We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Paradies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Paradies
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ftan
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

This hotel is very great in all aspects, Architecture, Location,Rooms, Restatutant, Staff. It's above Swiss or International hotel standard. We had been stay in many 5 stars International hotels which are so perfect and thoughful for guests. but this hotel can make it beyond that expectation.

At frist we can not find the parking space and the reception entrace, but they can turn my feeling upside down by upgrading us to the suite. We looking for having dinner at the Gourmet restaurant. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed when I got there. But the existing restaurant was serving us a memorable dinner.

The staff are so helpful and polite. The manager are so nice by greeting us. They treated every customer like they are VIP.

The location of the hotel is outside ftan village. The view from our room are so great overlooking small village and Tarasp castle. It will be ok for traveller with private car.

We are looking forward to be back there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    18
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
82
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2008

After a recent management change, the property has been slightly refurbished, making the interiors of this place very appealing. Unfortunately, some aspects got overlooked, particularly the quality of beds (hard mattresses, separate beds that are so light that they move easily on the hardwood floor, no down feather beds) .

What struck us most is that during the entire stay we did not feel we were in the Swiss alps but instead in a Hamburg town hotel, which is where most of the staff was imported from very recently. With one exception, none of the staff was able to understand or speak any of the two local languages, which we found rather striking.

The biggest disappointment however, was the cuisine. Announced with 18 Gault Millau points, we obviously arrived with high expectations. We joined the 'festive' Christmas dinner, which was nothing but a bland and uninspired combination of rather standard fare (a lot of foie gras but nothing else on one plate, hard-and-dry-cooked duck together with various pieces of vegetable that we could only distinguish by color on another one. The next day, we were treated to Raclette, a Swiss dish. The cheese was simply without taste, as were the accompanying pickles. An absolute disappointment.

And finally, after we had shed out a significant amount of money without asking for a discount, the hotel manager, who happened to be in the reception area during our checkout, avoided to even say goodbye to the guests who had dared to complain a day ago and instead rushed away into her office.

  • Liked — The location, views and the interior design
  • Disliked — The staff, the beds, the inconsistency of the cuisine
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jfkunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

My husband and I have stayed in the Engadine previously (in Ardez, at the Schorta's Alvatern, a perfectly adequate property with excellent food). We were so happy we decided to upgrade, however -- the Paradies transformed our trip from a practical hiking holiday into an amazingly romantic weekend.

By the way, we made all our reservations by contacting the hotel directly by email, in English, and received immediate replies. The staff was all very kind in speaking English to us when things got too complext for our German. We enjoyed our first visit so much, we went back two weekends later, and had similarly positive email experiences. I wonder if there has been a staffing change since the review which complained issues with email response.

We splurged and got a suite with a living room -- we had two terraces and each room had the same amazing, amazing view. If you were too tired to hike or otherwise be out and about, just laying on the chaise lounge absorbing the view was a worthy day's activity. The bed was standard Swiss (two twins pushed together) but very comfortable, with heavenly cloud-like duvets. Very nice, large bathroom. Large walk-in closet perfect for year-round use (lots of room to sort out wet/snowy things). The pine that they used in constructing much of the room gave the place a lovely smell.

Although all the rooms are supposed to have great views, if you are sad at the lack of a terrace in your room, just go and enjoy lounging in the elegant indoor and outdoor terrace areas, where you can get a drink or lunch or laze on one of the couches. Breakfast is a hearty buffet that caters to both European and American tastes. They will make you anything you like for lunch -- we requested something not on the menu (salad with broiled chicken on top) and they made it taste out of this world. We ate in the "middle" fancy restaurant one night (good food, a bit too high brow for us) and the tradiational Engadine restaurant one night (much more our speed). We never had the chance to try the gastronomic restaurant but I'm sure it would have been a show-stopper. A few of the nights we didn't dine at the hotel, we either ate at our hike's end-point, or went back to Schorta's Alvetern via the alarming half-paved road, and tucked into their simple and hearty fare.

  • Liked — The comfort, views, and location.
  • Disliked — The fanciness of two of the three restaurants, and the so-so spa.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LiteraryChick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2006

Excellent hotel / great restaurant / increadibly friendly personel - if you happen to reserve a room.

However, online room inquiries by email seem to be ignored. Tried 3 times, the last time I received an answer 4 weeks later. My complaint was ignored again.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZurichCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2005

I stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Paradise in October, 2005 and the area is wonderfully peaceful....a real stress reliever hideaway near the eastern border of switzerland/Austria. This hotel property overlooks a picture postcard valley of eastern switzerland. The air is crisp and clean at 4,000 ft. above sea level and the hotel sets on the side of a mountain. The hotel Chef/kitchen is EXCELLENT and the meals were simply wonderful. The hotel itself is 4 star but needs some renovations. The beds were too hard and the hotel staff needs to do a much better job cleaning the place as it is a 4 star swiss hotel. This hotel is a wee bit pricy for U.S. standards($225/night) but.... I will say the hotel service staff was 4 star and very helpful. Great area for hiking and try the thermal baths in the town/village of Scoul(6km away a real treat). Overall, a wonderful break from the city life and i will return again. This hotel and area is into WELLNESS and has wonderful programs of massage, relaxation, ect.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ftan
2.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 16 in Scuol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#2 of 2 in Vulpera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
1.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Chaste
Schlosshotel Chaste
#1 of 1 in Tarasp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Schorta's Hotel Alvetern
2.1 mi away
Hotel Altana
Hotel Altana
#5 of 16 in Scuol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Meisser
Hotel Meisser
#2 of 4 in Guarda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradies

Property: Hotel Paradies
Address: Munt Plan 140c, Ftan 7551, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Ftan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ftan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Paradies 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Paradies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing