We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real mountain gem - perfect for walkers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berghaus Alpenroesli
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Klosters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a gem of a hotel that is well worth the very steep drive up to its location high above Klosters. The views from the rooms and terrace are just magnificent - especially on a warm summer evening which we were lucky enough to have on our stay. The house oozes charm and character and provides a welcome haven after a big day out on the hiking trails. The kitchen is excellent and we enjoyed two evening meals which, although pricey, were delicious!
There are a couple of quirks though - on Thursday the hotel closes its kitchen which means that there are no meals (or even drinks available in the bar). We returned from our hike to find the house was all locked up - except for our rooms. Unless you have a car, you could be stranded as it's a long walk down to the town. We would love the owners to install an honesty bar on Thursday - many hotels do it! It would also be good to have a half board option for the more budget minded.The restaurant is expensive if you are eating in every night.

Room Tip: Some of our group shared the family room - while there were two rooms, neither had doors. This was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neptunetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

We hiked the long hour to find this location up the hill from Klosters. We didn't stay in the hotel but we did have an outstanding meal accompanied by a fantastic wine list. After dinner, we all got on "sledges" and screamed (not literally) down the hill in the moonlight. A memorable wonderful evening.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ohdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We've been recomended this restaurant by a colleague who knows Klosters pretty well. The whole experience of dining in this remote place and coming down sledging sounded very exciting. The food was ok but nothing exceptional. However the evening was ruined by an icy service. The German lady who served us was very unfriendly: never a smile, sounded very impatient, we had the impression she was doing us a favor by serving us ...Our guest from London was shocked by her behaviour especially for the prices charged at the end! The cherry on the cake was that she never brought us the dessert menu. And one hour after we finished the main and we asked for one, she said that the kitchen closed and that there were no desserts left, except ice cream. Somehow, we felt so bad about the whole process. Management might have felt our discontent, so they offered us one ice cream. But the damage was done and our guest left unhappy and shocked. Such a pity in a place where tourists are getting rare and where hotels are struggling to fill their rooms because of the strong Swiss Franc and the tendancy of visitors prefering neighbouring hospitable Austria!

Room Tip: Take a table looking onto the valley, next to the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kizkouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

After a beautiful 20min walk up the mountain you reach this newly renovated restaurant with an amazing view!! After dinner you can sledge down which is great fun.
If you are in Klosters, a visit there is definitely a must.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Feykir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

And of course, everyone is very friendly: The staff made us feel at home, which is priceless when travelling. The fact that we couldn't drive there makes this a location which feels and is far above daily hassle. However there are plenty of sleighs to take a fast and fun 5 minute ride to Klosters. And for the way up there was always a bus at our command.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simonstauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

It was the perfect weekend - tons of fresh snow, we took the train from Zurich and were picked up from the train station at dusk by the hotel one-and-a-half hours later, were raced up the mountain to the lodge where no other car would dare venture without chains and spikes in those conditions, were warmly welcomed by the proprietors and thank goodness not held up with filling out registration forms but could enjoy a lovely clean and modern room not without Alpine charm (incl noise from people in other rooms), followed by snuggly dinner by the fireplace in the restaurant with an excellent bottle of red. Breakfast was also most enjoyable, available til late. Wifi throughout provided access to the "other world". Service orientation of everyone was excellent*

Room Tip: we stayed in Edelweiss. Has nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marrakech12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I reviewed the restuarant a year ago and hated it, the hotel has changed hands and I think the change is much for the better. The staff are friendlier and the food much better, we had lunch on a day when the weather prevented us from skiing and we had and great time. If you've had a bad experince before give it another go, you might be surprised!

Room Tip: If you visit in the winter, rent a sledge to go home!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrickthehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Klosters hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Steinbock
Hotel Restaurant Steinbock
#3 of 15 in Klosters
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#1 of 15 in Klosters
183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sport Klosters
Hotel Sport Klosters
#6 of 15 in Klosters
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Albeina Klosters
1.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Chesa Grischuna
1.1 mi away
Silvretta Parkhotel Klosters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghaus Alpenroesli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghaus Alpenroesli

Address: Talstrasse 135 | 7250 Klosters, Klosters 7250, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Klosters
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Klosters
Price Range: £164 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Berghaus Alpenroesli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing