We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but...”
Review of Astra Hotel Vevey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astra Hotel Vevey
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed at the Astra at least 6 times over the past 2 years. Agree with other reviews relative to location and IF you on a business trip and someone else is paying. The sauna room has a great view however the work out room is primitive at best. Funny thing the clock on the wall which is based on a Hubet watch has had the incorrect time both of the last two times I have stayed. Very unSwiss. Believe a better value is the Swiss Majestic in Montreux.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DigJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

The fitness bike, runner and rowing are new since April 2014

You are right that the "Hublot" watches on the wall have problems to work properly and we will contact the provider of those publicity articles.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is very convenient for the railway station and central for attractions in the area. Nice hotel clean rooms and very friendly staff, food in the hotel is pricey but so is Switzerland generally. No tea and coffee facilities in the rooms which is disappointing but having Starbucks across the road is a bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We are happy to notice that you appreciated your stay.

Regarding the tea and coffee making facilities, they are not automatically in each room, but we have some on request.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

In the middle of Vevey opposite of the Railway station.
A good and clean Hotel needs a upgrade to modern standards but still good place to stay a night or two.
The staff is friendly and help full, Checkin quick and a good breakfast. For Switzerland good priced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We are happy to notice that you appreciated our services.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It's not your super-de-luxe, modern, shiny hotel, but it's good enough and there is something charming to its old-fashioned feel.
Location is very convenient: just step out of the train station and there it is, facing you. No stress about searching for the address in an unknown town.
The room was clean and well kept but I was very much missing a water-cooker to make my own tea, I am quite used to that in four star hotels.
It was quiet, no disturbances. Breakfast was OK and certainly the floor manager took good care of breakfast guests. Something for every taste was to be found.
If you like walking by the lake (who doesn't in Vevey?), it's a five minute walk. The views are splendid.
A shopping centre, supermarkets and restaurants are very close, just cross the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We are happy to notice that you appreciated centrally located situation and our services.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

stayed from sunday 4th to wed 7th may 2014. nice hotel with friendly staff. a little bit dated but very clean and everything you need to be comfortable. very expensive breakfast but i guess thats average for switzerland. Ultra handy or the train station so if you are on foot then its perfect. My room over looked the entrance to the train station which actually proved very noisy with delivery wagons at 6am two mornings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vimto6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

very good business hotel in the center of vevey.
the brasserie is unique (you feel like in paris), good Food, friendly service.
the small wellness-area is located on the roof of the hotel, the prospect is fantastic.
the hotel is a good starting point around the lake geneva.
i can recommend it ;-)))

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We are happy to notice that you appreciated our rooftop wellness area and our historical restaurant.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Am excellent hotel close to the station and lakeside. Staff are very friendly and accommodating and did everything possible to ensure our stay was a pleasant one. The car elevator is an experience to behold as is the friendly and warm welcome in the brasserie and bar. Price per night on par with Swiss hotels.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamesbrkr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear client,

we thank you for your recent stay at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We are happy to read that our services were upon your expectations and that our prices are on par with Swiss Hotels.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey and would be very pleased to welcome you at the Astra Hotel Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the Astra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevey
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
535 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
3.6 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#4 of 17 in Montreux
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Modern Times Hotel
Modern Times Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint-Legier-La Chiesaz
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Negociants
3.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Hotel Vevey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Hotel Vevey

Address: place de la Gare 4, Vevey 1800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Vevey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Price Range: £120 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Hotel Vevey 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The family-owned Astra Hotel in the picturesque town of Vevey, Lake Geneva Region, Switzerland, stands for tradition, style and warm hospitality. Accommodation 100 modern guestrooms ith the 4*sup comfort. All rooms have air-condition and are non smoking. Dining and entertainment Historic Brasserie La Coupole (1912) and Wintergarden Le Pavillon, 2017 new Lobby Bar & Lounge, Fitness, Jacuzzi, steambath and sauna with rooftop terrace. Conference and Banquets Facilities, Free Wifi, Parking available. The Astra Hotel is perfect situated in the heart of Vevey, next to the train station and the shopping district. The Lake Leman is reachable with a maximum 5min walk. See you in Vevey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astra Hotel Vevey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vevey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing