We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stopover location with helfull and friendly staff”
Review of Landgasthof Kreuz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Landgasthof Kreuz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kappel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed here for a stopover on the way to Italy. we had a room for four people + a baby bed. The room is basic but good enough for a good stop over sleep. There is ample parking space and quite a large restaurant. The restaurant is divided in two area's, one is bit more bistro like and that's a plus if you are eating with younger kids. The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel is located near the motorway and there is a gas station across the street, and a Macdonald's op the road.

we'll remember this place next time we drive up here

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dutchman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were driving from the UK to Tuscany and stopped off here for the night. This hotel is about 10 minutes from the motorway and so very convenient. We arrived quite late and were welcomed by the husband and wife team who run the hotel. They were also able to keep our food in their freezer for the night.

The room for 3 was very clean and pleasant and all that we needed for the night to reinvigorate us for the rest of the journey. The price was perhaps a bit high for general European overnight hotels though average for Switzerland.

Room Tip: We had the room for 3 and were told that it is their largest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MustTravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is ideal for breaking your journey through Europe.
Perfectly clean and equipped rooms with good insulation. Superb evening menu in the restaurant. All server with a smile, making you feel most welcome. As previous reviews have said both Edith and Peter can converse in perfect English, which is a definite bonus on arriving after many hours of solid driving and a brain unable to summon up even the most basic foreign words.
The hotel is at a cross roads, but traffic is light during the night. And as a precaution the hotel does provide ear plugs beside the bed just in case.
It being the first day of the winter snows, the hotel was already wonderfully warm throughout.
This is a hotel that will be on our go back to list for the future.

Room Tip: There is a back to the hotel, which if you are worried that you may be troubled by the road, you sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith-WeberKK, Manager at Landgasthof Kreuz, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you very much for your visit - hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stumbled onto this gem on our way thru Switzerland. A beautiful house, super clean, modern and most of all an innkeeper and his wife who personally attend to guests. Peter, the innkeeper, is also the chef. He makes great roesti (Swiss specialty) served in the bar area. There is also a formal restaurant that we did not try. The prices are fair. We had a great breakfast. I don't know much about the area because we were driving through.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith-WeberKK, Inhaber at Landgasthof Kreuz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you very much for your very nice compliments.
And just by the way - the area is very nice and there are many beautiful things to do and see.
Just that you know it for the next time. We have lots of propositions for you :-).
Hope to see you another time in Switzerland in the Kreuz Kappel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for just a night while traveling across Switzerland but was really impressed with how well it is run, great staff, good food and the clean, modern design at a very fair price. Additionally, the staff is multilingual, which is nice for foreign travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith-WeberKK, Manager at Landgasthof Kreuz, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you very much for all this positiv words. Hope to see you soon in our hotel again!
All the best.
Edith and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights.I was competing in the world championship Duathlon long course
in nearby Zofingen a 10k run 150k bike and 30k run all on hilly terrain..
Edith and Peter who run this hotel are a very friendly couple with excellent English language
skills.Our room was spacious ,with shower and tv. Beds were comfortable and we didn't hear
any noise from other rooms
Breakfast was good with choice of cereals, eggs, meats, cheeses, a selection of homemade jams and fresh breads and croissants.Breakfast included in the price
For evening meal you can choose to sit outside or in the breakfast room or a separate delightful dining room .We ate here once in the dining room and we were very impressed with the quality of the food and the attentive service. A lot of locals eat here .
There is hardly any traffic noise in the evening or night which helps in getting a good nights sleep.
We both had a very enjoyable stay here and will certainly book up here again when in the area
Thank you Edith and Peter for our great stay with you

.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John1000580423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith-WeberKK, Manager at Landgasthof Kreuz, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear John
Thank you very much for beeing in our hotel. It was nice to meet you and your wife.
Hope to see you next year again for the race. Wish you a well running year.
Take care, all the best
Edith and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We chose this hotel as a one-night stopover on our way from Austria to France. Staff were very friendly, food was excellent and it was close enough to the highway for easy accessibility but far enough to feel yourself in the Swiss countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ophthal_erg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kappel
2.4 mi away
ibis Rothrist Olten
ibis Rothrist Olten
#1 of 1 in Rothrist
180 reviews
1.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Egerkingen
Movenpick Hotel Egerkingen
#1 of 2 in Egerkingen
556 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Egerkingen
Comfort Hotel Egerkingen
#2 of 2 in Egerkingen
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Balsthal
Hotel Balsthal
#1 of 1 in Balsthal
32 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Amaris
Hotel Amaris
#2 of 5 in Olten
112 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Olten
Hotel Olten
#1 of 5 in Olten
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landgasthof Kreuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgasthof Kreuz

Address: Mittelgaeustrasse 20 | 4616 Kappel bei Olten, Kappel 4616, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Solothurn > Kappel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kappel
Price Range: £84 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landgasthof Kreuz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our long-established, stylish country inn with its 350 year old history, is known far and wide for its fine cuisine and friendly hospitality. Free Wifi and free parking for Hotelguest. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Landgasthof Kreuz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing