We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Fleur de Lys
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de Ville(Gruyeres)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
53
49
20
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
49
20
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsraclettebreadmain streetstone's throwimposing castlelovely hotelday tripperscheese fondueclotted creamyogurtgorgeous viewschocolate factorybroccharmcountrysidevillagekm
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this charming hotel in Gruyeres. It is beautifully situated in the centre of the medieval town. The service was sincere and friendly with a very helpful staff. Our room had an additional couch.

Room Tip: Room 5 has windows at two sides which allows views of the medieval town wall and garden.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilmaSchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Arrived in deep snow recently, which is the perfect way to experience Gruyere. We parked quite close by-probably would be more difficult in season-there is a panoramic view around the countryside which is wonderful. We walked a few steps to the hotel which is family run and welcoming. Very typically Swiss building- all dark wood. Our room was basic but adequate-bathroom needs updating. Food and atmosphere very good. After a lovely Raclette with surprisingly mild cheese we went to walk it off through a snow clad street towards the castle, where there is a fabulous bar -Giger connected to the Giger museum/

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbaileyBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed in the charming Fleur De Lys in Dec. 2010.
The hotel is perfect for a warm, romantic getaway.
The room was clean, spacy, elegently styled and warm.
Breakfast was rich and included an assortment of cheeses and baked pastery.
I highly reccomend visiting Fleur de Lys for a romantic, magical stay.
The staff was always pleasent and the resturant was wonderful- we had dinner the twice and it was great.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed here in late June, 2011. The location is perfect, in the middle of the small town of Gruyere. We had two rooms, both were basic, clean and quiet. The furniture is Ikea/student dorm style and the bathrooms, although very functional and clean, are very dated. The breakfast was included in the price, it too was basic, but fine (cheese, bread, jams, hard boiled eggs, cold meats and cold cereals). We had one lunch at the hotel, ordered the quiches and found them very over priced and bland. We had our other meals at the restaurant across the street. The hotel is closed in the winter, so they may not answer your emails this time of year. If you are booking for the summer you can do so via the Swiss tourism site.

The town is very small, but the views are amazingly beautiful and it is worth spending a day or two here. The castle is interesting and houses some art exhibitions. Don't miss the Giger Bar (based on the Alien movies - you have to see it to believe it - this is what brought us to Gruyere) and the artist's museum that houses his sci-fi concept art, paintings and sculptures as well as his personal collection of art. http://www.hrgiger.com/ There is also a small museum of Tibetan art, which I enjoyed but it is a little pricey for the size of the collection.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purpleirises1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We were in search of a nice place to have a quick and pleasant local dish (we love the cheese and dairy products from the Gruyère) but were very much disappointed. Having ordered 3 quiches à la Gruyère we soon discovered that there were just some generic pie crusts filled with some sort of completely tasteless gelatinish paste. The price however was very exclusive and hence this review. Neither of us 3 was able to eat more than a third of it even though we were very hungry, it was that bad. Nobody seemed indifferent to our not eating what we had ordered.
Here in Switzerland you can buy a frozen quiche at any mayor food store and have a much, much better product. All in all it was a very disappointing and expensive experience even though the surroundings in Gruyère are wonderful and memorable. This place gives you the feeling that they cater mainly to one time tourists.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopherDe105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews