We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I dream of the Hotel Paradies!”
Review of Hotel Paradies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Paradies
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ftan
Certificate of Excellence
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“I dream of the Hotel Paradies!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Arriving at the Hotel Paradies I was not initially impressed at the hotel's exterior as it felt quietly unobtrusive. I later learned to love this discreet, understated look as you began to feel like a honored guest in someone's luxurious hideway. Upon check in, the staff offered a tour of the property telling us a little about each restaurant, the spa, library, lounge, artwork and even the aromatic woods used in the hotel.

My husband and I, along with our little white dog, stayed in a junior suite. Two oversized picture windows looked out onto breathtaking scenery. The balcony was long and narrow, perfect for the 2 chairs and side table with a lantern which was lit each evening. The rusitc chic bedroom seating area had 2 comfortable chairs and ottoman plus a small built in table and benches, which we used as a desk for two. Complimentary tea arrived in the late afternoons with homemade biscuits and a gorgeous pot of delicious jam or vanilla cream to dip into. The bed was comfortable and the quietness of the surroundings made for a perfect night's sleep. I loved the walk in closet with fragrant pine wood panelling, and our dog had her own bed and water bowl too so she definitely felt right at home.

The spa is small and well equipped. My husband enjoyed his massage...not the best he'd ever had but fine. We rented the hotel's ebikes during our stay and had a blast. It was a great way to see the neighboring villages, enjoy some exercise and feel like a professional cyclist climbing up the steep alp roads. I also took part in a baking class in the Paradies cooking hut, 2,200 metres above sea level...the highest altitude baking class in Europe! We took a ski lift half way and hiked an additional 1 1/2 hours to reach the hut spending the afternoon making cherry dumplings with cream, fruit tarts, drinking hot coffee from an old wood burning stove and enjoying the rustic surroundings. A once and a life time experience!

The cocktail bar/lounge was a perfect spot to unwind, at anytime of day. Its a large area, surrounded by glass to take in the gorgeous scenery, with oversized sofas arranged into separate seating areas. There's a large deck area just off the lounge to enjoy drinks and even breakfast, with massive umbrellas to shade you from the morning rays. A gorgeous fireplace separates the lounge from the small bar area. We could just envision cold winter evenings with the fire crackling in the background.

The restaurants were all of a very high standard. We ventured out one night and were disappointed we did. First, breakfast offered an array of homemade fare, from the yoghurts, breads, freshly squeezed juices and local eggs to gorgeous dried meats from the neighboring salumerias. Dinner in the Stueva was delightful. An intimate, wood panelled room serving traditional foods and always a specialty for the evening. The Michelin starred L'Autezza was a highlight for my us. Every course was exquisite, with such care and preparation going into each dish. I won't be surprised to hear that L'Autezza receives a 2nd star soon!

All these compliments to the property could not be given without a huge kudos to the staff. From the moment I booked my reservations online and began corresponding with the hotel, to the front desk staff who also babysat our dog during dinners, to the waitstaff especially the sommelier (from the Netherlands) who was also, I believe, the restaurants' manager. His knowledge of the wines and foods is outstanding, and he was such a pleasure to chat with everyday. Ms. Bambach, the property manager, was always available, dealing with daily matters but still having the time to answer clients' questions and even helping to serve in the restaurants when necessary. Her presence was always felt even when she was no where to be seen! A perfect hostess!

Will we visit the Hotel Paradies again? A most definite yes!! Yes, it is expensive but the quiet, elegant atmosphere makes The Paradies a perfect spot to relax and unwind. If you're expecting flash, nightlife and entertainment then head to St. Moritz but for us the Hotel Paradies could become a home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theWanderingPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    18
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
85
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moyaux, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have been this sumer in this hotel, which is located in a wonderful environment with a great view on the mountains.
The hotel is good, but the standard room are not at the level of a lot of Relais et Chateaux we have tested before.
The service was very good and we received a warm welcome by all the staff .... but not by the management off the hotel who have been not very polite and very unpleasant (not able to say hello for example)
The restaurant room is very small, the menu limited but very good (..and expensive)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 732LCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

To mention it in advance; the top is a privat dinner in the kitchen, surrounded by a motivated, friendly Chef and his Crew. Interested in kitchen scenes behind the door; book this fabulous and unique event. Since a 5 starhotel has to have a Spa und fitness-Center you will find it aswell, however the dimensions are very small and you have the feeling its there because its a must to have it. Food is excellent but Service sometimes arrogant. Asking the Sommelier for an open wine in a carafe you will get to know that this is not their style. The coffeemachine in the room is installed but missing milk or cream and the sugar is not refilled. The view from the Hotel is splendid. The mattress sags. Is it worth the price?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Swiss luxury hotels usually dont need a review. The Swiss are the hotelier teachers for the rest of the world and know how to do it extremely well.
In this case, the interesting point is to visit a quintessential Swiss luxury hotel but in a boutique form. There is no grand XIX century palatial building, no antiques, no porter, etc but what you experience is an understated luxury with a touch of sophistication.
If you arrive by the charming little red train, a Land Rover driven by an extremely kind driver will be waiting for you at the station. Upon arrival at the hotel a receptionist will tour you through a modern multifloored building to make sure you can take advantage of all their amenities.
We reserved a Junior suite. It was of generous size, with a large balcony, queen size beds, pine wood walk in closet and ample bathroom. The sitting area was very well thought and everything opened to the outsize through picture windows.
The view down and across the valley with a castle on a hilltop, is so beautiful that you could think of it as part of those Swiss Tourist Office promotional photos. I just could not avoid looking into the view every couple of minutes.
The hotel has a top class Spa and sun bed terrace. Two restaurants are more than enough to never leave the premises. The breakfast is fantastic, served as only the Swiss know how to do.
Complimentary WIFI works throughout the hotel with a speed of around 14 Mbps; more than enough for anything you might need.
The staff, from the reception to the guy that serves an afternoon tea with homemade fruit tarts, are very well trained, speak many languagea and know their jobs to perfection.
In conclusion : a luxury hotel in boutique form with a sophisticated touch in decoration in an idyllic setting.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guillermohoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terceira, Portugal
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

There are hundreds of nice places to stay in Switzerland, but few offer you isolation and absolute peace! Paradies in Ftan is absolutely quiet, and the 180 degrees panorama is just breathtaking and stunning. It is a modern construction with a lot of glass, I love it because the views are just incredible and therefore it was the only thing to put huge windows everywhere. But the building is not typical for the area (as for example Hotel Meisser in Guarda). You do not get the real feeling of the Engadine here as it's more sort of an international standard hotel.
But it is very exclusive. It is tiny (just in the category of 20/30 rooms). And its food and staff are very, very nice! It is the ideal place to relax and unwind in the middle of nature, and it's opposite of urban St. Moritz. Try to go for it, it is a very nice place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Love the can-do attitude of the staff members. Totally what a Relais Chateaux hotel ought to be in terms of service. Food is great although not superb in my opinion but you can tell great efforts have been poured into making the dishes. Decor‚ displays and designs are done with utmost sophistication. Sadly‚ the lack of air conditioning requires leaving the windows slightly ajar which brings in tons of creepy crawlies into the bedroom which for city folks would take some getting used to. Window screens will help but do interrupt the breathtaking natural scenery.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DL888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We first visited for one night only in 2011, and it was so good that in late Spring 2013 we returned for 4 nights. Next time it will be for longer again.

It is sometimes difficult to pin down just what makes a good hotel a really great hotel. Being a member of Relais & Chateaux helps because you know that certain standards will be applied, but even so it took us 8 years of looking at the guide before we were finally persuaded to visit, and then only grudgingly because it was a convenient stop on our route.

The external hotel photos don't do justice to the place. It is not terribly attractive, more an apartment block perched on a ledge high above the valley. However the view from the outside looking in, is turned completely on its head by the views from the inside looking out.

You arrive by tortuous roads (from whichever direction) but passing through some of the loveliest villages, streets as narrow as your car, buildings all painted and decorated in the local style, and all as pretty as a picture. Parking involves driving around to the less than obvious front of the hotel, dropping the bags off at the foot of a steep ramp where they are hauled and coaxed up to the reception, then up or down numerous flights of steps to your room.

My wife has arthritis, so was the climb worth it? Every step was agony, but she insists on returning, simply because this is one of the best hotels in the world.

The welcome is warm and very friendly, your bags climb into the distance as you sit and enjoy a glass of Champagne, and views are vast. Look out on what must be 1000 feet or more down into the valley, then soaring up to several snow capped mountains on the other side. Wild flowers are everywhere in the meadows, the air is clear and fresh, and the only sounds are a few cowbells tinkling in the distance.

We have only stayed in the largest suite, and we recommend it. A huge space with large sitting area with fireplace, separate bedroom, two toilets, large bath with a huge window you can open directly above, large shower, and a separate large dressing room, and of course a large balcony.

What really makes us happy is good food, and you will not be disappointed either. There are two restaurants, the gourmet one "L'Autezza" and a simpler one “Stüva Paradis”. Reserve the gourmet one for when you have plenty of time. Chef Martin Göschel is the executive chef and has one Michelin star, though we believe that he deserves better.

The kitchen is one of the largest that we've seen for the number of guests and must be a delight to work in. We enjoyed our pre-dinner nibbles in the kitchen with the staff, each tiny element being created and cooked directly in front of us.

Each of the subsequent tasting menu courses had multiple elements, but all beautifully presented, all novel and with a twist. Each a work of art on a plate, but each element having a distinct, yet harmonious and wonderful flavour.

Dining in the Stüva Paradis restaurant was another experience, equally splendid. This provided simpler dishes, but with big-dish Swiss specialties such as Rösti with bacon and eggs, or huge and well prepared veal chops making filling but intensely delicious meals.

The sommelier is Dutch: how he survives at 1700m when he's never lived at more that 10 feet below sea level, must be due to the miracles of modern medical science. However his knowledge of local wines is vast and we never had anything other than really good choices that he selected for us.

All of the staff, in all departments are excellent, and each know your name. If only it wasn't such a long way from home we'd go more often.

Be warned that this hotel is expensive, but if you enjoy it, then it's worth the outlay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GMH_and_GFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ftan
4.1 mi away
Hotel Meisser
Hotel Meisser
#2 of 4 in Guarda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.1 mi away
Schorta's Hotel Alvetern
2.9 mi away
Romantik Boutique Hotel Guardaval
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Chaste
Schlosshotel Chaste
#1 of 1 in Tarasp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
4.3 mi away
Guarda Lodge
Guarda Lodge
#1 of 4 in Guarda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 16 in Scuol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradies

Property: Hotel Paradies
Address: Munt Plan 140c, Ftan 7551, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Ftan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ftan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Paradies 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Paradies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing