We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite”
Review of Hotel Paradies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Paradies
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ftan
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I absolutely agree with the Superlative comments by other recent reviewers and had a wonderful time here walking, reading, relaxing and enjoying the utterly astounding view from my balcony, the lounge, the breakfast room, the terrace..... Just a few points to add. Not only is the food - especially the breakfast - first class but it relies mainly on locally sourced produce so that breakfast has home baked breads, home made preserves, cheeses and cured meats from local farms, buffalo milk. The rooms and public spaces have original artworks by local artists. Service is personal - they all knew my name - and there are lovely small details such as the candle on the balcony and the herb tea waiting when I reached my room after dinner. Although it's a remote part of Switzerland there are train connections to and from Scuol every hour and local buses from the village down to Scuol every half hour. Breathtaking scenery is complemented by extremely pretty villages including Ftan itself. And as soon as you step out of the hotel you're in the countryside. One word of warning: in early April after the skiing season it was VERY quiet indeed. This suited me completely as a change to recharge batteries but don't go at that time if you're looking for something livelier. I didn't rate the spa because I didn't use it.

Room Tip: Every single room has a balcony looking over the sensational view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank changemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    18
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
85
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gilleleje, Denmark
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel was a bit difficult to find as it was hidden on a small hill behind behind some trees just outside the small village of Ftan. But fortunately we found the hotel. I found the rates on the high side, but after having seen the modern hotel and especially the view from the room, we decided that it was well worth it. I have never stayed in a hotel with such a magnificent view. The staff provided a first class service and really made you feel welcome. Outside the skiing and hiking season there is not much to do in Ftan, except hike, relax, enjoy the tranquility and the excellent spa facilities. The breakfast was also exquisite. We will definitely come back next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joergen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have just come back from a wonderful week at Hotel Paradies. The hotel is in a stunning location at about 1600m above sea level and we woke up to wonderful mountain views each morning.

Hotel review: The hotel is relatively small and feels comfortable yet with all the trappings you would expect from a luxury hotel (good bar, spa, small fitness room, library etc). The service was on the whole superb and any minor issues were sorted out immediately and with apologies. We were able to book whatever we needed activity wise via the hotel and even though we can speak German the whole staff are fluent in English so communication was never a problem. The Dutch tub on the hotel roof above the spa is particularly recommended especially as the sun is setting over the mountains.

Restaurant review 1 (Stuba). This serves traditional, hearty, Engadine cooking. Service is good and prices are reasonable. We ate there 4 nights and had a good meal each time. The specials change daily and are worth checking out.

Restaurant review 2 (L'Autezza). This is situated in a room in the hotel next to the Stuba restaurant and has 1 Michelin star. It is very small (we counted about 14 covers). It offers either a full tasting menu (with accompanying wines if desired) or a reduced tasting menu. No a la carte is available. The service is acceptable although there were minor issues experienced (cork in wine presented to taste, our personalised menus were incorrect with our genders being interchanged, wine from what we suspect was for another table was poured into one of our glasses - fortunately empty - towards the end of the meal). The wine list is excellent (shared with other restaurants in the hotel) and on the whole reasonably priced. However the food price was expensive - 210 CHF or 190 CHF for the full or reduced tasting menu. Overall the food was good but our personal opinion is that overall it was at the level of 1 Michelin star and not 2. By comparison, Ecco in Ascona (2 Michelin stars) is significantly better in terms of the food, service and overall experience, and also cheaper. Summary - for a special occasion only and be prepared to pay high prices.

We will certainly return to the hotel in the future as despite the points mentioned above we had a great time

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I from the U.S. stayed five days in August at this fabulous Relais & Chateaux hotel in a remote part of Switzerland, the Engardin, close to the Austrian border. As we drove towards Ftan, we began to wonder if there was some mistake, because how could there be a luxury hotel in this remote area? But we were on the right road and we arrived at this modern structure overlooking the most amazing view since we were in the Colca Canyon in Peru.

One can never get tired of sitting on the terrace of your room looking at a perfect castle in the middle of a deep valley with soaring snow-clad peaks surrounding it. The charming hotel manager, who multitasks, gave us a detailed local map with ideas of short driving trips for each of the five days, since my wife's knees aren't up to much hiking. We loved everything that she suggested.

We met some delightful fellow patrons - sophisticated elderly Swiss and French. The service was impeccable.

The restaurants are excellent, with delicious food and wines and great service. Expensive when converted into U.S. dollars, though. The spa is small but access is complimentary.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our room was directly below the hotel terrace. The view was magnificent. The rooms on the east sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed there in September 2013 for a prolonged weekend. This place is fantastic! Not so easy to reach, but it's worth the trip. We had one of the small suites with a balcony and view of the mountains. As far as I could see, all rooms have a good view. The room was very nicely furnished and decorated. Cool mix of traditional wood and modern design. The staff is extremely friendly and the service is spot on. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Arriving at the Hotel Paradies I was not initially impressed at the hotel's exterior as it felt quietly unobtrusive. I later learned to love this discreet, understated look as you began to feel like a honored guest in someone's luxurious hideway. Upon check in, the staff offered a tour of the property telling us a little about each restaurant, the spa, library, lounge, artwork and even the aromatic woods used in the hotel.

My husband and I, along with our little white dog, stayed in a junior suite. Two oversized picture windows looked out onto breathtaking scenery. The balcony was long and narrow, perfect for the 2 chairs and side table with a lantern which was lit each evening. The rusitc chic bedroom seating area had 2 comfortable chairs and ottoman plus a small built in table and benches, which we used as a desk for two. Complimentary tea arrived in the late afternoons with homemade biscuits and a gorgeous pot of delicious jam or vanilla cream to dip into. The bed was comfortable and the quietness of the surroundings made for a perfect night's sleep. I loved the walk in closet with fragrant pine wood panelling, and our dog had her own bed and water bowl too so she definitely felt right at home.

The spa is small and well equipped. My husband enjoyed his massage...not the best he'd ever had but fine. We rented the hotel's ebikes during our stay and had a blast. It was a great way to see the neighboring villages, enjoy some exercise and feel like a professional cyclist climbing up the steep alp roads. I also took part in a baking class in the Paradies cooking hut, 2,200 metres above sea level...the highest altitude baking class in Europe! We took a ski lift half way and hiked an additional 1 1/2 hours to reach the hut spending the afternoon making cherry dumplings with cream, fruit tarts, drinking hot coffee from an old wood burning stove and enjoying the rustic surroundings. A once and a life time experience!

The cocktail bar/lounge was a perfect spot to unwind, at anytime of day. Its a large area, surrounded by glass to take in the gorgeous scenery, with oversized sofas arranged into separate seating areas. There's a large deck area just off the lounge to enjoy drinks and even breakfast, with massive umbrellas to shade you from the morning rays. A gorgeous fireplace separates the lounge from the small bar area. We could just envision cold winter evenings with the fire crackling in the background.

The restaurants were all of a very high standard. We ventured out one night and were disappointed we did. First, breakfast offered an array of homemade fare, from the yoghurts, breads, freshly squeezed juices and local eggs to gorgeous dried meats from the neighboring salumerias. Dinner in the Stueva was delightful. An intimate, wood panelled room serving traditional foods and always a specialty for the evening. The Michelin starred L'Autezza was a highlight for my us. Every course was exquisite, with such care and preparation going into each dish. I won't be surprised to hear that L'Autezza receives a 2nd star soon!

All these compliments to the property could not be given without a huge kudos to the staff. From the moment I booked my reservations online and began corresponding with the hotel, to the front desk staff who also babysat our dog during dinners, to the waitstaff especially the sommelier (from the Netherlands) who was also, I believe, the restaurants' manager. His knowledge of the wines and foods is outstanding, and he was such a pleasure to chat with everyday. Ms. Bambach, the property manager, was always available, dealing with daily matters but still having the time to answer clients' questions and even helping to serve in the restaurants when necessary. Her presence was always felt even when she was no where to be seen! A perfect hostess!

Will we visit the Hotel Paradies again? A most definite yes!! Yes, it is expensive but the quiet, elegant atmosphere makes The Paradies a perfect spot to relax and unwind. If you're expecting flash, nightlife and entertainment then head to St. Moritz but for us the Hotel Paradies could become a home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theWanderingPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moyaux, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have been this sumer in this hotel, which is located in a wonderful environment with a great view on the mountains.
The hotel is good, but the standard room are not at the level of a lot of Relais et Chateaux we have tested before.
The service was very good and we received a warm welcome by all the staff .... but not by the management off the hotel who have been not very polite and very unpleasant (not able to say hello for example)
The restaurant room is very small, the menu limited but very good (..and expensive)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller14590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ftan
1.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Chaste
Schlosshotel Chaste
#1 of 1 in Tarasp
155 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Meisser
Hotel Meisser
#2 of 4 in Guarda
274 reviews
2.1 mi away
Schorta's Hotel Alvetern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Astras
Hotel Astras
#1 of 16 in Scuol
255 reviews
4.3 mi away
Guarda Lodge
Guarda Lodge
#1 of 4 in Guarda
157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#3 of 3 in Ftan
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradies

Property: Hotel Paradies
Address: Munt Plan 140c, Ftan 7551, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Ftan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ftan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Paradies 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Paradies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing