We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant restaurant”
Review of The Rustico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rustico Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Klosters
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Rustico has a brilliant little restaurant which offers a great variety of food ranging from local Swiss specialities to gourmet dishes. In particular, their deserts were amazing. We were so impressed that we came back for dinner on another ski trip this winter.
The Rustico also offers nice and comfortable hotel rooms. We stayed there for a skiing weekend at the beginning of the season and liked it a lot. But don't expect the same standard as in the restaurant. The accommodation was certainly good value for money and the hotel is ideal for a short skiing holiday as it is situated within walking distance of the cable car.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HighlanderJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

After a 37 year Hyades my wife and I returned to Davos Klosters this past February. Although, 37 years we stayed in Davos Platz this trip we decide to stay in Klosters at the Hotel Rustico a small hotel “Klein and Feine”. ! The hotel is owned and operated by a most friendly and talented couple, Anja and Jorge. Jorge is the Chef an outstanding one at that, while Anja who is ever present, manages the front of the hotel, and restaurant. We had the most enjoyable time at the hotel especially the restaurant and bar. The restaurant is without question the finest restaurant in Klosters. Additionally, the Hotel has a wonderful Fondue stube. The Prattiger Huschi with old world charm serves many variations of fabulous cheese and meat fondue. Reservations a must!

My wife fell and fractured her arm on the last run and last day of our vacation both Jorge and Anja assisted us in finding a doctor in Kloster and assisted us the next day to the train.
Hospitality Extraordinaire!

As the hotel does not have a pool we had access to the Klosters Fitness Center

Room Tip: Select a junior suite The hotel does not have pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I have to preface this review by saying that I looked at numerous hotels in Klosters and the Rustico ticked all our boxes. I'm not sure that we would've found a better place to stay in Klosters, which is a very expensive place.

However, I thought it worth including some observations so that travellers aren't taken by surprise at 232 CHF a night.

Location is good, a short walk from station and Gotschabahn lift. Surrounded by hotels with restaurant and wellness facilities. Occasionally we would hear traffic from the road (which is very close).

It is a relatively small historical building compared to larger hotels in town. There is no lift but there is a ski room directly off from the entrance.

The owners speak English but some of their staff do not.

Lobby area is small. Terrace would be lovely in summer.

The rooms and decor have "character". Lots of storage space and a safe. Clean and neat, but old fashioned. Beds were springy and felt old. Floor sloped down toward the street slightly but enough to be noticeable. Pillows were feather and had to be folded double to suit our personal preferences.

Bathroom was small but functional with wall radiator for warmth.

No English language tv channels.

Breakfast comprised cereal, boiled eggs, fruit, croissants, bread, tea/coffee to your liking.

The highlight was definitely the half board. Dinners were superb and cost 55CHF per person. Appetiser, soup, main and dessert -- all very enjoyable, beautifully presented and delicious.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank perthmarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights during a ski weekend in Klosters and unfortnately left me feeling a little disappointed. Firstly the ski room was small and messy and also not heated for the boots. Not with other peoples things but with the owners things, including a vaccuum cleaner. The entrance to the hotel is near where the ski room is, and the entrance was very messy. It had bags of either sheets or towels there constantly.

The room itself was nice and had lots of windows. I cant make any complaints about the room, as it was nice.
Breakfast was okay, but both mornings we went it felt like it was almost the end of breakfast with minimal food...

Last year we went to the fondue restaurant they also own, and that is why we decided to stay here. The restaurant and the food is wonderful..but bookings are necessary because it is small. But i cant really recommend the hotel. It just seemed really untidy and in need of some care.

The lady who owns it is really really lovely. Her husband runs the restaurant, although i didnt speak to him in length because his english is not great.
Next time i am going to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkpeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel for a very good discount price which included breakfast. In general the room and bathroom were nice and clean.
Unfortunately there are white curtains in the room which means you will wake up at the crack of dawn and also during the night it does not really get dark (due to street lamps). Apparently there are shutters you can use, but we were not aware of this. Also we woke up early because of children running around above our heads. To make things worse there is a lively bar right across the street (which is really nice) which means people are sitting outside and lots of noise coming from that will keep you awake.
Having said that, the breakfast was really good and the owners are very friendly, so if it hadn't been for the bad sleep we would definitely recommend this charming hotel. It just wasn't for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Si73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Absolutely delicious in a warm and welcoming atmosphere. We enjoyed a lovely evening meal at the Rustico - 2 people - 2 dogs and a great evening. Anja and Joerg were perfect hosts engaging and attentive. I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I'm not normally one for writing reviews on hotels but our stay at The Rustico Hotel was so good I think they should be commended. A small hotel yes, but all the better for it. Some may prefer to stay in large but anonymous places, but The Rustico has genuine charm, style and comfort. Warm welcome on arrival, room with balcony to enjoy amazing sunsets and seriously good food. We stayed for 6 nights and sampled breakfast, lunch and dinner and did not eat anywhere better in Klosters. Good location 6 minutes away from the station and Gotschna cable car - used our visitor cards extensively to travel around Klosters, Davos and onwards to Filisur using train, cable cars and mountain railways. Good value

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Klosters hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Steinbock
Hotel Restaurant Steinbock
#3 of 15 in Klosters
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sport Klosters
Hotel Sport Klosters
#6 of 15 in Klosters
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#1 of 15 in Klosters
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Albeina Klosters
0.0 mi away
Silvretta Parkhotel Klosters
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rustico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rustico Hotel

Address: Landstrasse 194, Klosters 7250, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Klosters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Klosters
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rustico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rustico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing