We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisited after a 5 year break with happy results...”
Review of Hotel Paradies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Paradies
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ftan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We used to come to this hotel every year for many years but the last trip under old owners was so disorganized that we gave up. This trip was a real treat. We had the suite with fireplace which has been completely renovated with good results. The furniture and decor in this room at least is what one expects at this price. The bathroom now has a lovely separate shower and a lovely deep bathtub that two can share after a long cold walk. The toiletries are nice smelling and generous although hair conditioner would be nice! The living area now has a large flat panel TV and an iPod dock with Sonos system so you can listen in the whole suite to your music.

As one reviewer already mentioned it would be nice to either have one bed or at least have to two really connected so that you don't fall into the large crack that appears if you try to snuggle your partner...... The bed however is quite comfortable.

Both my husband and I had very nice massages in the newly renovated spa which works much better now.

We brought along our dog and he was given a dog bowl and special treats on check in. A very nice touch. They also offered to watch him during our dinner.

We had a delicious dinner in the main restaurant and the food here was of amazing quality and size. I could have had the tartare for my main course it was so generous!

The location alone makes this a hotel to come back to. The views are incredible and we found the service to be professional and attentive. While the Paradies is expensive we found it to be worth the money!

Room Tip: If you can afford it ask for room 45 the suite with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

Yes, the hotel is nicely located. And yes, the staff is very friendly. However, the devil lies in the details - and there are many details which would need improvement in this highly overpriced hotel.
We spent 5 days in the Paradies Hotel over New Year 2012-2013, and endured many weaknesses which should not exist in a 5-star property.
There were no real curtains in the room, meaning that a lot of light disturbed our sleep, especially in the mornings. The bathroom was old fashioned, with no proper divider between the shower/bathtub and the rest of the room - allowing the water to occasionally overflow on the floor. The radio did not work properly, the flat TV screen was rather small and we needed to order the DVD player which only arrived on the last day of our stay.
The staff in the restaurant was very unexperienced, often not knowing what they were serving in the plates. At breakfast, many dishes (such as juices, butter and meat for example) were not available on the buffet, but needed to be ordered from waitresses who were overwhelmed by their work.
Finally, at the New Year's Eve party, we sat with 6 strangers at the same table without having been informed about this, and spent 5 hours eating and average meal, squeezed on our chairs in a room with far too many customers.
Surprisingly, an evaluation form was not available at the end of our stay.
Taking into account that we spent over EUR 700/day, the services offered by this hotel unfortunately did not met our expectations - far from that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris5021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meike B, Manager at Hotel Paradies, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear chris5021,

I am very sorry that your overall expectations were not met. Despite all our efforts to go above and beyond, it seems we have not been able to make your stay an overall happy experience. Since I was personally involved in rectifying issues during your last stay, I am still very familiar with your preferences. Should you travel to our part of the country again, please contact me personally in order to get things right from the very start.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This was booked as a surprise by my partner as a nice little getaway in the Swiss countryside. It is a small hotel of only some 15 or so rooms and is a real surprise hidden in the mountains.

Check-in was incredibly warm and welcoming and this was to set the tone for the rest of the stay. We were in a suite (room 43) which had two balconies, one on the bedroom and one on the lounge room. The decor is not my taste as it is a bit too homely but saying that it does have a traditional Swiss feel. I think they could update some of the furniture, in particular the lounge suite. Be warned also that the beds, in Euro style, are two singles pushed together and they can roll apart. Couples beware!!

My one and only criticism is that the rooms are not air-conditioned. I found the rooms to be very warm and although you could open the doors there were a large number of insects that wanted to join you! A hotel of this level should have some form of cooling available. In winter the heating will be wonderful.

The hotel has three restaurants, two for dinner and one for breakfast and we ate in all of them. The Pine Room restaurant offers local dishes. All were wonderful and the tartare amazing. They also have a wonderful wine list. The service from Christine was exemplary.

Breakfast is pretty cool with a wide range of continental options which are well above the usual standard you find. Cooked items are also available as are freshly squeezed juices and champagne. They also have a dessert each day for breakfast which they offer to you. Very quirky!

We also ate in the gourmet restaurant. This started with a kitchen tour (in German) and three courses followed by another 13 in the restaurant. The food was stunning. Not everything was perfect but well deserving of its one Michelin star.

You must check out the spa area which houses the most wonderful steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Make sure you wander upstairs to see the "Dutchtubs" and heated chairs out on the deck. Very cool.

All the hard product stuff is just great but what makes this place is the staff. They are warm and friendly and their attention to detail is incredible. They remember the style of water you like from day to day. A comment made the night before is acted on the next day without fault. Management should be very proud of the team at this property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I have been to the Hotel Paradies many times -- obviously, we just love it. When my parents were able to come to Switzerland, we knew right away that we'd be taking them to our favorite place in the Unterengadine.

As ever, the service at the Paradies is top-notch. We were made to feel more than welcome. The staff are genuinely friendly, and think of small details that make an already fabulous stay that much better. For instance, one evening we thought we'd have drinks on the terrace, to enjoy the last rays of sunlight on the mountains. It was a bit nippy outside, so we were presented with wool blankets to drape over our laps. Heavenly.

There were a few things that were different (and less agreeable to us) this time, but they were small issues and would never, ever keep us from coming back. We're not fond of some of the menu changes that have been made, but apparently these changes were made in response to customer requests. (You can't make everyone happy, which we understand.) Some local liqueurs and eaux-de-vie that used to be on offer are no longer on the list. Normally the bed linens are quite soft, and the summer duvets are fluffy and just the right heaviness, no matter the season. However, they seem to have switched to a thick blanket for the summer months, and no summer or mid-weight duvet was available to switch out (we asked, they were all in storage). This was sad, as one of the things we love about the Paradies is sitting in our beds, surrounded by cloud-like bedding, looking out at the mountains -- we so hope they revisit their bedding choices by next spring! They have also stopped offering a portable sewing kit automatically in the room, which is a shame. We had forgotten ours, and we always take one with us when hiking (pins and needles are good for removing splinters, as well as stitching up unexpectedly torn straps). Their kit is now presented on a little flannel pin-cushion. Cute, but impractical for use anywhere but the room.

The breakfast buffet is even more outstanding than previously (and it was already top-notch). If you would like fresh, local milk, you must wait a few extra moments after the opening of the dining room, as someone is literally out milking both the cows, and the buffalo! (If you prefer pasteurized milk, this is also available.) The emphasis on the breakfast buffet is now more local, and the results are delicious. The views in the dining room are spectacular. Hearty, tasty food in a gorgeous setting -- what better start to a day of hiking could there be?

The room is stocked with binoculars for those guests who would rather do their "hiking" on their balcony. We did not have an opportunity to try out their refurbished spa area, or the recently added roof-top, wood-fired soaking tubs, but we did take a peek, and it all looks wonderful.

The Paradies does not look like much from the outside, but don't be fooled. Amazing views, fabulous service, delicious views, and comfortable rooms await you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiteraryChick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We had a great stay here - got a reasonably priced large room with a terrace that had amazing views. Service, food, Spa all great - perfect get-away. Note that this is some 50mins away from the 18hole golf courses.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steinersing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Our goal was to get away to be active in the snow, relax in a beautiful natural setting and be pampered in comfortable surroundings, too. We found that 'Paradies' (at 1640m) fit the bill in many ways. As to the surroundings: The hotel is located near a small village roughly 3.5 hours drive from Munich and not far from St. Moritz and other bigger name Swiss resort towns. We expressly selected this resort to be away from the glitz and scurry of the better-known areas and indeed found what we were looking for. Access to cross-country ski and groomed Winter hiking trails are found directly out the front door and one has only a short drive to the alpine ski slopes of Ftan and Scuol. (Not so extensive in size for avid skiiers, but just fine for the less-crazed skiier and snow boarder. And kids have a wonderful snow park to learn and have fun in!) A personalized shuttle service brings guests to the lifts and the front desk will issue ski passes and coordinate rental equipment details. If skiing and hiking aren't of interest, the nearby town of Scuol has a Spa complex which among other things offers a bathing pool fed by various natural mineral-rich springs to address various maladies. There is also the possibility to partake in a "Trinkkur" where one drinks water from one of the different springs corresponding to its sought-after healing properties. In contrast to the lovely scenery, the hotel's facade is very utilitarian and unspectacular (obviously the reason it is not shown in the literature) but does command a spectacular view of the valley and surrounding mountains. Its furnishings are modern with a few rustic touches. The atmosphere is comfortable yet refined. Quite a good mix we felt. The view from our room was tremendous and we could go out with our dog for the occasional quick dash to the woods right from one of the decks. Very practical. We found the room comfortably-furnished and enjoyed the modern design of the rooms and marble bath. (As the hotel was heavily booked and no other larger rooms were available, we took a Grand Suite, a luxury we would not normally require.) One thing we both found less satisfying was the mattress which felt like a frozen waffle (!)--the material being made out of some kind of hard foam (not memory foam) that was not giving to the touch. And the duvets were not goose down but some thick synthetic quilt type thing. Not heavenly sleeping comfort. The sound system and Wi-Fi, however, allowed us to enjoy our favorite internet radio stations and keep in touch with the world and our emails. The unexpected use of exotic fresh flowers in the room and around the hotel was a special touch we appreciated. The bar and lounge provided a nice atmosphere, crackling fire, Engadiner Nusstorte (local nut cake), coffee and mixed drinks and the like. Although the hotel boasted in its materials that is was especially dog-friendly, offering dog-sitting services and specially cooked meals for Fido, but we did not sense that the staff on duty during our stay was especially willing to offer these things. (No dog bed, treats or bowls were set out in the room, for instance.) As a matter of fact, we felt in general that the predominantly German (not Swiss) service team was either not experienced/well-trained or lacked the attitude and professionalism one can expect from fine Swiss hotels. From the beginning there was confusion with our inquiry, then a 3 day delay with the email offer and finally no written confirmation of our booking. Some of the wait staff also lacked advanced training, serving the same dish to myself and my husband with the plate position reversed or forgetting the necessary cutlery. A disappointment. We booked the "Gourmet Arrangement" and tagged an extra day onto it allowing us to try all three of the hotel's restaurants. As part of our arrangement, on one night we enjoyed appetizers and sparkling wine in the kitchen while getting to know the chef and and learning a little about his philosophy. This was interesting. He emphasizes local products (meats, fruits, cheeses, herbs, wines) but uses them very creatively. On that evening, we had a 6 course meal with accompanying wine in the star restaurant 'La Bellezza'. It proved to be a veritable food orgy. The six courses were always comprised of multiple parts and numerous components so that the number of courses (amount of food) was actually much greater. Whoo. Then, with each new course a new wine. With refills, should one wish. The dinner, as one could expect, lasted over three hours and we were filled to the brim. Actually, we felt that the 'less is more' policy could have been implemented here to some degree and would have actually increased our enjoyment of the special evening. As it was, the dishes became a blur of pretty creations on interesting serving plates and a melange of tastes in our mouths--no distinct memory of any particular dish or combination. A fun experience, but one of excess. The traditional restaurant 'Stüva', in contrast, served hearty, rustic local dishes (stuffed cabbage, deer stew, egg noodles with melted cheese etc). This may be interesting for those not familiar with this type of thing, but we felt the dishes pricey and not all that well executed. The more refined, 'La Cucagna' offered us a 4 course meal with accompanying wines in a modern atmosphere with mountain view. This would be the place to enjoy the typical half-board arrangement for a week's stay. The breakfast buffet was quite acceptable offering fresh breads, muesli. a variety of the famous local dried meats, cereals etc. All in all a pleasant hotel with comfortable furnishings, three restaurants to choose from, beautiful views and a location allowing one to be active and enjoy the alpine surroundings firsthand-either in Winter or Summer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelingwithdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

After several years of traveling to St. Moritz to another hotel we love, The Waldhaus, in Sils Maria, the upper Engadin Valley, we decided we'd try the Paradies the lower Engadin, for a change of mountain scenery-- and because a friend who writes for Travel and Leisure said the Paradies is a superb hotel. Because the lower Engadin was locked away (with no easy access until a tunnel was made) it feels more remote, agrarian, but like the upper Engadin, the older architecture is full of charm. The Valley is gorgeous The elegant Paradies in fairly high on a Mountain, and you have splendid views from every elegant, cozy, hotel room. It's not a large hotel-- it used to be a rather remarkable, modernist private home of an artist. The several different (gourmet) restaurants in the hotel are simply divine. At the same time, the restaurant staff found ways to accommodate for my picky 12 year-old son. The hotel management is probably the best and most personable I've ever seen, anywhere. The hotel lives up to its name.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank resplendentquetzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ftan
1.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Chaste
Schlosshotel Chaste
#1 of 1 in Tarasp
187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#3 of 3 in Ftan
20 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Crusch Alba
Hotel Crusch Alba
#1 of 7 in Zernez
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal
0 mi away
Hotel Engiadina
Hotel Engiadina
#2 of 3 in Ftan
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chasa Allegra
Chasa Allegra
#1 of 2 in Ftan
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradies

Address: Munt Plan 140c, Ftan 7551, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Ftan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ftan
Price Range: £142 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Paradies 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Paradies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing