We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location and service”
Review of La Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Fleur de Lys
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gruyeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is right inside the small town of Gruyere, so the location is perfect. The rooms were clean and the help was very kind and helpful. We arrived early, and our room wasn't ready. We were able to place our bags inside the room until it was cleaned. We were also able to look into every available room and choose which room we wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryhumerickhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed 9 days this sommer with my children in Fleur de Lys. If you have a wish or concern about your Staying, just say it, Mrs. Oeffner and her team of people will do all what they can to make your staying very pleasant. This is my experience.

The food is excellent, I really recommend the Lamb Ribs, the trout with almonds, the steaks, and the Fondues. Also a normal mix salad is really a piece of art, it looks like a huge flower.
They change towels and bring shampoos, chocolates and wipe the floor every day!!

We spent the first two days visiting the castel, (please do not miss the film about the story of this wonderful place), the HR Gyger museum, the Tibet Museum (part of this place is inside a church, this makes a mixture of christian-Buddism Ambiente, it very peaceful), The Gyger Cafee, the Children Play Ground, walking around de City Wall and the Village.

Le Gruyere is in the center of a Region. So during day time we visited so many beautiful places and at night we slept in Le Gruyere at Fleur the Lys. So after breakfast we drove one day to Fribourg City and took the small blue city train at the Theater Equilibre
Next day we visited Papilorama ( it is a winter garden full of huge colourful buterflyes) and the city of Murten (It is a beautiful middel age city, take your swimming-suit, it has a beautiful lake and get lunch at Des Bains Restaurant at the lake)
We also went to Aqua Park and Swiss Vapour Parc.
Another day we visited New Chatel City. I also recommend to visit Le Bains du Charmey, the Chocolate Fabrik of Cailler in Broc, the City of Bulle and if you can stand high Mountains go to Le Moleson. Please do not forget to visit Le Gruyere Cheese Fabrik!!!

I wish you a lot of fun!!!

Room Tip: I satyed in a room on the side. It has a view to the citiy wall and a Tower. The city in summer is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puckysita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We spent three wonderful nights in La Fleur de Lys, while exploring other parts of La Gruyeres. Our room was large and very clean and we had a wonderful view over the valley at the back of the Hotel. Catherine is a charming hostess who always found time to engage in conversation about our visit. She and her staff did their best to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay. There was plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast with cereals, bread, fruit, yoghurt, meat and cheese. Hard-boiled eggs were also prepared if requested. We highly recommend la Fleur de Lys.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a beautiful view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this charming hotel in Gruyeres. It is beautifully situated in the centre of the medieval town. The service was sincere and friendly with a very helpful staff. Our room had an additional couch.

Room Tip: Room 5 has windows at two sides which allows views of the medieval town wall and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilmaSchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Arrived in deep snow recently, which is the perfect way to experience Gruyere. We parked quite close by-probably would be more difficult in season-there is a panoramic view around the countryside which is wonderful. We walked a few steps to the hotel which is family run and welcoming. Very typically Swiss building- all dark wood. Our room was basic but adequate-bathroom needs updating. Food and atmosphere very good. After a lovely Raclette with surprisingly mild cheese we went to walk it off through a snow clad street towards the castle, where there is a fabulous bar -Giger connected to the Giger museum/

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbaileyBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed in the charming Fleur De Lys in Dec. 2010.
The hotel is perfect for a warm, romantic getaway.
The room was clean, spacy, elegently styled and warm.
Breakfast was rich and included an assortment of cheeses and baked pastery.
I highly reccomend visiting Fleur de Lys for a romantic, magical stay.
The staff was always pleasent and the resturant was wonderful- we had dinner the twice and it was great.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed here in late June, 2011. The location is perfect, in the middle of the small town of Gruyere. We had two rooms, both were basic, clean and quiet. The furniture is Ikea/student dorm style and the bathrooms, although very functional and clean, are very dated. The breakfast was included in the price, it too was basic, but fine (cheese, bread, jams, hard boiled eggs, cold meats and cold cereals). We had one lunch at the hotel, ordered the quiches and found them very over priced and bland. We had our other meals at the restaurant across the street. The hotel is closed in the winter, so they may not answer your emails this time of year. If you are booking for the summer you can do so via the Swiss tourism site.

The town is very small, but the views are amazingly beautiful and it is worth spending a day or two here. The castle is interesting and houses some art exhibitions. Don't miss the Giger Bar (based on the Alien movies - you have to see it to believe it - this is what brought us to Gruyere) and the artist's museum that houses his sci-fi concept art, paintings and sculptures as well as his personal collection of art. http://www.hrgiger.com/ There is also a small museum of Tibetan art, which I enjoyed but it is a little pricey for the size of the collection.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purpleirises1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gruyeres
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Gruyeres Wellness & Seminaires
0 mi away
Hostellerie Saint-Georges
0 mi away
Hotel de Ville
Hotel de Ville
#3 of 4 in Gruyeres
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
ibis Bulle La Gruyere
4.7 mi away
Hotel Cailler
Hotel Cailler
#1 of 3 in Charmey
392 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Sapin
Le Sapin
#2 of 3 in Charmey
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fleur de Lys

Address: rue du Bourg 14, Gruyeres 1663, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > La Gruyere > Gruyeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gruyeres
Price Range: £97 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice hotel in the middle of the town of Gruyères.Charming and confortable rooms with view to the mountains. Lovely food at the restaurant : cheese specialities, fish and meat dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fleur De Lys Switzerland/Gruyeres, La Gruyere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing