We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, but good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie de Geneve (Hotel)
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Basic, but good!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for some days for a business trip. My room was on the first floor, a small studio, basic but good. The bed was ok for a single person room, a little small for tall persons. The breakfast, which is included, is good (baguette, ham/cheese/jam, quiche, pie/cake, various yoghurts). Service is good, personnel is very friendly. Restaurant is good, value for money. All in all a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor can be noisy, the kitchen is right under it. Roof top apartment has an open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    28
    22
    12
    12
See reviews for
19
21
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I had been debating for months between this hotel and another in Tour de Peliz. While this is certainly not a five star hotel, we were pleased with our decision. We stayed at the hotel for two nights with our family of 5, three children ages 6, 7 and 10. First, the positives.

The location is superb. The hotel is right at the Place de Marche, on lake Geneva. The children loved swimming in the lake and in the fountain after dinner each evening. We spent time our first day wandering the waterfront. It was simply beautiful. It was also within easy walking distance to the train station both on arrival and departure.

The breakfast served was fantastic. Plenty of choice and the food was delicious. Service was quick and very friendly.

The hotel room was very clean and well maintained. There was no hair dryer in the room but within 5 minutes of my phone call, someone brought one up.

Now, the negatives. We visited in at the end of July. It was as hot as Hades outside. The room was simply stifling. We got very little sleep our first night. Even opening the windows didn't help. Housekeeping did ask the next morning if we wanted a fan. It helped quite a bit for our second night. It was still incredibly hot though. Now, I knew going in that there was no a/c. So I did actually expect it with the temperatures we were getting at the time. I'm just pointing it out so others realize that if you're there in summer, it will be very hot. The layout of our room, was essentially two rooms and it was broken up in such a way that having several windows open didn't actually create much of a cross draft. It will be hot.

The room for five people is very small. It would have been great with four, because there were essentially two bedrooms with one entry area. Each room had a double or queen bed. The fifth sleeping spot however is a mattress on the floor. My 5 year old was fine with it but I'm not sure others would be.

Over all, for the price and location, we would stay there again. It's very hard for a family of five to find a hotel where we don't need to pay for two rooms. This was just fine for our purposes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casperjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hotel was very nice, staff was very accommodating. Small, boutique like - rooms through the glass door are smaller and more spartan than the rooms through the door in the dining room. Those rooms have balconies and nicer views and are more unique larger. Rooms through the glass door are much more stuffy and 'hotel' like.

Views are amazing, right on the water. Dining room is ok - breakfast buffet is sparse but quite adequate and dinner is ok.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that are through the dining room, not the glass door. You will get a balcony and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DitaV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I regret a lot that I stayed in this hotel. Primarily attribute was the good location, but everything else is just hopelessly bad. Hotel doesn't have an elevator, and stuff is, being quite uncultured and rude, is not willing to help you carry heavy luggage upstairs, they also know nothing about surroundings (where to find pharmacy or other restaurant). Also light in the corridor doesn't switch on automatically, you have always to turn it on, and in the evening it takes some time to find a switch. For instance, if you go out of your room, you have to go out first, then find a switch in other end of corridor, then come back, lock the room, and only then you are good to go. Bed is the worst design possible - with hard wooden legs extending OUT of the bed in the most awkward way, without any softening covering. So if you want to hit numerous times your leg, be prepared, as room is very little and doesn't have any free space, so most of the time you have to squeeze in. For people who are doing yoga, the only solution probably is to throw the bed out of the window - at least you won't be hitting your legs all the time and you will get some extra space...
Bathroom doesn't have a big towel. The biggest one they have reminds more of a toilet rug.
Room doesn't have good sound isolation - you can hear neighbors talking and unstoppable chatter at the noisy restaurant downstairs.
Restaurant offers probably the worst pasta I have tried in my life. I guess some microwavable cheapest lunchbox pasta mixed with mayonnaise and ketchup would taste better. Waiters completely do not care of anything, you might wait for 20 minutes until finally one of them accepts your order, but first you have to remind them from 5 to 10 times that you are ready to order. Breakfast is quite lame, offering very basic selection.
I could also talk about lack of outlets, and placing them in quite faraway places from ones which can be called comfortable, but I wont. In comparison to other fails, this is just a tiny detail.
I was thinking how it is possible to bring a hotel to such a poor state, and from my experience, the answer on my question in the title would be: they simply don't care.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vevey hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The location of the hotel is amazing!
Very close to the central station but still in a lively square in front of the lake with a beautiful view!

The restaurant of the hotel has good food, but don't expect to spend less then 30-40 euros per person in a meal - for meat it's even more.

The breakfast is good, but with a poor variety: pretty much the same every single day. You need to ask for water, it's not available in the breakfast table. Sometimes if something runs out (ham, cheese or bread for example) you have to ask them to refill it, because they usually don't notice it very quickly.

The staff is very nice, smiley and polite. Love them! - however, only some of them speak Engish. You will be fine if you speak Portuguese (and French, obviously).

Room cleaning is ok, no issues.

I would definitely recommend the hotel in case of short stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level Contributor
365 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is a restaurant popular with local and tourists alike which also as a selection of rooms.

It is located close to the lake and many rooms have lake views.

If the weather is nice you can eat outside.

We stayed for 3 nights in April and had one of the lake view rooms, each is different and ours was the Venice themed room with a Gondola coming out the wall. We had a large bedroom with TV and adjoin g dressing area with table and a separate bathroom and shower.

The rooms are not as plush as one may expect but they are clean and acceptable. As with most places in this region prices are not cheap and we were paying 300 swiss franks a night for B&B which included the local TVA (tax).

The hotel is run by Anne-Christine Meylan and all the staff are both friendly and helpful.

In fact in the cellar area they have some very interesting clocks on display. We later learned the the watch and clock store next door Meylan was run by the owners husband. That is well worth a visit.

Vevey is a very quaint and pretty town and worth a visit and a stay would be even better. It offers a more relaxed take on life and as it is only about 1 hour from Geneva itself could be a better place to be based.

We needed an adapter and that was provided without fuss.

We booked in for an evening meal and were not let down as the food was both plentiful, tasty and of superb quality. It was also nicely presented.

They have 3 eating areas the main restaurant, a bar area and cellar area. In the main area the chef cooks steaks etc on an open plan log fire.

Prices are not cheap and one could have a Pizza at a nearby Pizza place for a quarter of the price you would pay here but the Pizza quality was superb in an atmospheric room.

Breakfasts were taken in the cellar and what a large choice one had. The usual cereals, fruit juices were available with a selection of fresh breads, and jams, yogurts and a selection of cheese and meats and various home baked quiche flans. Then one could also have fresh brewed coffee or tea so one was not going to be hungry. We asked for croissants as none could be seen and "Voila" they were served up in a basket.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

It was quite an experience to stay at this hotel. They have theme-rooms which I find really cool. I stayed at Colonial-styled room which was great! I need to say that lack of toilett door was a bit of surprise (!) but there was same kind of a furniture that separated the toilett from the rest of the room. The furnitures were really different from I've experienced to date. Chairs were netting-style, huge mirror at the center of the room, a balcony with Geneva Lake view - awesome. At the ground floor there is a restaurant but olthough I kept my windows open I didn't hear much of a noise. The reception stuff was average I would say. They didn't care to much and I didn't expect them to do so. For someone it's disturbing but not for me. The location is awesome as you can see the mountains covered in snow and the lake between them. I recommend this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: Find the best room theme suitable for you and go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sendmeasmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevey
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Hotel Vevey
Astra Hotel Vevey
#3 of 6 in Vevey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Negociants
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostellerie Bon Rivage
Hostellerie Bon Rivage
#1 of 2 in La Tour-de-Peilz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de Geneve (Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de Geneve (Hotel)

Property: Hostellerie de Geneve (Hotel)
Address: Place du Marche 11, Vevey 1800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Vevey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostellerie de Geneve (Hotel) 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostellerie de Geneve (Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing