We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but price is ridiculous even by Swiss standards” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astra Hotel Vevey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astra Hotel Vevey
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location but price is ridiculous even by Swiss standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just across the road from the train station and Manor shopping mall makes it a great location for a short business stay. But really their price is ridiculously expensive for this hotel standard. Rooms are small and very average. I've paid less for much better hotels in Montreux, Lausanne and Geneva and I know very well prices in Switzerland. Astra is just not worth paying so much

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank loran_outan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear guest,

we thank you for staying at Astra Hotel Vevey and taking the time to review us your impressions.

Your comments will be shared with our team and help us improve our services.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    97
    37
    14
    0
See reviews for
16
51
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is my second time going to Vevey on a work trip and not that I wasn't happy about the other hotel where I stayed, but I decided to just change it up this time and try a different hotel for the fun of it and stay somewhere in the centre of Vevey (although that is a bit meaningless in a small town like Vevey).

I booked the hotel for myself and three other colleagues on the recommendation of the customer we were visiting. Three of us stayed for two nights. The hotel is right beside the train station, so it's very convenient to get here. Service at reception was courteous and check-in was quick. The room was fine and quiet (even with constant music piping out in the hallways). The look is probably getting dated, but everything was clean and everything was in good shape.

I had gotten a ride to Vevey from eastern Switzerland with a colleague and there is parking available (although I am unsure how much extra is costs). But you get to ride a car elevator to the underground parking which we got a kick out of (maybe our lives are a bit boring right now!).

Breakfast was a good spread with mostly cold foods, but lots of choice of breads and croissants, yogurts, fruit, bircher muesli and cheeses. Boiled eggs were available as well. It was included in the rooms I had booked.

There is free Wifi, but it is on the slow side. It's manageable just to catch up on e-mails and the such.

I tried out the gym one evening. It is small, but it wasn't busy so it was fine.There is a hot tub outside the gym on the deck which would have been nice to try out if I had a bathing suit.

On check out, I always get a bit of sticker shock (in a bad way) in Switzerland when I get the bill for hotels. I had forgotten how much it was per night here (248 fr) when I booked so even with the 10% discount I got for an early booking, I thought they had made a mistake. But no, they were correct. I suppose that I don't know if it was worth the price, but for Swiss hotel prices, this is pretty much on par, so it is normal value here.

Since Vevey is a small town, there is not much choice as to where to stay, but I can recommend this hotel and the location give this place a plus too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GloJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback about your recent stay at Astra Hotel Vevey.

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you had a good experience with our car elevator.

Thank you also for recommending our poperty and the location.

We hope to see you soon again !

Best Regards
Nicolas Ming & the Astra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Astra hotel is located in the heart of Vevey not too far from the lake. Good starting point for shopping or sightseeing. The rooms are comfortable but not exciting. As usual in Switzerland the price is high for what you get but overall the deal is OK. The terrace is pretty nice and the service is also pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Astra Hotel Vevey and for your recent kind review.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay !

Your comments have been shared with the entire team.

Regarding the prices of the hotel rooms, rest assured that in Switzerland, they tend to fall, while many fixed costs continue to rise.

We hope to welcome you soon again in Vevey...

Best Regards

Christopher and Nicolas Ming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
308 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is a pefect hotel for a business traveller, very close to the railway station and within walking distance of the dominat employer in Vevey. Nice, quiet rooms with good soundproofing, airconditioning and very clean and well kept. Staff is friendly and welcoming, be it at the reception or at breakfast (which could offer a bit more). Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HansM1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Astra Hotel Vevey and for your recent kind review.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and services, especially our good centrally location for busy business traveller travelling by train !

Your comments have been shared with the entire team.

We hope to see you soon again...

Best Regards

Christopher and Nicolas Ming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Situated just opposite the Vevey train station, convenient for travelers who do not want to drag along heavy luggages across town to reach hotel. Restaurant food was good. Room was ok. However, it is more and more expensive there these days comparing to other hotels in Vevey. Service is only so so. WIFI is not always working

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie5515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Astra Hotel Vevey and for your recent kind review.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location for business travellers!

The WIFI is provided by Swisscom and you can be unsured the we keep the pressure for a valuable service from them.

For the room prices, as we are the only 4 star hotel in Vevey, it's difficult to compare the prices with 3* and 5* stars hôtels in town, but please note that a new competitive pricing system is starting with the new year 2014...

For your next stay, you will allways find the best available rate on our own website.

Your comments have been shared with the entire team.

We hope to see you soon again...

Best Regards

Christopher and Nicolas Ming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
482 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

With modern, adequately sized rooms and bathrooms, an excellent location just steps away from the train station and walking distance from Lake Geneva, and friendly staff, it seems this hotel might merit a "very good" rating.

However, three factors made me decide not to rate it that way. The first two, relatively minor ones, are the variety and quality of its breakfast, which in my opinion are below par; the other being the poor TV reception (on all channels punctuated by skips, blurs, and sound distortions).
The third however, is price. The rack rates are ridiculous for that neck of the woods, and even the discounted ones are way above reasonableness. The standard answer is "Switzerland has its price". May be so, but unfortunately fewer and fewer travelers are willing and able to pay it. It's a pity, because the country is well worth visiting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GranZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review our services.

We here take the opportunity to excuse us for the inconvenience you reported.

Your comments are important for us and help us improve our services and amenities and are shared with the entire team.

We hope to see you soon again...

Best Regards

Christopher and Nicolas Ming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in October 2013. I had actually booked for the week but was disappointed and ended up checking out after 1 night and went to another hotel that for me was much nicer and 90CHF/night cheaper. Staff there were very courteous but the room on the 5th floor needed a good cleaning. Mainly the bathroom where there was mold on the walls(see picture) and I guess because this was the 5th floor, the roof comes in and inhibits standing straight up in the bath/shower. Seriously I couldn't stand up straight. Maybe my experience would have been better if I was on a different floor but for the price, it wasn't worth it for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FatherTed2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review our services.

We here take the opportunity to excuse us for the inconvenience you reported and can confirm you that the mold you mentioned has been removed.

For the room prices, please note that you can always find the best available rate direct on our own website.

Your comments are important for us and help us improve our services and amenities and are shared with the entire team.

Best Regards

Christopher and Nicolas Ming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevey
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
3.6 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie de Geneve
1.5 mi away
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Mont Pelerin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostellerie Bon Rivage
Hostellerie Bon Rivage
#1 of 2 in La Tour-de-Peilz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Hotel Vevey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Hotel Vevey

Property: Astra Hotel Vevey
Address: Place de la Gare 4, Vevey 1800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Vevey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Hotel Vevey 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The family-owned Astra Hotel in the picturesque town of Vevey, Lake Geneva Region, Switzerland, stands for tradition, style and warm hospitality. Accommodation 100 modern guestrooms and suites with the 4*sup comfort. All rooms have air-condition, and some are non smoking. Dining and entertainment Historic Brasserie La Coupole (1912), Le Pavillon non smoking restaurant, Elegant Restaurant Quatre Saisons, Caveau le Guillon Swiss cheese specialities, Orient Express Bar. Relaxing and well-being At the beginning of 2009 an oasis of relaxation came into being above the roofs of Vevey. The new City Panoramic Spa offers you generous space for health, lifestyle and recuperation. Here you can lean back, regenerate and fill up with energy, while at the same time enjoying a fascinating view over the "Riviera of Western Switzerland" and over the Lavaux region. Relax body and spirit after a long day. The renovated and expanded wet area persuades with warm colors, with a quiet zone in the winter garden and with a remarkable view. Besides the Finnish sauna, the "Caldarium" and the "Salionarium" you will be enjoying quiet and relaxation in the new winter garden. The high point of the City Panoramic Spa is the new outside area on the roof terrace with its whirlpool bath and sundeck. Meeting and conference facilities Conference & Event center as well as large dining facilities for 10 to 250 persons. Public Wireless LAN in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Astra Hotel Vevey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vevey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing