We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Gem in my favourite Swiss town”
Review of Hotel Piz Buin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Piz Buin
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Klosters
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Gem in my favourite Swiss town”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I visited this hotel for drinks a couple of days into our 3 week annual holiday in Klosters. Despite being regular visitors to the town in all seasons for 8 years, this is the first time we had strayed from our regular haunts. I am so very glad that we did!

The bar is stunning. The furnishings are fabulous mix of old and new. The clean modern feel still has that touch of traditional Swiss alpine luxury that we had fallen in love with all those years ago.

Regardless of how nice the bricks and mortar are, if the staff and service fall short of the mark - this all pales into insignificance. I can honestly say that all the staff we met at the Piz Buin were amazing! We were made to feel so welcome, its as if had been regulars for years.

We booked a table in the bar for dinner one night. The food, service and presentation was first class. Social commitments were the only reason we didn't dine more times. If you are in Klosters and want a great night out, I can highly recommend.

I look forward to visiting the Piz Buin during my winter holidays later in the year, and wish to thank the staff (especially Martina) for a fabulous time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    45
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
51
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Visiting during Summer- the town is quiet including the hotel Grateful for an upgrade to a Studio room. It is large , renovated with a kitchenette - we choose to cook ourselves as the prices in all restaurants are very expensive - typical Swiss currency exchange .We were very grateful for Davos/Klosters summer pass which gave us free gondola rides up the mountains Breakfast is included however nothing special.

Room Tip: Search all websites for best deal book cheapest room and hope/ ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackson61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Piz Buin Hotel is undergoing some renovations at the moment. So it's all a bit of a mix of old and new. Our room was nice though and very spacious. The bathroom on the other hand was really old, but clean, and definitely needs redoing. But I'm sure that is going to happen as part of the renovations and I heard that several other rooms had already been refurbished completely. I would recommend to ask at the time of booking so that you know what to expect.
The location in the centre of Klosters is great. The hotel is only a short walk away from the cable car station and very close to other restaurants and bars. Also, the Bär bar in the hotel is a great place for drinks after skiing or after dinner. It is designed in a wonderful contemporary alpine chic style and is ideal for warming up after a day on the slopes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighlanderJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I booked directly via the hotel and the deal was for 5 nights with breakfast and 5 day ski pass included. It was for one of their classic rooms not the smarter Alpen rooms. Everything about the hotel was excellent. It is a 5 min walk to the station, cable car and bottom of the ski piste. The hotel bar serves nice evening meals with an example menu on the website. The bar also appeared popular with the locals. The staff were all excellent and being allowed to shower and change in the Spa after the last ski day before heading to Zurich Airport.
I had a room at the front of the hotel which some may find a bit noise when the village comes to life early in the morning. Klosters is a great place, not much night life (more in Davos) but skiing was excellent.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nicholas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I cannot understand the generally positive reviews. On service alone this hotel receives a rating of one, possibly two points. We had a studio recently for a week and we were using the parking garage.

The studio as most of the Hotel seems recently renovated and in good, clean condition. Very well done, actually.

Service, however, is way below standards for a Hotel that sports four stars:

- the studio has a kitchen corner; daily cleaning EXCLUDES the kitchen part. Why? No idea. We used it only for the occasional coffee, tea, or cutting some fruit, or preparing a small plate with cheese and things. They would not clean it for the whole week.

- the coffee machine was supplied with capsules which were never replaced

- the studio has a fireplace but you are not really supposed to use it; there are no utensils and like the kitchen corner it is not being part of daily cleaning

- room service: they don't want to Service and add CHF16 per Person but most of the time they did not answer the phone when called

Breakfast has a wide offer of items but is still not enticing.
The parking garage is 30 years old. Difficult to get in and out, for vehicles and for People.

Positives include the location. The cross-country trail starts across the road, and we received a 10% Discount in a ski rental place Close by.

Not recommended.

Room Tip: Negotiate cleaning of kitchen corner when booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens Greece
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We just came back from our first stay at Piz Buin and we feel very satisfied with our choice. Klosters is small (and picturesque) so everything, including the hotel is close to everything. The hotel (or most of it) have been recently renovated so everyhting feels brand new.

We got a very spacious room at a reasonable (not only by Swiss standards) price. It also had a kitchenette that came in very handy at times. The hotel was clean and quiet. The quality of the bedding extremely good. Most importantly all of the staff was extremely helpful and really went out of their way to help us with all inquiries and requests.

The only reason we do not give the hotel a 5 star rating is the quality of the food. Breakfast was OK (but not nearly as good as most other similar category hotels we have been to). For the main meals, however, there was not much choice and not enough quantity for the prices. By visiting other restaurants in Klosters and talking to locals we realized that this is systemic problem in both Klosters and neighboring Davos. To find good cuisine, always at (very) high prices, one has to drive to rather secluded very picturesque restaurants.

Room Tip: We had a renovated "Alpine Chic" room on the 3rd floor which was very spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheodoreK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Ideally situated, close to the cable car and railway station Piz Buin offers very comfortable large rooms with kitchen. it has an attractive bar which also serves food as well as a restaurant. The food was good although the menu is fairly limited. We ate out most nights, accepting the recommendations of the Hotel director, Jean-Claude who was very helpful and attentive throughout our stay.Breakfast buffet was good. We would happily stay here again. For Switzerland it offered good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Klosters hotels
0.0 mi away
Silvretta Parkhotel Klosters
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#1 of 15 in Klosters
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Steinbock
Hotel Restaurant Steinbock
#4 of 15 in Klosters
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Albeina Klosters
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Chesa Grischuna
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vereina
Hotel Vereina
#9 of 15 in Klosters
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piz Buin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piz Buin

Property: Hotel Piz Buin
Address: Alte Bahnhofstrasse 1, Klosters 7250, Switzerland (Formerly Robinson Club Piz Buin)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Klosters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Klosters
#3 Luxury Hotel in Klosters
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Klosters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Piz Buin 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This vacation hotel Piz Buin offers 53 alpine style studios and apartments, equipped with kitchenette and some even with open fireplace. The wellness area features sauna, bio sauna, steam bath. The Technogym is equipped with fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Piz Buin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robinson Club Piz Buin Hotel Klosters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing