We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spoiled by Attitude of Manager” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cresta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cresta
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Flims
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spoiled by Attitude of Manager”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

We (myself, wife, and 6 year old daughter) stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Cresta for a skiing break. I've been to Flims before skiing and was keen to take the family there as the service and experience had been excellent previously (at a different Hotel - the Sunstar Surselva).
We stayed in a family room which was very spacious with a separate lounge area for the kid's bed, a bedroom, and a full size bathroom with a heated floor. Only downsides of the room were that the beds were a bit hard, and that it was located in the Chalet some 100 yards over the road from the main hotel - generally not a problem except when trying to use the Spa facilities as the Hotel expect you to walk over in your bathrobe - not much fun when it is snowing!.
The only thing that spoiled our trip was the attitude of the Manager (Owner?) who quite frankly was overbearing and extremely rude. We had asked after having dinner the first night (a 5 course fixed half board menu of typical German/Swiss fare) if we could alter it slightly for our 6 year old daughter the next day - i.e. more vegetables, no sauces, etc - the waiter was very pleasant and said no problem, and to ask the manager in the morning and it would be taken care of. My wife (who speaks fluent German) spoke to the manager in the morning to make the request - the manager immediately kicked off with a rant about the quality of the "fine dining" at the hotel and the unhealthy nature of eating "pommes frites" - his attitude was that the Hotel food is perfect and we won't change it for anybody, and stated that we were not looking after our daughter correctly if we weren't willing to feed her the Hotel food. He was very brusque and abrupt with my wife and refused outright to make any changes to the meals for our daughter. Since we hadn't even asked for "pommes frites" but rather for them to not serve the dinner for my daughter with sauces, I am at a loss to understand the manager's attitude.
Having stayed in many hotels all over the world I have never encountered an attitude such as this before - it is a real shame as the Hotel Cresta has nice rooms, a good spa facility, and helpful staff - We would have been happy to put up with the food (which is more aptly described as stewed country fare - rather than "fine dining") if not for the obnoxious attitude of the manager who should really look for a career outside the service industry! Needless to say I cancelled dinner at the Hotel for the remainder of the trip and we ate at a very friendly Italian restaurant in the village who were more than happy to provide additional side dishes of vegetables and main courses not stewed in a heavy sauce for our daughter.
All in all I would have to advise that anybody who expects a Hotel to remember that you are a paying guest, steer clear of Hotel Cresta until such time as there is a change in management.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    39
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
42
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
foz arelho - portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

Return to Cresta with family and teenagers. Everything stays in the same standards of confort and very good value for the money.
Certainly will not be our last stay in Cresta...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank m0digliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

We booked this hotel after looking at the website and thinking 'yes, it'll do'. We were on a 4 day snowboard trip and just wanted somewhere relatively close to the slopes that wasn't just a room.
We were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel in general - the wellness centre they have is a real advantage after having just spent 7 hours racing down mountains. The heated outdoor pool is a brilliant touch - even though it was snowing heavily the pool was at 34 degrees c! They also have a natural plunge pool (frozen while we were there!), saunas, steamrooms, massage on request and sunbeds.
The food is OK - we were on half board so we were given breakfast and dinner. There is no choice in the dinner menu though which was a little disappointing.
The hotel was very clean, and the rooms were a little dated but all equipment was up to date and there was a good range of things to do, i.e chess in the bar, a TV room, free internet access etc.
We were actually the last guests to depart for the season. Due to a booking error on their computer we actually stayed one night longer than everyone else. They not only made sure we were comfortable, but they kept the spa open for us and made sure there was someone on hand if we needed anything. They even gave us some money off our final bill!
We were very impressed and would definitely go back again.

  • Liked — Hotel facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing bad to report
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Katherine701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2008

This was our 2nd visit to the Cresta and we had another lovely stay. Yes the rooms are a little dated... but then isn't that what you want when on a family holiday with young children?! Over all the bedrooms are quiet, well kept and comfortable.
The food is okay, although an earlier sitting for the kids would be a good idea as we often weren't served until nearer 7pm.
The pool is fabulous and the jets around the edge are perfect for soothing tired muscles! The wellness area is a welcome retreat to sit and read quietly.
The hotel is sited about 5mins drive from the slopes (20min walk) but this isn't a problem as there's a hotel minibus service and regular shuttle bus just outside the door.
Over all, a welcoming, comfortable, very family friendly hotel. We'll go back again, the Ski School is outstanding and the hotel offers very reasonable value for money. What more could you ask for on a family holiday?!

  • Liked — The spa swimming pool
  • Disliked — No early tea for children
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikki01Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake maggiore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

we spent only 3 days in hotel Cresta,in the romantic depandance full of grimping roses.What a nice and lovely place.Flims is full of wonderful trails,Even if the food is not excellent,and our bathroom was not so new,we came back home with plenty of beautyful souvenirs:the garden and the pool are perfect for relaxing enjoing the panorama.Moreover the owner are very kinfd and present.I raccomend this hotel for everybody looking for a quiet stop in Graubuenden.Excellent prices.

  • Liked — the garden and the pool
  • Disliked — food could have been better
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank giocasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flims
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Flims
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Waldhaus Flims Alpine Grand Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adula Hotel
Adula Hotel
#4 of 16 in Flims
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bellaval
Hotel Bellaval
#2 of 10 in Laax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vorab
Hotel Vorab
#12 of 16 in Flims
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cresta

Property: Hotel Cresta
Address: Via Passadi 5, Flims 7018, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Flims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Flims
#3 Spa Hotel in Flims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cresta 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cresta is a cozy vacation hotel, which is situated very quiet in a large garden. Three houses are connected and one house (Chalet) is about 80 meters away, without connection to the other buildings (restaurant and wellness). A free shuttle bus to the skilifts is available in winter. Hiking trails and sights are easily accessible by foot. The large wellness area with a heated outdoor pool and an unheated natural pool (summer) is complemented by several saunas and steam baths, a Kneipp fountain and a cold water pool as well as a resting room. In addition, the hotel has a small gym, solarium and a massage service in collaboration with an external therapist. In the morning, guests can enjoy a varied breakfast buffet sweet and hearty cold specialties as well as boiled eggs and scrambled eggs. In the evening a daily changing 4-5 course menu is served as half-board. Parking is available free of charge (outside) or for a fee (garage) directly at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cresta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cresta Hotel Flims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing