size torture chamber.

It was REALLY NICE. Room 106 was as bright and airy as it gets, huge windows and very large for a "standard double". Instead of a tub we had a shower with stupendous water pressure; felt like an upgrade compared to the tub/shower setup. Breakfast was great, the pool great for kids (I suspect the adults in it between 4-6pm had issues since it's the usual family hotel mayhem).

I erred in stashing our ski gear at the lift station and doing the 5min walk; the thing to do is to keep your ski stuff in the car and drive there and back; parking right at the base is chf 5 with the skipass. No minivan-type transport offered bybthe hotel was slightly surprising, but it is a short walk if you dont have wheels. Dinner at the hotel was an empty dining room; only attempt this in case of emergency even if the staff is auperfriendly. The lobby lounge has a great bar and its a nice place to hang out in.

I'd recommend Etrier to anyone without reservation; it ain't Guarda Golf but it's half the price.

Room Tip: South side gets the light and views, BUT the north side has newly renovated small doubles that are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahaguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We wanted to have some rest and some fun skiing in Crans Montana. This hotel is well-located, the rooms are nicely decorated (mountain chalet spirit), the food (evening and breakfast) great.
However the pool area was cold, the water too; and the sauna was not working anymore at 18h (should close at 20h); a bit too bad as this area was one of the reasons we chose this hotel... And no towels in the zone! We had to take the ones from our bedroom. We also did not find the fitness zone.
Still, warm welcome and upgrade to a suite with a perfect view was appreciated.

Room Tip: south side is definetly the best to get a perfect view on the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thesmileline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Géraldine B, Owner at Etrier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Thank you for your comment. We do appologize about the water being cold as well as the sauna due to a problem with the general wellness area heating system. We have sorted the matter out. The water is heated at 28 degrees and the sauna heats until closing time. For information the fitness is located at the spa level just above the swimming pool. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you another time at the Etrier and thank you again for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We recently enjoyed a skiing weekend in Crans, staying at hotel l’Etrier. The wooden chalet makes for a pretty hotel. Inside it’s nice too, bordering lush with plenty of thick carpets, leather couches and a warm stove to snuggle up against.

We had booked a simple room on the North side but we were freely upgraded to a renovated North side room. This was such a nice effort! The room was of normal size with plenty of cupboards and separate toilet and bathroom. Furthermore there was a desk with a minibar underneath, a table with 2 fancy chairs and a flatscreen tv. When you pushed the right button, automatic blinds came down to ensure darkness at night. I must say that the beds were supercomfy. You should also be aware of the open plan bathroom. You cannot close it off with a door, but because of the structure it is not perfectly see-through either.

The first day breakfast was rather minimal. It offered fruit, yoghurt, orange juice (not fresh), cereals and some other usual things but it lacked any sort of cheese or ham. We opened one of the cups of yoghurt but it wasn’t eatable anymore (to the credit of the hotel: it was not yet past its expiry date, so it had really just been an accident but still) On the second day breakfast was much better. They had added about 3 choices of cheese and ham to the buffet, as well as some other things. Both days I really liked the view from the breakfast room unto the other chalets and part of the Rhone valley.

We had picked the hotel because we’d satisfied stays there before. The close proximity to the lift of Crans Cry d’Er is definitely a major plus. You can reach it on foot in under 10 minutes. You go out of the hotel to the right until you pass the Cry d’Er parking garage. There is a special elevator for pedestrians. You end up 5 levels higher, about 100m from the gondola.
We had a late checkout without any extra charge. The room would be free that night so they had no problem allowing us to stay there until 4PM which was very nice.

On checkout our bill was incorrect. It included a bar visit of 30 CHF that we had not done. When we mentioned that, they searched for the ticket of the visit but could’t find it because it obviously didn’t exist. They scratched it accordingly and printed a new bill. However, this is definitely a mistake a 4* hotel should not make. The rest of the weekend the service was good.

Crans is a really nice resort, perfectly accessible from Geneva by train + funiculaire. The pistes (about 150 km) are mostly long red descents on a south flank. We had dinner one night at La désalpe: very good normal food with equal service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crans-Montana hotels
0.5 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crans Ambassador
Crans Ambassador
#6 of 41 in Crans-Montana
222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Prairie
Hotel La Prairie
#4 of 41 in Crans-Montana
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours
Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours
#9 of 41 in Crans-Montana
86 reviews
1.1 mi away
Helvetia Intergolf - Hotel & Apparthotel
0.5 mi away
Guarda Golf Hotel & Residences
Guarda Golf Hotel & Residences
#3 of 41 in Crans-Montana
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etrier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etrier Hotel

Address: Pas-de-l'Ours, rue du 31, Crans-Montana 3963, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Crans-Montana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Crans-Montana
#8 Spa Hotel in Crans-Montana
Price Range: £112 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Etrier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de l'Etrier is more than a hotel ... A place filled with charme and tradition One of the oldest hotel in the resort, built in 1963, the Etrier has been beautifully renovated keeping its unique open spaces offering its guests an amazing view on the Valaisanne Alps. You will be welcomed in a space where everything tells a story, each stone, wooden board and object. It is in this exceptional place that the art of Welcoming has been put together to seduce you. Children are kings in dedicated spaces within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Etrier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrier Hotel Crans Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing