We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 4 star hotel ??” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel du Parc
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A 4 star hotel ??”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have stayed one night in this hotel and I have to say that it is not a 4 star hotel but 2 star only.
The rooms and the hall are in bad condition. You better walk in the bathroom with your eyes closed. The room is very small with squeaky beds. The breakfast in the morning is poor. The couple next to me asked the staff to put away and old rotten cheese that the saw on the tray. The sauna hours are 17-19h. The receptionist astonishingly unfriendly. Overall the hotel could be ok if you divide the price by 3 because the location is not bad and the view from the entrance is good. The hotel has its potential that is unfortunately not developed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
12
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed one night at the Grand Hotel du Parc in Crans Montana in August, 2013. The hotel shows itself to be a 4-star property, but it is not. My rating is a lower 3-star. I did not find the hotel to be grand, but closer to mediocre.

On the positive side, the town and area are very nice. The town is on a plateau high above the Rhone River. The hotel is on a high point and has a very nice view to the south over the river valley to jagged mountains beyond. The site is at the end of a private drive so there is no traffic. The only vehicles belong to guests and employees or are delivery vehicles. Consequently, the setting is unusually quiet and my room was quiet also. The buffet breakfast was good and inexpensive.

The room had an excellent balcony with a lounge chair and table, accessed through a sliding glass door. Internet access was free, but often slow. I did not have a car, but parking appeared adequate. There are several restaurants in town a short walk from the hotel.

The room had a safe, but no tissues. The hotel is not air conditioned. The room was of ample size. The mattress was marginally comfortable. There were two chairs in the room, but they were not comfortable. Lighting was dim. The bath was compact with tiled walls and floor. The tub had a shower head on a flexible hose, but there was no curtain or glass screen so a real shower was not possible. The room was clean, but needed renovating and lacked any kind of character except for the view from the balcony. The room might best be described as spartan. It was inexpensive and was not worth any higher rate.

The front desk staff was friendly, but a bit too informal. There was no hint of professionalism. Prior to my arrival I sent two emails with questions and neither was answered.

I arrived by train from Geneva to the town of Sierre in the valley. Other than by car there are three ways to get up to Crans Montana from Sierre. There is a funicular that I did not use it because it's terminal was quite some distance from the hotel. Taxis are expensive. I took the Crans Montana bus from the train station which was inexpensive and took a little more than half an hour. The bus driver was helpful in identifying my stop and pointing the way to the hotel. The bus runs at 30-40 minute intervals and stops at the west end of the train station. With a car, the drive up the winding road should take about 15-20 minutes.

I adjusted to the informal hotel mood and liked the quiet location. But I prefer a less dreary and more upscale experience and would look for alternatives should I return to this very pleasant town.

Room Tip: Get a south-facing room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipster2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Not quite a 4, more like a 3.75. This is a cozy little hotel with a dedicated staff. We stayed as parents in part of a student tour group of about 54 total. Our three bed room was a bit tight with three beds but the beds were comfotable with nice duvet's. The bathroom was large with nice marble and tile finished. Good water pressure even in rush times. Most roms have a nice balcony facing the mountains and a samll lake. Make sure you do not reserve a room facing the back side of the motel.

The staff is small but dedicated. They had just hired a new chef who fed us a wonderful beef burgundy and mashed potatoes after a long bus trip and it was delicious.

They are doing some minor renovations but nothing to scare us away when we go again. Because of the staff this one is worthy to consider if the room night price is reasonable.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank creloans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

A disappointing overpriced experience. The hotel has a great location just up the hill from the centre of Montana but we found the hotel to be soulless with very little atmosphere. The bar area was unwelcoming and very hard to get a drink when busy. Food was ok but a very surly restaurant manager spoilt the atmosphere and staff seemed affected by it. If I was returning to Montana I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location at the heart of Montana yet secluded enough for a mice escape. The hotel is cozy, comfortable and has a nice feel to it. They offer a free shuttle service to the ski slopes so quite useful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

It is always difficult to have an objective view of hotels in Switzerland. They seem terribly overpriced compared to more or less anywhere in the world excluding London, Paris and NY.

I paid a -40% rate or so, that is why I chose this place. Quite central, but cheaper than most 3 or 4 stars hotels in Crans-Montana. Speaking of stars, they count it as a 4* but looks more like a 3*. It is quite worn-out and a bit sad – understand empty - but maybe that’s only because it wasn’t the high season.

We had the first price room. Very Swiss chalet-like: wooden furniture, carpet, nothing special. The bathroom was definitely out-dated, small yellow-mustard hexagonal tiles, a hair-dryer I didn’t know they still existed (at least in 4* hotels). But everything was clean which is the most important to me. The bed was comfortable, and the windows have been redone recently which means good isolation. At night the area is very quiet. I was there during a music festival and it was good to be far from the crowds and noise.

There is a sauna and fitness room but I haven’t used them. It may be something important for some people.

There is really not much to say about this place. I would recommend this hotel if you are choosing on a price/comfort criterion (if you can get a reduction through a hotel booking website or something). But if you are looking for a fun/stylish place, this won’t be it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a-hotel-groupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The Grand Hotel du Parc is in a superb location, central but completely quiet. The rooms are a good size, enough wardrobe space for a skiing holiday, the facilities are good - the hotel bus will pick you up at the funicular or drop you and collect you at the ski lifts - but what really makes the difference are the staff. They were completely charming, and went to extra lengths to make sure our stay was as good as it can be. We will be back, winter and summer.

Room Tip: Make sure you take a room facing south for the view and the afternoon sun on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crans-Montana hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
#2 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Helvetia Intergolf - Hotel & Apparthotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel de la Foret
Hotel de la Foret
#19 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ad'Eldorado
Hotel Ad'Eldorado
#17 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crans Ambassador
Crans Ambassador
#3 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#9 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Parc

Property: Grand Hotel du Parc
Address: Route du Parc, Crans-Montana 3962, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Crans-Montana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Crans-Montana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel du Parc 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Crans Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing