We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet but convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Flims
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Flims
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We came here for a week's ski trip, and enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient - a faulty shower head was replaced (by the manager!) immediately it was reported. The ski cellar is spacious with plenty of room for skis and boots. It's a 10-15 minute walk into Flims, but the hotel courtesy bus to and from the slopes is so quick and efficient that it is like staying in a ski-in/ski-out location. The spa area (especially the pool) is not large and feels cramped when the hotel is busy, not helped by the steam room being out of commission for our visit.

Breakfasts are good with plenty of choice and the evening meals are very good with a reasonable choice. Wine, however, is pricey. There is a good bar with a nice comfortable atmosphere. Our bedroom was spacious with a large balcony, a lounge area and a reasonably-sized bathroom. The fittings were not luxurious but more than adequate.

Altogether a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Sunstar Alpine Hotel Flims
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

I stayed at the Sunstar on a ski trip to Flims. The hotel is at the beginning of a forest area outside the centre of the resort. It is very quiet there. It takes about 6 or 7 minutes to get to the main ski lift using the hotel bus, but it is too far to walk in ski boots and carrying skiis. The hotel manager is very helpful and can be seen regularly in the dining room and hotel foyer. I thought all the breakfast and evening meals were well prepared and interesting, however service became a bit slow in the evening when the hotel was full. My bed room was very clean and quiet; and the helpful manager had the heating turned down for me. The hotel atmosphere and furnishings are comfortable and pleasant but not romantic. There are quite a few friendly activities organised by the hotel - wine tasting, nightime forest walk, visit to the hotel kitchen etc...There is a small gym, I did not find the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EyesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I was here for just the weekend but was really impressed. First, the location is perfect - its set in the forest and a 10 minute walk to the beautiful Cauma see, which means you can get their early before the throngs of people arrive. Its also an easy 20 minute walk to the charming town of Flims, which has great restaurants, shops and mountain lifts.

The rooms were very comfortable with a great bed, all modern fittings and a typically Swiss immaculate bathroom. My room also had a nice balcony which faced the mountains.

The hotel has a nice indoor bath, which is sort of too small to be a swimming pool but much larger than a jacuzzi. It has a few bubble jet stations and a massage water fall. There is also a very nice looking steam bath and sauna, but unfortunately these are not turned on in the mornings and take a while to get up to heat, so you cant really use them before breakfast and I was away hiking both days and returned after dinner, so I never got to experience those.

I only had breakfast at the restaurant, which was very nice - many local Graubunden dried meets and local cheeses, and their house made apricot chili preservers as well as lots of fresh fruit, some hot dishes and freshly baked breads.

They also have a nice daily program of suggestions from arts to live music, and a nice little hotel bar. I am happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: you don't need to drive there, from the Chur train station there is a convenient bus which stops...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank photoguyZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The setting of the hotel in Flims Waldhaus is very nice as its quite, in the forest with very nice views on the mountain. Its only a few minutes walk to the shops and Flims Waldhaus village center. In summer only a few minutes walk to the Caumasee, which is a fantastic lake to go with kids for swimming and sunbathing.
Coming regularly Flims, it was my first time in Hotel Sunstar. I can list many positive things about the hotel; like very friendly staff, nice lobby, small pool and sauna but nice and clean, nice rooms (although a bit out dated light brown bathroom equipment), hotel ski bus to ski lift, the hotel has only one major set back and that's the very basic furnished restaurant. Maybe 40 years ago this kind of fit out was acceptable, but not in 2012. Especially not in the most expensive country. I was only a couple days in the hotel with some friends, but If I would book this hotel for a family holiday I would find the ambiance of the hotel restaurant a serious problem and would consider move to a different hotel. Other issue is that the internet is not for free.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JansenPraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This was our fourth stay here so you can assume we love the place. The Sunstar is a very homey yet classy place for the Alpine/Swiss lover to stay. The hotel staff and attending are very accomodating and easy to speak with when you needed guidance.

We are a family of skiers and we have spent 2 Christmas/New Years here and the other times were February/March. The skiing is absolutely fabulous and if you don't ski you can still take cable cars to the Vorab (glacier) to meet your fellow skiers for lunch or a drink! There is sledding which I did with my sister who doesn't ski and I must say it was quite the adventure! 1430 meters high and sled the whole way down! Fabulous! Snow bunny stuff!

The food is wonderful in this area. Very hearty but they are sensitive to vegetarians, which we are not so I could not say what it tastes like. The ambiance of the whole region is enchanting and for that enchantment you will pay dearly. The Swiss Franc is about 1:1 with the US Dollar. A simple lunch of schnitzel, pommes frites (fries) and a beer will cost you around $50.00 US. A cheese fondue for five of us was $244.- Shopping was basically window shopping. All clothing was extremely expensive. A typical ski jacket (not Bogner or anything special) was around 600.--. So you aren't going to shop that's for sure!

I can't say enough good things but here are a few things that we found quirky.....
no flat screen tv, still the big old box....and as I sit here contemplating what I didn't like I think that is it!?

Room Tip: They have a top attic floor, room 504, and it has a round window on the roof that you can lie in bed...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed with our family of four at this Hotel over Christmas and had a marvelous time. All personnel is warm and friendly and trying to make your holiday as perfect as possible. Special thanks to the director, helping us out with our snow chains and Lenny the driver who drove us to the piste every morning and picked us up whenever we were ready.

Room Tip: We had a room with two bedrooms, which is great with young children. Also a babyphone system is avai...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was our fourth time staying in this particular area of Flims. We ended up staying here as the hotel we normally book was full. This was a tad more expensive.
We had booked one of the suites the hotel offered - the balcony and views were very relaxing and a nice place to sit. The mini bar was complementary and re-stocked on a daily basis (unheard of anywhere else on this planet...!) which was a very nice touch. The room itself was around average sized as we have stayed in other suites in the same area - basically double a standard room, one half serving as a living room with the bathroom separate, and the other as a bedroom. It was also a nice that the TV was on a bracket next to the archway between rooms, so you could simply swing it between the areas if you wanted to watch in the bedroom or living space.
The room itself was very clean, as was the bathroom.
The spa facilities were OK - not the best in the area by far. The pool was tiny and not really meant for swimming in - rather more of a large jacuzzi. There was also a shortage of loungers, so if we were there and sitting on both of them there was no room for anyone else. There is a steam room, 'experience' shower and sauna too. There is no outside spa facility here (plunge pool, heated outdoor pool etc) which is present at other hotels.
The food was good - we only had dinner in the hotel once and went out for the other two nights we were there. There is lots of choice on the dinner menus, and the breakfasts have a wide variety of hot and cold options to suit almost everyone.
There is also a well-stocked bar and lounge area, as well as (slightly questionnable) live music on a nightly basis.
The hotel organises lots of activities in the local area, and also gives a weekly planner which tells you what is on in the local area and where, as well as tips on what to do if you're not always wanting to go up the mountain. The staff were very helpful on every occasion we spoke to them.
Overall a good hotel - just let down a little by the spa facilities and value for money. No real negatives about any aspect of the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room otherwise you might end up looking at the car park.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flims hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cresta
Hotel Cresta
#3 of 16 in Flims
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adula Hotel
Adula Hotel
#4 of 16 in Flims
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Waldhaus Flims Alpine Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Bellevue
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 16 in Flims
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Flims? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Flims

Address: Rudi Dado 8 | 7018 Flims, Flims 7018, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Flims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Flims
Price Range: £108 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Flims 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunstar Alpine Hotel Flims, in an idyllic, peaceful location on the edge of the forest, is within walking distance of the popular Lake Cauma. First built over 100 years ago, and with a Jugendstil facade, the hotel blends perfectly into its beautiful setting. The interior is decorated in typical cosy Graubunden style, with lots of warm wood, tastefully enhanced by some Jugendstil (Art Nouveau) features. The comfortable rooms vary in size and have views in different directions, with those in certain categories having a balcony. Tasty treats are served in the half-board restaurant, at the bar and, in summer, on the sunshine terrace. You can enjoy fondue and other Swiss specialities in the homely "Carigiet-Stubli". For soothing relaxation, there's a small but stylish spa area: try the leisure pool with its bubble bench, massage jets and waterfall, or the sauna or steam bath. The rest room with its heated benches (tepidarium) is another perfect place to relax. To keep you fit, there's even a little weights room. In the varied scenery of the Flims, Laax and Falera region, there are all kinds of different activities to enhance your relaxing stay in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Flims reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing